We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday location with excellent amenities..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anahita Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anahita Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beau Champ
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday location with excellent amenities..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We spent two weeks with friends in a fantastic penthouse apartment overlooking the golf course with a view towards the mountains. A particularly memorable experience was sitting in the plunge pool sipping bubbles watching the sun go down over the mountains (ooohhhh I want to go back!). The location is superb being immediately adjacent to both a world class golf course and beach lagoon area.
In the apartment everything was first class - high standard of furnishings and fittings and the beds are soooo comfy. Our resident host was great and he helped make the whole experience very relaxing. We have holidayed in several luxury hotels in Mauritius but this experience we feel, is much more flexible due to the high amenity level in the residence and resort.
As a keen gardner I found the general environment at Anaita lovely, the gardens are full of so much colour and exotic foliage.
This is a new resort which is evident at times e.g., standard of food could be improved, but overall the experience was terrific and will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    64
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
121
100
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

Overall, we had a fabulous holiday, but the resort is new, and the service was poor (save for our apartment host).

The Bad

Room service was poor, late and cold, the service around the pool was abysmal - I don't think our orders were right once for the whole fortnight. The pool itself ripped to shreds my children's feet - make sure you take shoes to swim if you have small children. We had problems with the air con and also one of the toilets smelt horrid for the entire time we were there.


The Good
The golf course is fantastic and the service is amazing, from the staff to the clubhouse. The setting and the water sports were excellent, as was the kids club, very professionally run.

In conclusion, the resort will improve, but I would not recommend it until it has improved its service.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We loved Anahita The Resort, we spent a week there in March with my 3 year old daughter and we just loved the spacious 2 bedroom residence it was great to have a good amount of living space and not be cramped into a family suite with a a rollaway bed for my daughter as we have in the past at more expensive resorts - I think what you get for your money here is fantastic other places we looked at whwere more expensive and offered much smaller accomodation without the flexibility of having your own kitchen to use if you wih and without the lovely plunge pool! The resort itself was quiet when we visited in March as it was just before the easter holidays - we found the staff to be really friendly and nothing was too much trouble they really made us feel welcome!

The pool area was great the top pool fantastic for my little one as she could touch the bottom and although a bit rough under foot I understand from friends who have recently returned that they have sanded this down and they had no problems - in any case it was just a small cut on each foot similar to a blister and easily fixed with a plaster it certainly did not put her off of using the pool!

The kids club was fantastic, the staff all really friendly and the activity programme was varied with more imaginative activities then we've seen in other clubs - it was lovely to have such a good club there as it meant us adults could have a guilt free break on a couple of afternoons whilst knowing she was being well enteratined and enjoying herself!

We had a great holiday at anahita and found it really good value for money with it's special offers meaning it came out much cheaper than other 4 and 5 star properties - I hope that they'll still be offering such great offers in a couple of years time as we certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Where to start? Well, I'm going to be honest and give the good and bad points. Unfortunately the bad outweighed the good. We still had a good holiday, it's just a shame it wasn't amazing. I should be upfront and say that we have high standards. However, I also feel that many of the issues that we had were at a fairly basic level and not us having too higher expectations. We have visited the Oberoi in Mauritius on a previous holiday and that was out of this world with regard to food and service. This place did not even come close to comparing. There are so many fab places in Mauritius and this place doe not come up to scratch. So here goes...

The bad (let's get them out of the way):
- no air conditioning for 4 days, was not working so we had a nine month old baby having to sleep in 27 degree heat, not to mention the rest of us!
- loo broken 2 days, continually flushing. had to shut the door to muffle the noise until somebody finally came round to fix it
- smell of sewage throughout the apartment - this came and went but was generally at least every other day
- incorrect orders on delivered food, food not as described on menu. first room service ordered arrived wrong, stone cold and an hour after it was ordered. the speed of delivery did improve during our stay
- on four days, we returned to find no hot water. Had to call an engineer and it then tool 30-45 mins for it to start working. frustrating when you have small children covered in sand and chlorine (9mths, 2.5 years, 4.5 years) to get to bed and the process of calling, logging the problem, an engineer visiting and then waiting time to contend with
- electricity breaking circuit in the apartment
- a lack of towels!!! bath towels for the adults (not bath sheets, bath towels - and only one per adult) and hand towels for children!!! this wasn't big enough for the 9mth old baby let alone the 2.5 and 4.5 yr olds. Rectified when requested but really shouldn't have been necessary in the first place. we had to share for the first few days
- cuts on the children's feet from the pool. Acknowledged by management in a letter but their only solution was to buy pool shoes from their shop, which was currently running low on stock!! said they were trying to get more stock, no doubt so they could sell more shoes to people at their marked up prices! - would have thought they may have offered complimentary shoes for the children??!?!?!
- gardeners stealing golf balls. our apartment edged the golf course. gardeners came into our garden area, while we were outside on the terrace eating breakfast, and blatently stole balls that had just been hit into the garden. (i.) they are expensive (and even more so at the golf shop at the golf course - according to my husband they were "extortionate") (ii.) when people couldn't find them, they then had to take penalty shots etc messing up people's entire rounds. completely unnecessary when they should have been easy to find and would have been had the staff not been pocketing them!
- whilst we were there, the cleaner broke my husband's iphone - by accident. it was on the bed. on the day we reported it, we were told that housekeeping were told to check the bed was clear of items. they said they had consulted their IT engineer "who reckoned" it would cost around 70-80 euros to fix (the glass was smashed), so they would offer us 100 euros. I called the UK and found it was going to cost £199 (230 euros). I informed them but then the story changed and they said that they were only willing to give us 100 euros as we had to accept partial responsibility (!!!!) given we had left in on the bed!!!
- in this whole process, we had tried to contact residence services to tell them about the broken iphone and discuss the matter. we had to continuously call. We kept being told that they would pass on the message and somebody would get back to us. It took 48 hours for someone to make contact, despite numerous calls made
- if you are looking for white fine sandy beaches like those on the ads for exotic places, don't come here. as others have mentioned, it is a laggon. the sand is very rough, the water is a little murky (but the pool, when it is not hashing the kids' feet, is lovely!)
- be warned the food is generally quite expensive and particularly so at the four seasons. it is lovely to have the option of going over there but it is expensive. 4 adults, 2x 3 courses, 2x2 courses, 1x bottle of wine, 1 x bottle of water = £300

The good (and there was some good):
- excellent kids' club and babysitting service - judi and stephanie just fab!
- golf course is wonderful and it is great that it is included in the price. my husband and our friends played every other day and thoroughly enjoyed it. the service was fabulous - perhaps because the golf club is actually owned and run by the four seasons? word of recommendation, food at lunchtime is of much much better quality and service is superior at the golf club than at anahita. the golf club is actually at anahita so nowhere to trek too. far more pleasant, better menu, tastier food, excellent service, never packed
- the accomodation in itself is very nice, as somebody has said previously though it is not stand alone villas but more like apartment blocks
- doctor service was excellent. I got tonsillitis when we were out there and the doctor was fast and very helpful

Would I go back? Probably not. The set-up is great for families with kids (kids club, babysitting etc). If you haven't got kids, don't bother. If you do have kids, I would give them some time to sort out all the issues they have. This is a new resort and inevitably there are teething problems. They obviously didn't intentionally mean for the pool to cut people's feet. at the moment i think that their response to issues and level of service is inadequate. But I think that it could be rectified. I would monitor reviews and potentially return when it is up to scratch. in the meantime, there are wonderful places to stay in mauritius and i would rather take the uncertainty out of my holiday experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barney79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed at Anahits for 7 days from 3rd April. We stayed in a 2-bed residence located on the first floor, quite close to reception. Its actually a glorified apartment, but still, it has all the amenities that you would expect for a small family of four. We went with our 2 kids, boys aged 4 and 6. Check in was simple and quick, thankfully.

The rooms were cleaned every day and quite well. Bathroom amenties were 'Elemis' (luxury brand) which was a nice touch. Although we had a bowl of fresh fruit, it was only changed once during our 7 days despite several requests to our villa host.
The hotel contains a 'village' which is really a few huts bunched together in the centre of the resort. The 2 shops were hardly ever open, we had to wait 10-15 minutes each time we wanted to buy something. The shops stocked ingredients that you could buy to cook your own food. Nice but rather expensive.

There are 2 main restauarants Bliss and Origine, quality of food was OK for people who like mild tasting food. There is a cafe 'Sugar' which served drinks and cakes, which we thought was quite nice and the staff were friendlier there too. There is also a Four Seasons Golf Club restaurant (on teh resort) where the food was excellent quality. You can also catch a shuttle to the Four Seasons for food which we did and enjoyed with the kids, quite pricey for a buffet though.

The quay side, water centre, had very nice and helpful staff. They are quite laid back (typical attitude in hot countries) but we found they were easy going and helpful. Most water activities were free and they had a huge variety of stuff to do for kids too.
Lagoon, although fairly large didnt host many variety of fish, very disappointing for snorkelling really.

The kids club itenary was very exciting, however, we had a few rainy days there and found that both boys had gloomy days with no activities properly planned or any structure to their day. When we complained, the staff took our comments seriously and dealt with our complaint well. The food for the kids was excellent, it was healthy and balanced - remember though you will be paying around £35 per child per day for the luxury of using the club. If they incorporated all the activities and added stuff for rainy days it would have been worth it.
They had a great swimming pool for the kids, it had a gradual slope which was ideal for our 4 year old and a deeper end for our 6 year old. There was also a deeper pool adjacent to it for adults. There is no spa, just a salon and a massge hut on the beach. It would have been nice if the hut was not right next to the swimming pools where you could hear kids screaming, so much for relaxation!

We did go to Casela Park, good fun with the kids after we had been swimming with the dolphins at 7am. This trip was around 2 hours away and we had to leave at 5am. Although we saw the dolphins, they kept swimming away due to the number of speedboats around, maybe better if you get there at sunrise, too early for the kids.

Service was rather slack, not sure if it was because of our villa host or generally. Things just didn't get sorted or requests were misunderstood. They need to work on that.
Most of the other guests were from London as Anahita's marketing head office is here.
Kids enjoyed it, reasonably priced, located 40 mins from airport, far from tourist spots but we probably wont go there again due to the poor snorkelling and diving.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

We spent an early Easter Holiday here for 10 days with our two children, 12 and 8. We flew Air Mauritius and they were an efficient airline.
When you arrive at the Anahita you are whisked straight to your suite/apartment - no lengthy check in at a hotel desk!
Immediately you are blown away by the standard of accommodation and the view. We had a sea view room with huge balcony and plunge pool. (I distinctly remember waking up the next morning and sitting one of of the comfortable sofas on the balcony looking out to sea and thinking it was a dream..).
It is here that everything is explained to you about the resort and what is on offer etc. Also greeted with a lovely lemongrass refreshing drink. This initiation did go on for a while and you are of course itching to get unpacked and freshen up. You are also introduced to your "Resident Host" for the week and ours, Avinass, was simply brilliant.

The apartment had every luxury imaginable, huge fridge with ice maker, Nespresso coffee machine, dishwasher, washing machine etc. (Not that we ever used hardly any of it during our stay, except the coffee machine, and they do charge you for the capsules for this..)
Efficient air conditioning, amazing showers and really comfy beds - v important!

At the time we visited this resort it was really quiet - "where is everybody" was what we asked as we walked to the beach restaurant for supper. The place was deserted. (Funnily enough we soon got used to this and found it very relaxing, plenty of empty sumptuous sunbeds etc).

The "village" that is described in the web site (www.anahita.mu/ - not to be confused with the Four Seasons web page) is nothing like expected - much smaller. There is an ice cream/cake parlour (beware ice cream scoops are small and expensive), a small newsagent, a small but perfectly formed beauty salon and a few other bits and pieces including a food shop that seemed empty of stock (although we were informed that we could order food items for the apartment from there even though not on the shelf).

If there is one thing that disappoints about this resort (and how can you complain when the accomodation and view are so lovely) it is the beach. The beach appears to be man-made, since The Anahita sits on the edge of a huge lagoon surrounded by mangrove. Don't expect turquoise water and lapping waves.... It would appear that most Indian Ocean Islands frequently have a reef all around them and this limits the amount of natural beach in many parts.

You can however experience this by taking the free boat to the Island "Ile aux Cerfs" about 10 mins away. A great restaurant on the beach run by Le Toussrak Hotel provides excellent fare and the inlet excellent bathing. On the sea facing side of this island though we were warned of sea urchins so take some sand shoes if you want to swim in what I would call the proper sea!

There are two restaurants run by the Anahita and on the whole the food was great. You could also get room service. Whilst this was sometimes hit and miss I would recommend the big family "Pot Dinners". Your resident Host will come and lay the table on the extensive balcony, and clear away afterwards - how luxurious and decadent is that! We also dined twice at the Four Seasons (a small shuttle journey away) and would say that the food there was average. The hotels wine list was disappointing and very expensive. Visits to the local supermarket for wine were not much better. South African wines were ok.

Make sure you seek out "George" the huge tortoise to the top of the golf course - and see if you can find his friend!

All the staff were very friendly and many seemed to know us by name. The gardens are amazing (me and my daughter collected flowers for her flower press - something to look back at in a few months!)

Wonderful sea life can be viewed just by standing on the pier. Better still go snorkelling (free from the resort) and enjoy the warm water and gaze down at a coral wonderland. (Incidentally the children were keen to catch fish and crabs on the Anahita beach but the hotel/shop did not sell anything to assist them in this. We had to go into the local town to buy a bucket and spade! We did comment about this to the manager, and it would be interesting to find out whether they listened..)

A total must do while in Mauritius is to visit Le Domaine de L'Etoile - organised by the resort. (website: www.cieletnature.com/letoile/index.php)
Whilst they offer quad biking and horse riding here, both of which we did and thoroughly enjoyed, it is just the setting that's so beautiful. Have lunch there and soak in the scenery!

Would we return to Mauritius and the Anahita? Difficult to say really. It's such a long way (11.5-12 hrs flight) and we felt like we saw quite a bit of of what Mauritius is about. Mainly sugar cane and tatty little towns surrounded by beautiful countryside. Maybe in 4-5 years time but as a luxurious decadent totally relaxing break (complete with your own butler) this holiday is going to prove hard to beat. Have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Breathtaking. The sheer beauty and absolute luxury of this resort has really left us stumped for words.
I really think what sets this resort apart is its unique personalised and professional service. The staff were friendly without being over familiar and nothing we requested was too much for them.
I'm already looking forward to my xmas holidays there!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Champ
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
9.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
5.5 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anahita Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anahita Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Anahita Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Grande Riviere Sud Est, Beau Champ, Mauritius 40901 (Formerly Anahita The Resort)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Beau Champ
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beau Champ
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anahita Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching out majestically over 213 hectares of tropical gardens, Anahita Golf & Spa Resort is located on one of the most beautiful natural sites on the East coast of Mauritius. With the Indian Ocean's crystalline waters of the lagoon at its feet, the Resort combines luxury, peace and enchantment. Experience the authentic Mauritian charm with its unique accommodation (lavishly furnished Suites & Villas), refined cuisine and dedicated service in a breathtaking natural environment. At Anahita Golf & Spa Resort, enjoy a vast range of the most sought-after activities: two exceptional 18-hole championship golf courses designed by Ernie Els and Bernhard Langer, exclusive beach experience on its two beaches, boutiques, Personal fitness centre, Wellbeing centre, tennis courts, Kid's club, water sports centre, golf clubhouse... Experience supreme and simply unparalled luxury: that of having the ultimate freedom of choice. Anahita Golf & Spa Resort, A New lifestyle Resort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Anahita Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anahita The Hotel Beau Champ
Anahita Hotel Beau Champ
Anahita Resort Beau Champ
Anahita Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Beau Champ

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing