We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge...”
Review of Hlosi Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlosi Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

but compared to other Amakhala lodges more like a hotel without the personal touch of an owner/manager.
The individual houses are beautifully appointed, I had no trouble with the water pressure but the lights seemed temperamental... I loved the outside shower from where you can overlook nature as well and just really felt comfortable. The walkway is lit from below, so you can safely walk back to your room at night but there was also a very kind member of staff who was ready to escort me with a torch after dinner.
The food was ok, just not as spectacular as can be had elsewhere. The wifi was not working but staff were happy for me to use their office one which was nice though not quite the point.
The pool was spotless as the rest of the lodge and staff really make an effort to welcome you, make you feel comfortable, etc.
This is the one to go to with children as there is a resident "nanny" and they are equipped to look after the smaller visitors as well.
I had a wonderful elephant sighting as the grey giants just ambled past the lodge right in front and the scenery is just gorgeous.
Lovely little detail was that when my car was brought around for my departure it had been parked in the shade ! And the Amakhala water bottle to take away has been my companion ever since, a lovely eco-friendly reminder of a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Hi there and thank you for all of this great feedback. We're so glad you had a lovely time with us. A safari is something we feel every person should experience, and we're so happy you chose to spend a few nights with us.

Being a small lodge with only 6 rooms, we aim to create personal and intimate experiences like no other. We're so sorry you didn't feel the touch of our personalised service. We have address this and will continue working hard on achieving all that we represent here at Hlosi.

One of the highlights of our suites are the outside showers, so we're happy to hear you got to give it a try! Thanks for your feedback about the food. We're sad to hear it wasn't up to expectations, but have since tried and tested new menus and methods and are working closely with our team of chefs. With regards to the WiFi - we have since upgraded our WiFi system and it is now available all around the main lodge. However, we're sorry that it wasn't up to scratch during your stay.

It's lovely to hear that you were well-looked after. Wow - an elephant sighting at the lodge must have been a fabulous experience!

Your feedback is so important to us and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Not only does it help us in making the changes we need to make, but also assisting others in choosing their future safari accommodation. We hope you decide to return one day, but until then, stay well.

Best wishes from the Bailey family and the team here at Hlosi Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    44
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
120
134
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

At first I was a little skeptical whether Safari would not be a little boring after a day. But not at all.
To see those animals in the wild and very near is a special and unique experience, you could do this for quite some time :)

Hlosi Game lodge was great. Everything very well organized, you get pampered all day long. As it was not very busy when we were there, several staff members took care of only the 2 of us. It really felt luxurious and like holiday. Everything was taken care of. The manager Veronique has everything under good control.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food's quality was good and assortment was nice. Don't expect gourmet fine dining cuisine like in Cape Town, but we had several courses, all well prepared and nicely arranged. Don't forget: You are in the bush!

The game drives were very interesting and we could see the Big 5 except the Leopard (which usually doesn't show, very few people ever saw them in the wild).
Great thanks to our ranger Francois, he took excellent care of us.

Place for improvement: The pool could be much cleaner, it was not very inviting. Internet access was not available, which seems to be the case most times. I understand that this can happen in the wild, but they should state at the homepage that it basically is unavailable.
As the N2 highway is quite near, you sometimes can hear it. Better place it somewhere else :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Authumbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review and for taking the time to give us some feedback. It sounds like you had an exceptional time here at Hlosi Lodge, and we're so glad that your experience here changed your opinion about a holiday in the bush!

It must have felt pretty special being the only guests in the lodge - we hope you enjoyed every last bit of having the lodge to yourselves! Glad to hear you were well taken care of. It sounds like Francois took you on some great drives too! Pity about the leopard, those elusive creatures are hard to find in the wild. Perhaps this is incentive for a return trip? We do hope so!

Thanks for your feedback regarding the pool. We had a look into it and have since maintained the pool and it's looking better than ever. Thanks for letting us know about this. We're sorry to hear internet access was not great. We can say with great confidence now that our WiFi access has improved drastically and is now available throughout the main lodge area. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope you two enjoyed your stay in our piece of paradise, and we hope the N2 didn't bother you too much! Such a pity - can't they have built their road elsewhere? ;)

We appreciate all of your feedback, as this helps us better everything we do here. From the team here at the lodge and from the Bailey family, we hope that we can welcome you back for a second South African safari one day.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent 2 nights here at the end of our holiday, 10th and 11th March 2014.It exceeded our expectations and wish we had stayed longer. The scenery was spectacular with hills and a large plain between.
Our Ranger, Chris, made the drives fun and informative. If he didn't know the name of a plant when quizzed he came back with the answer next day. Well Done!
The meals were all delicious and the staff very attentive.
Perfect for us on this occasion. Thank You.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you, Ann, for your wonderful review of Hlosi Lodge. To hear that we exceeded your expectations is absolutely thrilling! Although, with that view over the plains and the Bushmans River, it's hard not to be impressed - the beauty of the reserve speaks for itself and we take no credit!

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drives with Chris. It's amazing to see how passionate our rangers are, and they're always going the extra mile to share their wealth of knowledge with us. Thank you for your praises!

We hope to see you again in the near future. The magic of Hlosi Lodge will always be here to welcome you back.

Warm regards from the Bailey family and the team at Hlosi Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crandon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The rangers on our three game drives were friendly and knowledgeable. They went to great lengths to locate wildlife--rhino, elephant, and even a cheetah. The staff was gracious and accommodating. This was a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! It's always lovely to hear that our guests enjoyed every bit of their wild African experience. The bush is a very special place to be, so we're happy to hear you felt the magic too.

Our team of rangers is always on stand by to show guests a great time, and tracking animals, although sometimes a tricky process, is something they all strive to do for each and every person staying at the lodge. How incredible to see animals such as rhino and cheetah!

We hope you decide to explore South Africa a little more and return for a visit some day!

Warm regards from the Bailey family and the whole team here at Hlosi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Hlosi Gmae lodge. The lodge has really some maintenance issues. Doors are not closing, etc. We really did not like the quality of the food. Compared to what is elsewhere offered in South Africa this is very under average ( especially the dinner). The beakfast in the morning ( before the game drives) is put togehter by the ranger and we did not consider it for us at the second day. Also all the lodge staff is not really professional or trained. The waiters for example did not know the menue and were in generall not familiar with the common manners. The game drives were nice and the reserve itself has a beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing your concerns to our attention. With your help, we have been able to address the issues you have mentioned. Veronique has the maintenance team fixing the door and they have a programmed of general maintenance tasks to tackle this month. The food and service team has taken your thoughts on board and we assure you that improvements have already been made to our service and in meal preparations. We hope that what you will take home with you is the memory of this beautiful place and its amazing and intricate natural environment. It sounds like you did experience the best of what the Amakhala Reserve has to offer in the game viewing. Thanks again for letting us know your comments; these help us to keep improving. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Hlosi team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The lodge is beautiful and spacious, a place to relax and completely forget about your every day life. A friendly team takes everything off your shoulders so that you can enjoy this wonderful nature from the first minute. It is not cheap, but worth every Rand.
Special thanks go to Matt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at this incredible place. It sounds to us like you really got the best Hlosi has to offer and that you got to take your mind off sweating the small stuff and really absorbed the sounds and scenes of the bush. February is such a wonderful time to visit the reserve, you really did take the best opportunity to visit. Thanks again, your contribution means we can keep our doors open and fulfill the vision of the reserve: to aid conservation and preserve this unique, beautiful and natural environment. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Hlosi team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. It was a great stay! The service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The ranger was very knowledgeable and we saw a lot of animals, including elephants, giraffes and the cheetah. Wonderful, a must go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so glad you got to spend three nights with us and that you had a fantastic stay. Amazing that you got to see so many of the bigger animals- the elephants and giraffes and especially the cheetah. We hope you will be back to experience some more of what the reserve has to offer. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Hlosi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
13.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
3.8 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
357 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,062 reviews
4.0 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlosi Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlosi Game Lodge

Property: Hlosi Game Lodge
Address: R342 Landman Road | Off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlosi Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hlosi Game Lodge Offers 4-Star Family-Friendly Safari Trips In The 7 500 ha Malaria-Free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape South Africa. Hlosi Game Lodge is a small 6-room game lodge in Addo, near the city of Port Elizabeth offering rich wild life game-viewing and luxurious game lodge accommodation for the whole family. Our six suites lie along a gentle curve of hill above a river plain, and offer wide-open views from your private deck. The main lodge includes elegant lounge and dining areas, and a hard-to-leave bar overlooking the swimming pool and waterhole. With only six suites, Hlosi offers a unique, intimate safari trip with personal game viewing experiences. We're privileged to be able to share our love for conservation, food and life with you. Our four double suites and two 2-roomed family suites may also be booked exclusively as an intimate venue for small team-building events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hlosi Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing