We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Choice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Homestead Villas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Lawn - Cottage View
Level 2 - Cottage View /Table Tennis Den( Bottom Left)
Level 2 - Swing
Lawn- Level 2
Level 2- Sit out /Lawn/ Cottage
View from Sit Out
Level 2- Sit Out
Level 2 - Living
Level 2 - Dining
Level 2- Living
Level 2- Interiors
Level 2- Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Stairs - Level 1 to Level 2
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Living
Level 1 - Kitchen
Level 1 - Bedroom
Level 1 - Sit Out
Level 1 - Sit Out
Children's Play Area
Stairs- Parking to Cottages
Children's Play Area
Stairs to Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil, Solan District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aruntrg
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An average stay with decent food.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Please make sure you've discussed/re-discussed the rates with the owner. Else you may land up paying Rs.1000/- per night for an old cot. Once you've paid in 50% advance, you've lost the power to negotiate. Cooks/certetaker are good. Carry your own towel/bedsheets in this property. Careful to carry repellants, the property is full of insects. Matresses are with knots, one of the bedroom has a leaking wall. Avoid.

Negotiate for rental with cook's charges included (reportedly, they charge Rs.1200 a day ). They do a decent job. Highlight of this property is the caretaker, Yashwant. Very well-behaved & honest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caretaker's honesty/service attitude
Liked least: Linens, beddings, lack of pest control.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
Unfortunate to learn about your experience . We apologize for the same .
As mentioned to you as well getting a dedicated cook and helper from CHD who also stays at the sort at our cost does cost us directly @ Rs 1200/day . We also incur transport cost ourselves . You would recall we do not encourage hiring of cooks therefore esp this being a Homestay .

We are not sure of any leaking rooms for we did inspect the estate after your response . Since there were no rains during the period of your stay we even checked for suspected plumbing leakages . No fault or leakages could be identified .

We were reluctant to accept 9 adults for three bedroom facility yet we accepted and charged only one extra person instead of 3 people . We do feel disappointed to see your feedback despite written well-in-advance transparent communication on rates and facilities .

Hope to see you soon . Better beds assured :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karthikba...
Chandigarh, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a weekend!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We spent a weekend at this cottage in Kasauli.we liked the place a lot.Mr Yashwant , the caretaker, was also very courteous and is a very good cook!! We loved the place and will love to go back later in summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrajB
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for A FAMILY VACATION”
Reviewed 13 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Kasauli is a small hill town very close from Kalka and Shimla. I went there with my entire family (10 adults and 2 kids) and we had such a great time there. This is a private bungalow with 1 bedroom on 1st floor and 3 bedrooms on the ground floor, all with attached bathrooms. The view from the cottage is amazing and they have a lawn outside where you can play racket games (we ended up playing badminton all the time). This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, its a private property, decently maintained and they provide cook also and the food was very good. Its a place for a family vacation with kids and parents for relaxation. There is nothing much to do in Kasauli other than relax in the nature and get away from your otherwise busy life.
Things to note:
I would recommend to rent the entire property with 4 bedroom for a private vacation. sharing the property other unknown travellers might not be a good idea since the dining space and hall is common area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the hill and the view
Liked least: mattresses and bedding provided
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chandigarh
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;