We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with location more for business than for holidaying”
Review of Margao Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margao Residency
Ranked #9 of 21 Margao B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average hotel with location more for business than for holidaying”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked the hotel through Goa tourism website at Rs 1570 per day for AC rooms. We were family of six so we booked three rooms. I suggest it is better to opt for extra pax which is only at 20% more as rooms are big. The hotel is near railways station appx 5 kms and the taxi takes Rs 150 from madgoa station. The hotel is 9 kms from Colva beach which is nearest to hotel. Do not stay in this hotel if you are planning for holiday trip. Stay only at resorts near beach and Colva residency is the right choice as it is just above the beach which has a beautiful environment. The rooms of this hotel is poorly maintained however at this cost this is OK. The restaurant is average and we were good with the food taste but very slow in serving. We also took a car on self drive from Sebi who is just opposite to the hotel at corner of the municipal building. Very less staff for room service. Be ready for a rock hard bed and damp walls. Pls also note the snap in this website is that of municipal building and not the hotel. There is no dedicated car parking so be ready for a search if you hire a self car.

Room Tip: Go for a AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubunroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Margao residency is right in the heart of the town. Lounghinous is just across the street and other restaurants are very close by. The tariff is very reasonable (Rs 1200/-) considering the location & food. Food was awesome. Service was good. The rooms look outdated with the upholstery but dont expect much as you are paying peanuts. Parking of 4 wheelers is a problem during daytime so you may have to park the vehicle behind the hotel. Taxis are available just outside the hotel. Rickshaw & bike pilots are nearby.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a view of the MMC building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Ajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbatore
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the hotel is around 8 kms from colva beach.its not great,but quite ok for the price.unlike panaji residency,there is no view to boast about.nothing to complain about the room.the upside is,there are a good number of food options,very close to the hotel.the restaurant is good,but pricey.the complimentary breakfast can be skipped.beach lovers can prefer colva residency over margao residency.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sivaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Located near railway station this is a decent govt. accommodation. Being a Govt. hotel expect minimum flexibility on their part. We were told that breakfast is complimentary but next morning we were told that our room was not entitled for complimentary breakfast. Only Few types of rooms had free breakfast and our room was not.

Though the staff was very polite they expressed their inability to do anything as they were tied with their set of rules.

We paid for our breakfast. The bread omelette was a bad experience. The tea n coffee were great.

The rooms were very spacious but basic. Linen was clean. Hot water was available 24 hours.

We checked out after breakfast to go to better places.

This place is good only because its close to Railway station and if you have no prior stay arrangements then this place offers decent accommodation though better places are available at cheaper price points.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamshedpur
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

the hotel is average,location is very good very near to madgaon railway station.but in goa if you are on vacation it is always better to stay near the beach.the trips provided by GTDC are not woth .they will not show you the beaches instead they will devote more time in places where you have to buy costly tickets .cruise is ok if you like to dance.the room is ok nothing great but it was clean.but the restaurant preethi classic was just beside a toilet.rate is average.in the beginning the service was good.but on the last day the waiter misbehaved with us.the chicken lollypop was not properly cooked raw from inside,the prawns we ate in the prawn fried rice was absolutely stale and after telling several times the waiter didn't give us a fingerbowl.i will never come to this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iti_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very near the Margao Railway station; convenient if you have business in Margoa or may like relax on a holiday and make base for one day to relax and see south Goa attractions before moving on to the happening beach locations

Rooms are OK and clean, The staff is helpful, restaurant is good and economical. View of Margoa from the upper stories is excellent. As this is a government run hotel, please do not expect much; cool property for the hotel tariffs charged.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikspuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

this is my visit to goa after 6 years and i have to say this place is the worst place i have ever stayed in. I am from Goa, now living in Australia and i am very embarrassed about this place. My God!!! at least fix the place up to make it look attractive for guests, especially people coming from overseas. would not recommend this place to anyone not even my worst enemy. only things good are the staff are friendly and the tea is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob21Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margao
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#3 of 5 in Margao
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sapphire Comfort Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sincro Hotel
Sincro Hotel
#4 of 5 in Margao
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nanutel Margao Hotel
Nanutel Margao Hotel
#1 of 5 in Margao
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
0.1 mi away
Goa Woodland Hotel
Goa Woodland Hotel
#1 of 21 in Margao
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margao Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margao Residency

Property: Margao Residency
Address: Near Municipal Council Building | opposite Margao Municipal Council, Margao 403601, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Margao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margao Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Margao Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margao Residency Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing