We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Panchsheel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paulino Hotel(Salcette)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sincro Hotel(Margao)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Colva Plaza(Salcette)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Failaka(Benaulim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Simon's Cottage(Benaulim)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
11
30
19
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
30
19
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationhot watersingle bedroom servicemargao marketawesome hotelenjoyed our stayearly morningrooms are cleankmoptionpremisesbudgettouristsvehicle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Nice hotel for a budget trip and quite comfortable rooms .I feel the location is good and near to all beaches in that part of Goa, especially Majorda beach which is a great beach with less crowd. Also those who are vegetarians this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seetharamankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

After arriving at Hotel Panchsheel in Margao at about 6am, we tried to check ourselves in. Although we were booked for 11 nights, and they freely admitted our room was already available, they kept pointing (smugly, in fact) to the sign on their reception saying check-in at 12 noon. The only way they were prepared to let us into the room then was for another half-day's charge.

Having already parted with a large sum to a travel agent, who inexplicably booked us into Margao for our Goa leg (it's about 7km from the nearest beach - Colva) we said we would sooner wait until 12. Hearing this, they said we couldn't stay in their lobby sitting in the chairs, and suggested (again smugly, and finding it quite amusing) we go and walk the streets with our considerable luggage until 12.

In the end we said 'whatever' and went into our room on the understanding that the manager would come and speak to us (a) about our check-in and (b) about the way we were treated by the two laughing boys on the reception. Surprise surprise, the manager never came (if indeed the rude receptionist bothered to convey to him that some customers had a complaint to make about him personally).

When we managed to get our travel agent to have us moved to palolem, 3 nights into our stay, we tried to check out. This, quite amusingly, caused an argument with the (different) receptionist who first asked our complaint, but then shouted over us as we tried to explain that we were 'booked for 11 days, not 3!' and wouldn't hear anything we tried to say.

Two of our party work in hospitality in the UK, and we know that behaving like that towards a guest (in the UK at least) would get an employee sacked, fasttracked straight through verbal and written warnings etc. Truly embarrassing, actually like Fawlty Towers. On a bad day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

When we arrived at Hotel Panchsheel it was 6.05 am, on arrival they told us our room was ready but that they would charge us extra to go to our room before check in we said that we did not want to pay their half day rates for early check in so instead we would just wait in their lobby until check in. After a few minutes they decided we were not allowed to stay in their lobby and that we must pay to go into our room or "go wait outside in the street". The surrounding streets were empty other than some roaming dogs and people sleeping on the streets (the location is quite rough) so we said we did not feel safe doing so and would stay in the lobby, over the next few hours of sitting in their lobby they repeatedly argued with us about the check in charges and told us regularly that we must leave their lobby or pay extra and if we shut our eyes we were told we were not allowed as we may sleep. Eventually were allowed to check in a few hours earlier (however they told us they would charge us later for this). We asked to talk to a manager they said they would send him to our room when he arrived but no-one came to see us. We checked out after 3 nights (of a planned 12 day stay) and while checking out a receptionist told us we couldn't cancel our remaining days, and did not see the problem in the service we received, he talked over us while trying to explain the problem and was rude to us throughout (there was no attempts to resolve the issue or even apologies for it) he also attempted to levy extra charges for various things (like checking in early, canceling etc). Dont stay here if you value being talked to with respect and courtesy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sidney346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Sadly, after stupidly using a travel agent for a trip to the south of India, myself and 2 friends ended up in this hotel.
Let me get the positives out of the way first, the breakfast was tasty and the room was clean, upon arrival at least as the hotel made no effort to keep it that way...
We stayed for 3 days after being booked in for 12 days, which is 3 days too many and again, wouldn't have happened at all if we had control over our finances at the time!
After getting off a bus at 0545, we proceeded to hotel Panchsheel and arrived at 0605. On arrival, the night receptionist told us 'check in isn't until 12 noon, you can't go in unless you pay for half a day more', which we refused to do as we've already been charged over the odds for a 12 night stay. After hearing this, the receptionist continued to insist that we 'aren't allowed to sleep, or even sit in the lobby, go outside and come back at noon'. Again, when we explained that we didn't know where we were, we were carrying lots of baggage and we just wanted to go to the room, which after asking we were told, is actually free and available, we were told very rudely to go outside! After this whole farce, i asked to be put in front of the 'manager', who after having 3 days to come and see me, didn't have the guts or the interest to do so! Consequently, hotel panchsheel has lost 9 day of business from 3 people and i have personally already saved 2 arriving Korean tourists from checking in here and directed them to a friendly, cheaper hotel nearby :)
As a final note, this location is absolutely miles away from a beach, a jungle, or anything pleasant except maybe a railway station to help you escape. DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

It is at good location in terms of the reach to the bus stand, railway station and also any essential needs that may be needed. They come under budget hotels category and can provide with the basic necessity in the locality and not the luxury , pomp an other facets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkmthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews