We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”
Review of Om Shiv Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Shiv Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Margao B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There aren't many places to stay in Margao and this was acceptable for just something overnight. It's a little tricky to find initially, so it helps to have a map printed out for the taxi driver. The hotel was right in the centre of Margao and just across the road from a decent restaurant - Longuinhos (where we ended up for cocktails, dinner and breakfast!). The ability to book via Agoda was a plus but we didn't feel that it offered value compared to the lovely Goan guesthouses that we stayed at for the rest of our trip.

There was hot-water in the bathroom, provided you knew how to turn it on. The air-conditioning was noisy, as it was an old-style, window unit. There were a few power cuts in the town during our stay but the hotel seemed to have its own back-up supply, so we were not affected. Our room definitely didn't look as nice as the photographs but maybe they are in the process of refurbishment?

The staff on the front desk were very welcoming but when the young lad offered to arrange a taxi to take us onwards to Palolem, we were quoted double the starting price of the drivers in the street. This was our first trip to Goa and we over-estimated how long it would take us to travel from Anjuna to Palolem, so we opted to break the journey in Margao. Having said that, it is convenient for visiting the mansions in Chandor and Quepem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKLissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Well this hotel was given a 4 ratings in just dial at the time when I was checking for hotels for my stay in Goa so I enquired about the tariff and was offered a discount on the regular tariff and I had asked for a double bed so I confirmed the booking by bank transfer.
And a confirmation mail was sent to me well I only checked the header stating that my room was confirmed, so next day when I was late to reach on my check in time the front desk called and enquied about my status which made me feel good about the hotel.
Now the shocking moment when I went to see my room it wasn't a double bed it was a twin bed and when asked them I was replied stating that in my confirmation mail it was stated to me that it would be a twin bed now while booking itself I said I would be accompanied by my wife and daughter in spite i was offered a twin bed anyways I was also at fault since I didn't read the mail so the manager said he would join the two beds which I refused anyways I asked him for a double bed he showed me one and I was asked to pay 400 rs extra per day I had no other option so I went for it.
Now the most important factor which let me down was their restaurant as whenever I ordered something from their menu they wouldn't have it and a common answer would be sir its off season so we don't have it then they might as well shut down the restaurant during off season and it's exuberantly priced the people are good.
Well for people who are going to goa for the first time this hotel isn't ideal as it's very far from most of the tourist destination the only place near to it is colva beach and precisely do not ask for tourist vehicles from the hotel as it's way expensive as the tours and travel operator have to pay commission to the hotel I came to know this through the driver who toured us plus the drop to the airport from the hotel is charged at 750 rs ac car. overall the experience was below normal

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anishkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margao hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room for one night. When we got there the check-in took 20 minutes, with at least 3 different forms to fill in. Room ok but we could not get the hot water working, do not know if it was not available or it was some mysterious button in the room. It was warm that day so it was not a problem and we did not investigate further but for the price paid (2200 rupies) i was expecting a much better service, especially from the reception staff. Good central location though, 15-20 min walk to the train station.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DreySweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very good hotel, located in the heart of the city, very near to Madgaon Railway station and Kadamba bus stand.
Though I would advise to stay in the nearby Margao Residency hotel(Govt. owned), which has similar rates plus it also offers free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

No problems at this hotel, but no must-stay. Very suitedfor our one night stay in Madgaon, beds and room were ok, wifi didn't work but computer at reception was available. Our room had no nice views, need to ask for that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night. Even though we were very tired, we had to fill in four pages (!!!) of customer details first before they showed us our room (and after more than six weeks of travelling through India we know that it is usually not necessary to fill in so many forms!). The room itself was quite big. So was the bathroom. Cleanliness was average (we saw quite a few cheaper hotels with cleaner rooms) and there was no hot water in the morning! For 1'800 rupees a night one can definitely expect more in India! The only real highlight was the hotel restaurant which serves excellent Indian and Chinese dishes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is close to Margao Railway station and is centrally located. An auto from outside the station will cost you Rs.40. We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms & bathroom are clean, neat and have all basic facilities. Is suitable for business travelers who are looking for budget accommodation.

Is slightly difficult to locate as the roads around this place have a one way policy. Would suggest that drive in directions/boards be placed by the hotel, so people might find it easy to drive & reach here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margao hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#3 of 5 in Margao
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sapphire Comfort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nanutel Margao Hotel
Nanutel Margao Hotel
#1 of 5 in Margao
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goa Woodland Hotel
Goa Woodland Hotel
#1 of 21 in Margao
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Flor
Hotel La Flor
#3 of 21 in Margao
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Margao Residency
Margao Residency
#9 of 21 in Margao
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Shiv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Shiv Hotel

Property: Om Shiv Hotel
Address: Cine Lata Road | 1st Floor, Rajadhyax Tower, Margao 403601, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Margao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Shiv Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on a business trip or a holiday, the centrally located Om Shiv Hotel provides you with all the comforts and convenience to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Soaring six stories into the sky, Om Shiv Hotel is ideally located in the very heart of Goa's commercial city Margao. It is in the immediate vicinity of Government offices, business houses, shopping & entertainment centers. Om Shiv Hotel is truly the perfect place for a wonderful Goan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Om Shiv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Shiv Hotel Goa/Margao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing