We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel, Not so Bad - Not so Good”
Review of Hotel Panchsheel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Panchsheel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel, Not so Bad - Not so Good”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Rooms are good. but the service is bad. Staff is not so good. they do not care. AC's are old and needs to be replaced as it's Pathetic - Noise making AC.

The Manager does not listen to your query. they are very reluctant to make changes to make customer's feel comfortable.

I was on a business trip for 2 days. so it was OK Kind of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit16021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
17
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kalyan, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel panchsheel is a budget hotel, so don't expect anything luxurious.
Let me start with the hotel's location. The location of the hotel is about 3 km from bus stand and railway station. The taxi stand is about 7 min walk able distance.
I booked the hotel through makemytrip.com I checked in with my wife and kid. Instead of having a double bed, there were two single beds combined together. I asked them to give me room with a double bed, but I was refused. They said that all the rooms have single beds. So I had to adjust with two single bed combined together. The room was spacious and well designed. It looked like that the room was recently furnished.
The phone in the room was not working. So I had to go personally to attendant for any service. The phone was replaced next day. The fan regulator was not working. Here no attendant will come to your room unless you call them. They will not clean the room unless and until you tell them. Even the drinking water jar was not changed for the duration of my stay. They provide complimentary breakfast, which was good one day and average another day. They have restaurant by the name of Hotel Paanchali. They provide room service, but most of the items were not available from the menu. Though its a budget hotel, the restaurant food pricing was very high. You will get better quality food at lower price down the street.
Basically its an average hotel, pricing is lower compared to other hotels, so is the service.

Room Tip: I stayed at second floor and rooms appeared to be newly furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShamimLaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Nice hotel for a budget trip and quite comfortable rooms .I feel the location is good and near to all beaches in that part of Goa, especially Majorda beach which is a great beach with less crowd. Also those who are vegetarians this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seetharamankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palolem, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

After arriving at Hotel Panchsheel in Margao at about 6am, we tried to check ourselves in. Although we were booked for 11 nights, and they freely admitted our room was already available, they kept pointing (smugly, in fact) to the sign on their reception saying check-in at 12 noon. The only way they were prepared to let us into the room then was for another half-day's charge.

Having already parted with a large sum to a travel agent, who inexplicably booked us into Margao for our Goa leg (it's about 7km from the nearest beach - Colva) we said we would sooner wait until 12. Hearing this, they said we couldn't stay in their lobby sitting in the chairs, and suggested (again smugly, and finding it quite amusing) we go and walk the streets with our considerable luggage until 12.

In the end we said 'whatever' and went into our room on the understanding that the manager would come and speak to us (a) about our check-in and (b) about the way we were treated by the two laughing boys on the reception. Surprise surprise, the manager never came (if indeed the rude receptionist bothered to convey to him that some customers had a complaint to make about him personally).

When we managed to get our travel agent to have us moved to palolem, 3 nights into our stay, we tried to check out. This, quite amusingly, caused an argument with the (different) receptionist who first asked our complaint, but then shouted over us as we tried to explain that we were 'booked for 11 days, not 3!' and wouldn't hear anything we tried to say.

Two of our party work in hospitality in the UK, and we know that behaving like that towards a guest (in the UK at least) would get an employee sacked, fasttracked straight through verbal and written warnings etc. Truly embarrassing, actually like Fawlty Towers. On a bad day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margao hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

When we arrived at Hotel Panchsheel it was 6.05 am, on arrival they told us our room was ready but that they would charge us extra to go to our room before check in we said that we did not want to pay their half day rates for early check in so instead we would just wait in their lobby until check in. After a few minutes they decided we were not allowed to stay in their lobby and that we must pay to go into our room or "go wait outside in the street". The surrounding streets were empty other than some roaming dogs and people sleeping on the streets (the location is quite rough) so we said we did not feel safe doing so and would stay in the lobby, over the next few hours of sitting in their lobby they repeatedly argued with us about the check in charges and told us regularly that we must leave their lobby or pay extra and if we shut our eyes we were told we were not allowed as we may sleep. Eventually were allowed to check in a few hours earlier (however they told us they would charge us later for this). We asked to talk to a manager they said they would send him to our room when he arrived but no-one came to see us. We checked out after 3 nights (of a planned 12 day stay) and while checking out a receptionist told us we couldn't cancel our remaining days, and did not see the problem in the service we received, he talked over us while trying to explain the problem and was rude to us throughout (there was no attempts to resolve the issue or even apologies for it) he also attempted to levy extra charges for various things (like checking in early, canceling etc). Dont stay here if you value being talked to with respect and courtesy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sidney346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Sadly, after stupidly using a travel agent for a trip to the south of India, myself and 2 friends ended up in this hotel.
Let me get the positives out of the way first, the breakfast was tasty and the room was clean, upon arrival at least as the hotel made no effort to keep it that way...
We stayed for 3 days after being booked in for 12 days, which is 3 days too many and again, wouldn't have happened at all if we had control over our finances at the time!
After getting off a bus at 0545, we proceeded to hotel Panchsheel and arrived at 0605. On arrival, the night receptionist told us 'check in isn't until 12 noon, you can't go in unless you pay for half a day more', which we refused to do as we've already been charged over the odds for a 12 night stay. After hearing this, the receptionist continued to insist that we 'aren't allowed to sleep, or even sit in the lobby, go outside and come back at noon'. Again, when we explained that we didn't know where we were, we were carrying lots of baggage and we just wanted to go to the room, which after asking we were told, is actually free and available, we were told very rudely to go outside! After this whole farce, i asked to be put in front of the 'manager', who after having 3 days to come and see me, didn't have the guts or the interest to do so! Consequently, hotel panchsheel has lost 9 day of business from 3 people and i have personally already saved 2 arriving Korean tourists from checking in here and directed them to a friendly, cheaper hotel nearby :)
As a final note, this location is absolutely miles away from a beach, a jungle, or anything pleasant except maybe a railway station to help you escape. DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

It is at good location in terms of the reach to the bus stand, railway station and also any essential needs that may be needed. They come under budget hotels category and can provide with the basic necessity in the locality and not the luxury , pomp an other facets.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkmthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margao
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
2.4 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sincro Hotel
Sincro Hotel
#4 of 5 in Margao
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sapphire Comfort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Nanutel Margao Hotel
Nanutel Margao Hotel
#1 of 5 in Margao
186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panchsheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panchsheel

Property: Hotel Panchsheel
Address: Near Harimandir | P.O.Margao, Goa State, Margao 403601, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panchsheel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panchsheel is young and eager to make your stay in Goa memorable and invites you to Margao, Goa, to enjoy its excellent comforting services. The hotel has 33 elegant double bedrooms of which 26 are A/C/Non A/C and 7 A/C Deluxe suite rooms. All the rooms have cable TV, hot and cold water and telephone. Check in check out 12 Noon. L.T collected along with room tariff is 5%.Complimentary breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Panchsheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panchsheel Goa/Margao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing