We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for short stay only”
Review of Poem City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poem City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Jiangyou
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My family stopped over one night in this jiangyou hotel along the way to Jiuzhaigou in late July 2011.

Jiangyou was the hometown of the famous poet Li Bai. Like many places in Jiangyou, the hotel name reflects the homage paid to the poet.

Although grand on the outside, the decor of the 诗城大酒店 Shicheng Grand Hotel (this is the real english name) as the "Poem City Hotel is a literal translation from the chinese hotel name looks dated. There are lifts to the hotel rooms although the sloped access (for luggages) to the lift lobby was a tad too steep.

The hotel rooms were quiet and moderately clean except for some dust at the corners. Rooms come with a shower stalls (no bathtub). We tested all the fixtures like lights, TV, taps and flusher of our room which all worked before settling into our rooms. It wasn't apparent till bath time that there were plumbing problems. The water supply was weak and the water drained too slowly. We sloshed around the bathroom ankle deep in bathwater.

It wasn't till the next day that we heard from some other guests that it was fortunate that there was water supply in our hotel which has its own groundwater. Some other hotels were affected by the storm a few days back (I do not know how true this claim is but if it was true, the water supply thing could very well be a plus point instead of a minus point). The breakfast here was typical chinese style dishes with congee.

The redeeming point of the hotel is its convenient location. The hotel is located by a circle opposite the Tai Bai Plaza. This means you can't lose your directions from here. There are a handful of local supermarkets (we tried some local foods and flavours e.g. red jujube yoghurt which tasted like red dates and green bean yoghurt that tasted strangely like sour plums) and a cinema to while away the night.

There is a community square- Tai Bai Plaza 太白广场 right smack in the centre of the circle that comes alive in the evening. Packed with local folks shooting the breeze in the evening, there are local community dance groups ranging from ballroom dancing to belly dancing and small impromptu groups that start with one dancer bringing their loudspeakers. You can join in the fun as you like it. This is the key highlight that makes the whole stop here fun!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 12 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 31 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 11 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 December 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 8 December 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jiangyou hotels
0.9 mi away
Jiangyou Hotel
Jiangyou Hotel
#4 of 45 in Jiangyou
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ibis Mianyang Jiangyou
#11 of 45 in Jiangyou
1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hengda Holiday Hotel
Hengda Holiday Hotel
#2 of 45 in Jiangyou
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tai Bai Grand Hotel
Tai Bai Grand Hotel
#17 of 45 in Jiangyou
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hongtai Weitu Hotel
#19 of 45 in Jiangyou
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hong Tai Hotel
#18 of 45 in Jiangyou
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poem City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poem City Hotel

Address: No.279 Xinhuaning Road, Jiangyou 621700, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Jiangyou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Jiangyou
Price Range: £16 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Poem City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing