We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for the love of Serenity and Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alasia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasauli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alasia
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kasauli
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay for the love of Serenity and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was strongly recommended by a friend to stay put here. I was a little apprehensive after going through the website as there were not much details and the property photograph didn't inspire much. However I am glad that I went ahead and booked myself here.
Stayed for a night with family. My kids really enjoyed the small garden in front of the cottage/room. The room was very spacious to accommodate all of us as the resort had provided extra bedding in the room. The food in the resort restaurant was really good.
The resort is hardly 50 meters away from the mall road.
The staff was hospitable.
Don't go there if you are expecting 5 star amenities and professional greetings. Stay there for the love of nature and good food (though the room was really good.)

Room Tip: Choos the room below the road (not where the reception is).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulS679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    33
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
46
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We plan a trip every year around Independence Day to Kasauli as we all love the calm and tranquillity that this little heaven offers. Unlike Simla which is a traveller's nightmare, this station offers an ideal getaway. Alasia has been our preferred hotel since past 5 years as it is conveniently located, rooms are comfortable, though on this trip I felt that the linen desperately needs to be changed to keep in step with the refurbished image. However, given the fact that staff in hill-station hotels isn't really 5-star level I think the old-world personal touch and the warmth is what draws us back to this place repeatedly. Thru your site I would appeal to the manager/owner to get a better cook who can make healthy and nutritious food without killing us with excessive oil. The Continental food here was a major attraction, bot this time even the Shepherd Pie which we all loved, was a letdown. Even then the running hot water was the biggest luxury one can get in a hill station. Love the place and would recommend it to all who love Nature and want a peaceful holiday

Room Tip: Sorry, no activities for kids and no swimming pool as it's an old property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Alasia Hotel is one of the oldest if not the oldest hotel that is situated in the heart of Kasauli unlike a lot of the other hotels. Located on the Lower Mall, Alasia Hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are quite large and very clean. The carpets are slightly ratty and old but that's something you're willing to overlook because the view is stunning.

The Deluxe Rooms are a couple of metres away from the main building, which is great if you want to be away from the bustle. Monkeys however are a problem as they're all over the place so make sure you keep your doors closed at all times.

The food at Hotel Alasia I have to admit is pricey and not up to the mark. I had the grilled chicken sandwich that was an absolute gyp for the price. The Chinese food was oily but the quantities were sufficient. Their chicken curry however was stellar. From the cuisine I ended up ordering, I'd definitely recommend sticking to their Indian dishes.

The staff are fantastic and extremely polite and helpful. If you're looking at room service, make sure you order well in advance. I ended up telling them when we wanted dinner served in advance and they came with the food dot on time. Ordering on the fly though for room service ends up being a bit of a wait with them taking anywhere between 30-45 minutes for the food to reach you.

All in all, a great experience. When I head back to Kasauli, this is definitely going to be my preferred place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to stay away from the hustle bustle, I'd recommend the Deluxe rooms that are slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smriti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi, NCR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Last Thursday, I decided to a short break to Kasuali with my family. The next challenge was to get a lodge booking done in such a short notice luckly I was able to get rooms in Hotel Alasia.
On my way I was thinking did I make the right choice? Once I reached the hotel all my doubts vanished. It is centrally located and is a nice property. I guess the rooms and bathrooms have been recently renovated and they were different from pixs I had seen about the hotel. Rooms were comfortable and spacious on the other hand bathrooms were clear and fitted with branded fittings.. In front of the rooms there is a small garden in which kids can play and elders can enjoy scenic view.
The staff right from security guard to manger all well-mannered and courteous. Food was also good. Rooms have TV connection, tea/ coffee maker, mini fridge and a room heater. Hotel Alasia is a nice place to stay with family and friends. Will love to go once again to kasauli and stay in Alasis…


Also you can directly book the ticket from the Hotels website ... I had a very bad booking experience through makemytrip.

Room Tip: Take delux rooms they are better as they have a garden which can be used by kids to play and be el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep_Budki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just came back to maddening crowd of Delhi, Visited the sleepy city ...Kasuali,though a bit apprehensive about Hotel after reading all bad mouthed reviews... once we got to see our rooms, i immediately fell in love with room no :7 at Alasia.
The food was really splendid, the view from our verandah tranquil...
The Rooms were more then expected , and surprise package was ladies powder room ,which not most of deluxe room seen India have...
The hospitality was warming and instant ....
Miss kasauli....and our room no 7 at Alasia.......

Room Tip: Rooms are big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odiearya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Most things in the man made world lie on either side of a thin line; which make them good or bad, to us, humans. Good or bad, may be a discussion for another platform.

Apropos the opening line, the Hotel cannot be decisively put in the good or bad category.

The is location is central, rooms spacious, service prompt(for hill stations), decent view, sufficiently calm, has a small garden for dining (which has the potential to be wonderful). Most importantly, during the peak of the season, they had rooms available, that was the deal sealer for us.

Now there are very basic amenities missing the could irk you. A very stiff mattress, old/dated furniture, poor choice of toiletries, improperly functioning hot water apparatus, lack of trained staff.

In short, if you are used to staying in 4 star and above hotels/resorts, this is not the place for you. But if you are the occasional traveler and budget hotels bring a smile to your face, you wont mind this place.

Back to the opening remark, if you are going for a relaxed holiday, bring down the tension and spend some quality time with yourself, your family, then focus on that and not the hotel's shortcomings.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal_Joshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

It was a family getaway for us. Location is good but tariff overpriced. They were charging 5000 per day that too without breakfast, condition of rooms although newly built but not maintained. Sink and flush for Room 4 is not working. As reception is upstairs i had to go upstairs as no body was responding to intercom.
Staff is manner-less and misbehaved when we complained about not picking up the phone. Before that at the time of checking they offered 10% discount but i negotiated for 15% later he rude said and i quote" lena hai lo varna jaiye yahan se". as all hotels are full we didn't had any options to go.

Now i realized why this is the only vacant hotel in here is rushed weekends. they didn't even had mosquito coils or allout.
Food served is again over priced Rs 180 for Dal for 1 person, aalo paratha 70 bucks and taste is also not very great. Do look of for Restro's at Pine Mall and Ross Common(HPTDC hotel)

It seems that management of Alasia is very professional in taking advantage of people.
I recommend -10 for this Hotel. if you can pay 5K for view and take harassment then only go in for this hotel.

Recommend - R. Madiens, Maurice Lodge and Ross Common (on the same road)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kasauli hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasauli hotels
0.6 mi away
Birds View Kasauli
Birds View Kasauli
#5 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasauli Exotica
Kasauli Exotica
#6 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
#2 of 16 in Kasauli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunrise Cottage
Sunrise Cottage
#13 of 16 in Kasauli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alasia

Property: Hotel Alasia
Address: The Lower Mall, Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil 173204, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kasauli Tehsil > Kasauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kasauli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alasia 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing