We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Great Retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divar Island Guest House Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Divar Island B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Really Great Retreat!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This place was a real find. I had been to Goa before, and knew I didn't want to stay near the beach - especially now all the menus are in Russian! So I researched places to stay in and around Panjim that had a pool. I found reviews for this guest house in a couple of guide books, and neither mentioned a pool. One of them quoted nightly rates of 5000 rupees, but in fact, I paid half that amount and stayed for a week. It was bliss! The family were very friendly, the staff a delight, and the food excellent. For a solo traveler like myself, it was perfect, as there was always someone to talk to, and as my room was within the main house, it was just a few steps to the sparkling pool, big enough for a proper swim. There is now an annexe at the end of the garden, for anyone wanting total peace and quiet. There are bicycles for the guests use, and it's not far to either Panjim or Old Goa. The ferries run every quarter of an hour and are free for pedestrians. Divar Island is a lovely place with many old Portuguese houses, and a beautiful Catholic Church on the top of a hill overlooking the island. I just wish that I had had longer, and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyredLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Norfolk, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent most of January staying at the Divar Island Guest House Retreat with Jan and Aarti and their delightful family. This is a truly wonderful place, quiet and peaceful yet very accessible to the many attractions of this part of Goa. Our accommodation was very very comfortable and everyone, family and staff made us feel very much at home. We enjoyed their cooking so much that as soon as I got home I bought myself the Rick Stein India book, stocked up on all those wonderful spices and started replicating the experience in my own kitchen. My husband is a very enthusiastic birdwatcher and went off mornings and evenings to find all the local species, counting over 100. This is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy Goan hospitality yet with easy access to the wonderful markets, beaches and cultural events of the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights in the last week of December. The stay was quite interesting and we got to see a very different side of Goa.The staff was very nice and friendly especially Luku and Sandeep. The Bostocks also gave us good company on day one. Though they mentioned that the amount we paid for the bookings was lower than what they typically accept and that they had rejected the reservation initially. I felt that telling us all that was totally uncalled for.
What we really liked there was the staff and the fact that they took keen interest in helping us chalk an itineary during our stay. Service was very quick.
One other thing that I had some feedback on was the changing room next to the pool. It really needs to be cleaned up during our stay it was in an unusable condition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Payal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I travelled Goa last month with my wife and little kid. We stayed 5 nights in main city and chose to stay in Divar Island for rest 2 nights. Most of the travelers to Goa are not aware of this beautiful world named Divar Island as it offers great peace and scenic views. Divar Island guest house retreat is not a commercial hotel however offers you great comfort and homely atmosphere. The best part about our trip to Divar was LUKU the Manager of this guest house, who would make things so comfortable for you that you would not realize that you are meeting him for the first time. For us he was the key differentiator in our overall experience at Divar Island guest house. It’s a must go place for people who wish to stay little away from city's hustle bustle and enjoy peace. We really enjoyed the experience of ferry ride to cross the river while moving towards city and lots of greenery. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend travelers to certainly consider this option during their stay in Goa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anubhav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We found this guesthouse by chance when driving through Divar, looking for somewhere to stay. Divar is one of the most stunning places in Goa, far away from the usual tourist hang outs and offering a far more authentic Goan experience.

Staying with the Bostocks is more like staying with old family friends than in a hotel. They try hard to incorporate you into the family, sharing meals and taking guests into town with them when they go for drinks.

The house is beautiful, with lovely common areas and a great pool. The rooms are perfectly proportioned with decent bathrooms and fabulous beds / mattresses, we slept really well.

There aren't many eating options on the island so you will inevitably have most of your meals at the house. Luku - the manager - was amazingly accommodating, even letting us cook our own veggies one night.

All in all, a lovely place, amazing value for money and a warm loving family - just don't stay here if you like to be alone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LizzieLucyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet and a peaceful place to stay in Goa that was also well connected with Panjim and north & south Goa. And we seriously got much more than we could have ever asked for!
Divar is a beautiful island across Old Goa, separated by the river mandovi, and you if you happen to visit Goa in August, please do not forget to visit the Bonderam festival that happens on the island around this time.
Aarti, Jan and their wonderful family are arguably the best hosts we've ever had a chance to stay with! They have done up their house with a great degree of love and affection, and the same amount of warmth goes in the food that is cooked in the house every day.
My wife and I had made great 'places and beaches to visit in Goa' plans ahead of our arrival. We ended up staying back at Divar for the most part however!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank advisorpandeyji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margao, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place is truly a "Home away from home"..The Bostocks are truly a friendly bunch and U have to get them to interest you with all their lovely stories:)Their home is great,clean,comfortable and totally relaxing!!!The pool in the house is a plus point,although u can just hang around and enjoy the quiet...The food is absolutely delicious!!and the hosts go out of their way to have it prepared as per your liking and served at your convenience(we had kids with us)Definitely a place worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AstridCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divar Island
16.9 mi away
Wildernest
Wildernest
#1 of 1 in Chorla
430 reviews
8.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
249 reviews
10.5 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre
21.4 mi away
Nature's Nest
Nature's Nest
#1 of 2 in Sancordem
86 reviews
24.1 mi away
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
#2 of 2 in Mollem National Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divar Island Guest House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divar Island Guest House Retreat

Property: Divar Island Guest House Retreat
Address: 45, Piedade, Divar Island 403403, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Divar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Divar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divar Island Guest House Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home and a new state of mindfulness! We believe in ‘now’. Come and experience living in an antique Indo-Portuguese house which behaves like a retreat for the soul. We welcome you to take a holiday or a break at our home and experience the old Goan way of life on one of the last protected parts of Goa in terms of flora, fauna and culture. We do not have a menu and will not give you bills all the time, but we welcome you to wander off to where the Wifi is weak. We are in an island called Divar where the sounds of birds are still more audible than the vehicles and man. The island is accessible by ferries on the Mandovi River from Old Goa, which has the historic capital of the state during the Portuguese times. Our home is a few hundred years old and we have maintained it to hold the grandeur while upgrading it to incorporate modern luxuries as well. We have rooms, a dining hall, a swimming pool, a bar, a shuttle court, a duck pond, a meditation spot and so on for the use of our guest. We do try to remind everyone that this is not a hotel or a resort but a high end home which operates the way an affluent family use to live in the age of the past. The guests have plenty of activities in the house as well as the island from bird watching to fishing and also savouring a fine scotch to a session of Bob Dylan poetry appreciation. We like to live in the now and invite you to experience this through your holiday. We have a program called ‘Mindfulness’ at the Island House and this is a unique mechanism which has been designed for the traveller to live the experience of this holiday to the fullest. If you are interested in knowing more about this program, please get in touch with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Divar Island Guest House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divar Island Guest House Retreat Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing