We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in family friendly resort”
Review of Hotel Plein Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plein Sud
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed as part of a Neilson organised ski-holiday
Great food, and quiet yet easily accessible location - to the local centre and the bus stop up/down the valley
comfy rooms and endless hot water
didnt try the indoor pool as the temperature wasnt that warm
not particularly child-friendly as a hotel (the requested adjoining rooms were on separate floors), or a restaurant, but fine for teenagers.
friendly owner/staff

Room Tip: rooms on the front, higher up provide excellent views
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plein Sud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel plein sud is a great hotel for skiers in serre chevalier. The hotel is situated in chantemerle, just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village and the lifts up to the ski area. Its also 2 minutes from the main road where the ski bus stop and supermarket is. The hotel is very comfy, there is a pleasant bar where we often had an après ski and/or a before dinner drink! The food was fantastic - breakfasts were a continental buffet and the evening meals were 3 courses including a desert buffet every evening. The menu included 3 choices for starter and main course and we didn't have a poor meal all week. The room was spacious and clean, the balcony was lovely with a great view of the luc alphand run. All in all we had a great week and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and ski area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dacs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your report on TA - it is very much appreciated. We are pleased that your enjoyed your holiday and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future. Everyone enjoys the food and the ambience - it is our pleasure to make your holiday enjoyable. The snow conditions were great also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a week mid march. The location of the hotel was fantastic, five minutes from the ski hire shop, bars, ski school and lift. Two minutes from chemist, supermarket etc. The hotel it's self was spotlessly clean and very comfy. The room was lovely and warm and had everything you need, with fantastic views. All the staff were lovely. The food was fantastic for both evening meal and breakfast. This was one of the comfiest hotels I've stayed in on a skiing holiday and I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your comments on TA they are always appreciated. We try to create a home from home for our guests to be as comfy as possible. Superb snow conditions for your also - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel well situated over the main road from the telecabine and chair lift, about 5mins walk away. We were in a south facing room looking out over the black run home, room was ok had everything you would need and was kept clean all week. Food was excellent with a choice every evening and just the right amount in my opinion. The staff were excellent and all very friendly, never really met the owner as she always seemed busy with her head down as we walked past the desk. Never used the hotel bar at night preferring to walk around the village. The pool and steam room were ok but you have to ask for the steam room to be switched on and it does take at least 30mins to get hot. The resort itself is quite small and all the bars were very quiet at night but there are a few that have a happy hour where beer is 3 euro as opposed to 6 euros. Apres ski is good with bars situated at the bottom of the run home. The skiing area is good although some pistes are ungroomed and can get very bumpy. All in all I enjoyed my holiday and would return to The Plein Sud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel is about 5 minutes from the slopes.
Stayed for a week in January. Had a South facing room. Which was pleasant but a bit old fashioned, very clean though. Had a good wifi connection. Liked the dressing gowns, great for lounging in.
Food was excellent. Menu is in french so had to use google translate but the choices were always great. Good size portions, enough to keep you going after skiing. My favorite was the racelette. 3 choices of starter and main each night then a sweet and cheese buffet. Breakfast was the normal continental options.
Pool is suprisingly hot and steamy given that it is in a conservatory type building. Definitely worth a try.
Ski area was well maintained and large enough to keep us happy, would definetley go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at Hotel Plein Sud. We went with Neilson who we have always found good.

The welcome was friendly and all the staff maintained this throughout our stay. The room (north facing) was fine and better than a lot of rooms in ski resorts. Of particular note was the food which was fantastic! A choice of 3 for starter and main and we were not left feeling disappointed once all week. The desserts from the buffet were also delicious.

The ski area in Serre Che is fantastic and pretty big. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the lifts which we didn't find too bad, although we usually felt the need to stop for a beer and a rest on the way back after a hard day skiing!

All in all we were very pleased we chose this hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

thank you for your comments on TA. We glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Booked through Crystal and had a north facing room without a balcony for two people which was the smallest room we have ever seen. Luckily we managed to upgrade at a cost, to south facing with balcony on ground floor(no view), but this was much bigger. The food every night was great in choice and quality and the wine prices were reasonable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful including the owner, Lynne's son, Sebastian. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for Lynne, who not once said hello not looked at us any time we passed her. We were also pleased with the ski area which was big enough even though we are used to the big French areas such as the Three Valleys, Tignes. Hope to return even despite the lack of smiles and professionalism from the owner.

Room Tip: Don't chose north facing without balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serre-Chevalier hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel & Spa Nuxe
Le Grand Hotel & Spa Nuxe
#3 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chalet des Touristes
Chalet des Touristes
#7 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La boule de neige
Hotel La boule de neige
#6 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Al...
#4 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plein Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plein Sud

Address: Allee des Boutiques | Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, Saint-Chaffrey, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Saint-Chaffrey > Serre-Chevalier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Serre-Chevalier
Price Range: £84 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plein Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedrooms are south facing with a private balcony overlooking the mountains. Rooms equipped with bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe. Dressing gowns and swimming towels are provided. Our heated open-air pool has direct access to the garden for sun bathing and our terrace which overlooks the pool and has a panoramic view. Lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plein Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plein Sud Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing