We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolmarden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolmarden
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for one night with children while visiting the Zoo. Walking distance to the Zoo is definitely a plus. The hotel is nice but the room we got was very small for three people, the extra bed would almost not fit. They have a great spa/pool area for both adults and children that we enjoyed for several hours. Did not try the restaurant but the bar was ok and kid friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tompaSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

To begin with, if you have any problems with hoards of kids roaming around, this hotel is to be avoided.
Secondly, don't have any expectations what so ever regarding fine dining or nice wine lists.

Third, Their checkin check out times are ridiculous with checkin a 3 and checkout at 10.

We were two families checking in with one kid each and even though it is in some ways nice that the hotel is family friendly this was a bit too much even for us. If you enter the lobby or the resturant for dinner be pepared to get overrun by stollers propelled by hungry parents and kids going bananas in all directions.

The Restaurant
The menu was small but promising and the inflated prices gave us quite high expectations to start with.
The wine list however was a joke with over priced low quality wine with only a half decent Amarone as their "flagship" bottle.

Food:
Some of us ordered fish and some of us steak.
The steak served with Sauce Bearnaise was really tiny and and the quality of the meet was poor, the sauce bearnaise was clearly prefab and tasted like on a cheap diner.
The fish was nicely cooked but the portion was really really tiny and for the money paid they should be ashamed.
When asking if we enjoyed the meal we told the waitress that we we quite disappointed and at first she offered a free dessert but after consulting the head chef she came back with the answer that there was nothing wrong with the food but she could give us a cup of cofee for free.

We left the restaurant with the feeling that they really didn't care too much about guest satisfaction because they know people will come anyway since it is close to the park.
Guests are in a fact left beeing hostage to eat at their restaurant and pay their ludicrous prices.

Besides the bad restaurand the straff was generally friendly and the rooms was clean even though the hotel was quite worn down and the rooms tiny. Also don't have too high expectations of the spa sice it is more of a crowded "pool area" that a cosy spa.

So our recommendation if you are going to Kolmården; You'll most likely go there by car anyway so book a nice hotel in Norrköping and enjoy a nice value for money stay there instead with plenty of restaurants to choose from in the city.

The benefits of beeing close to the park does not in anyway make this hotel worth staying at!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emanuel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The closeness to and combined offer with Kolmården is the only reason to stay at this hotel. This is a high profile, very expensive hotel. It does not deliver to expectation. It was pleasant and plenty of fun for the kids with the spa and play room, film etc. but:
- The dinner buffé was not delivering to value
- The breakfast was at the lower end of a normal hotel breakfast with generally poor food quality
- The rooms where too small
- The standard of the rooms was not according to price.
- The rooms where not sound proof

Room Tip: If you are a small family a family room is ok. Otherwies I recommend a suite, however this is too ex...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at Vildmarkshotellet in early November. It was a really nice stay and the kids said it was fantastic! Regarding the zoo: Even if all animals isn´t outdoor, it´s really nice. The rooms are quite small (with a family of four). The possibility of charging your regular tools (Ipads, Iphones etc) is challenging in such a room due to VERY few contacts. The food is good, I had a waguy burger with fries, it was really good. The kids have their own buffet and they enjoyde it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

arrived at 1015, joining more family who had driven too, you get your welcome pack, tickets etc at a kiosk outside front of hotel,rooms already allocated, not a first come first served basis which i think is poor, and although we hoped the room would be ready, were told to come back at 3, with 2 small children, and paid a high price for 1 night, 3 is late! We had already overnighted in norrkoping, i wanted to get settled organised before the park, knowing by 3 everyone would be very tired. Our room was at far end, with all our stuff we trekked to the room our pass cards didnt work. Plus was, it was very quiet.
The hotel reminded me of a ski resort type hotel, as all reviews rightly say, very helpful staff, and despite being a bit worn, its well kept, obviously geared families at weekends conferences mid week (am guessing) i would not recomend it to 'non families' in high or mid season, its a bit 'holiday camp' kids everywhere, even being a family we found it quite chaotic. the facilities for the children are great, outdoor playground, indoor playroom, face painting, colouring stations, a mini cinema. pool for a hotel with 200 rooms, is far too small, i never understand why this happens in big resorts. Its fun though, there is a plunge pool, and then a corridor of water with a current in it, to a small outdoor pool, my littlest one thought that was brilliant as she just hung to her ring and off she went, the slightly older overzealous one though, had watched others jumping in & before she smacked her jaw on the side we managed to extract her, 6 families in was almost too may people. I did not try the spa.
Our room was small, next to the 2single beds, were 2 pull down bunks, i know many parents love this concept, but for me it just didnt work, the 3 yr old turned into a monkey climbing up the small ladder, the 4 yr old refused, and the lower bunk is crampedwith a shelf built directly above, In our case the children didnt want to sleep in them, and the bunks are too small for adults we are very tall. So a very uncomfortable night sleep with all 4 of us in the 2single beds pushed together. My other family of 3 adults had a decent size roomwith 3 single beds which was much more comfortable, wished we had had the same ! So if you book, check what room you have been allocated carefully or be sure to stipulate what type of room you want.
At end of a day in the park, you dont have energy to go hunting for restaurants and unless you have a car not option. At first we booked in the mainrestaurant, reco by reception, but the menu was limited expensive, alternative was buffet downstairs, its in the bar, dancefloor area, was ok, expensive 180kr per adult, 65 for a child and 35 if child in childrens highchair! It consisted of, meat dish, creamed potatoes, cold salmon, 3salads, bread, and pancakes jam cream for dessert. the swedes constant need to have pancakes on offer all the time, is a cheap boring alternative! Meal adequate, but doesnt include a drink either, so yes as others had said, its expensive for what you get in reality. But is all you really need at end of a busy day.

Room Tip: Ask about the room at time of booking
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyCarleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Finding a parking spot could be the most difficult at this hotel, fortunately there was one car leaving when we arrived so we found one easily but otherwise it was crowded. Arriving at the hotel early regarding the check in time, we were happily surprised to get our room immediately. Me and my family, total of five persons, stayed just for one night. I could go back and stay a few more if I would get a room with a view over the lake next to the hotel and a room that would be double the size for this amount of people. We had a room at the first floor heading to the inner yard of the hotel and the scaffolds next to our window. Fortunately we only had to sleep here and not spend any time in the room. It was of course our own choice to have a family room but this room was just too small for this many persons, the whole room was only beds. The service is friendly and the hotel personnel great. Eating here is a little expensive but both breakfast and dinner are very good. The spa area is nice, not big but not crowded either, good relaxing end of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lake side of the hotel. Biiig differens compared to the rooms heading the o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJFo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Although the hotel is already a bit worn out and quite crowded, rooms are small and average and their parking place is full most of the day, this is probably still your best option to stay the night when spending two days at Kolmården - since the hotel is really conveniently located just next to one of the two entrances to the zoo. We bought a Kolmårdenpaket which includes one night accommodation in the hotel (including free use of spa) and 2-day tickets to the zoo. The price of the combo for two adults and two kids was about 540 euro - not cheap but considering that Kolmården is probably the best zoo in the world (certainly among the best), I do not think the package was too pricey. The room was small but it was compensated by the view to the Baltic sea from the balcony (they charge you a bit extra for this great view which half - I think - of the rooms do not have). The spa was nothing to write home about - The pools were too few and too small for a hotel of this size and the spa was annoyingly crowded. Full five points for the service, despite looking busy all the staff members were really helpful and friendly. As for the restaurant, we missed the moderately priced buffet which closed quite early in the evening. The portions we chose from the a la carte menu were good but quite pricey.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay some extra for the room facing the sea, the view from the balcony is really nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolmarden
7.0 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
97 reviews
10.8 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
#3 of 11 in Norrkoping
299 reviews
10.6 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#9 of 11 in Norrkoping
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#5 of 11 in Norrkoping
115 reviews
10.5 mi away
First Hotel Central
First Hotel Central
#10 of 11 in Norrkoping
71 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Princess Hotel
Best Western Princess Hotel
#8 of 11 in Norrkoping
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden

Address: Kolmarden, Kolmarden 618 93, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Kolmarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolmarden
Number of rooms: 213

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing