We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small is Beautiful”
Review of Avocado Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Lodge
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lodge for five days during Christmas time. We picked this lodge mainly based on reviews on it and we were very satisfied that we had make the right choice. Basically this was a new establishment and we could feel that the owner did put a lot of efforts in running this lodge.

The lodge was small in size and we liked it because of this we could get enough attention and service that we required. I must mentioned that Nelson, the manager in charge, was so attentive and he was always there with a smile and ready to help. Just to mention a few: In fact, Nelson and I had numerous email correspondence regarding my queries about this and that before our arrival at Lushoto. He always responsed fast and to the point. He helped arranging our bus stop transfers to and from the lodge. He helped us to find out bus schedules to Dar es Salaam and buying the bus tickets. He discussed with us about our breakfast and dinner menu and he helped us to arrange our day tours etc...

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was hot 24 hours. Wifi connection was good and much better than many other more expensive hotels in Tanzania. The overall setting of the lodge was good and with good views. As a whole, the lodge was a good choice and very much good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if you are planning to stay, relax within the lodge and not going out f...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear guest,
First I wish to apologise for not responding earlier. I had tried to respond and I thought I posted my thanks to you for your excellent remarks about our lodge. As you rightly said, we are trying our best to meet all customer demands so that they take us as prt of their family when they go back home. In this way we believe, we will be seen you more often when you have time to vist our place. Thanking you once again for your choice to stay with us. We welcome you again when you have the chance to visit our country.
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Avocado Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We was staying in Avocado lodge last week and had a wonderful Experience. place is very beautiful also rooms are in a nice location. The General Manager Mr. Nelson is very help full and Friendly. food is very nice. specially in this place I notice that they don't look for the $$$ they charge their guests actual amount for Local site visit. Mr. Nelson arrange for us everything above our Expectation.Pickup charge 4000 TSH which is almost 3$ from Lushoto Bus station. to arrange to see local place we car arrange taxi from Lodge and its not Expensive. We personally Highly Recommend to visit this place if you are looking for Relax your self in cold weather. you can have nice lunch and dinner out in the garden with beautiful view. Nelson can arrange everything for you.

Room Tip: you can Book Deluxe Rooms which is in nice location.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patel7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Patel, thank you very much for your kind words. We wish to assure you that we are trying our level best to keep the high quality you expect from us. We welcome you again to visit the various cultural attractions around Usambara mountains, and assure you that we will assist you to have great experience. Again, thanks and karibu sana.
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We went to the Avocado lodge having found it on Tripadvisor and we have been extremely satisfied. For a reasonable price, you get a big room overlooking the village with a nice bed, TV, large bathroom, tea, coffee... really a 4 star european hotel level. This is brand new. On top they have a very nice menu and the best is probably the manager Nelson who makes you feel at home and is very professional. Last but not least, you have a good internet connection which is rare in Tanzania!
To find it, just follow the hospital sign, turnoff on the left 2km before the village. You can ask the bus to drop you there, this is 500m walk from the turnoff. Then from there you are in 15min in the center of the village.
Very quiet, perfect place to relax and spend a few days.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with nice views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djmilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

I sincerely thank you for your candin remarks. I do hope you will be our good envoys and do welcome you back next time you happen to be in this part of the world. As for our new facility, we are working hard to maintain the 4star status that you hinted to ensure that we have many happy visitors. At the Avocado Lodge, we strive to make our visitors relax from their busy working schedules so that they always want to come back.

Thanking you again, godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lushoto is a beautiful place to visit if you're into hikes and nature walks and exposure to local culture/foods. Avocado lodge is far enough from town for a little privacy and close enough to walk into town for lunch.

If you don't feel like leaving the lodge, just tell the wonderful man in charge, Nelson, and the kitchen staff can make you a local meal anytime. The rooms are comfortable and the showers are hot.

It's a nice place to stay; new, so they are still figuring some things out. But the staff are so friendly and ready to help with anything you need as much as they can.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thr3echess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

I thank you very much for your candid remarks. We are trying our best to finalize the few remaining facilities so that you will have a more rewarding experience the next time you visit us. Please welcome again and thank you for your understanding.
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I recently spent several days at the Avocado Lodge and had a wonderful experience. Nelson and the rest of the staff are helpful and attentive. The rooms are clean and spacious and the warm showers were a welcome reprieve after a day spent hiking the many trails / waterfalls / lookout points surrounding Lushoto. I would highly recommend Avocado Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaux S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear guest, I wish to take this opportunity to thank for your visit and candid remarks about our new place. I also wish to thank you for your understanding for missing some necessities during your stay. We are trying our best to finalize the few remaining facilities so that you will have a more rewarding experience the next time you visit us. Please welcome again next time you are in Tanzania.
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: le camere con il terrazzo sul giardino (quelle centrali nei vari edifici)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RahelStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lushoto hotels
4.2 mi away
Swiss Farm Cottage
Swiss Farm Cottage
#1 of 1 in Lushoto
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawns Hotel
Lawns Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lushoto
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irente View Cliff Lodge
Irente View Cliff Lodge
#9 of 24 in Lushoto
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
#5 of 24 in Lushoto
16 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
0.0 mi away
Green Farm Friends Lushoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Lodge

Address: Plot 26, Mabwawani Area, behind District Hospital | PO Box 358, Lushoto, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Lushoto
Price Range: £43 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Lodge is a small boutique hotel, with tranquil atmosphere right in the Western Usambara mountain forest. The hotel offers quality services with large spacious rooms, equivalent to a four start hotel.The lodge is located at Mabwawani area, overlooking Lushoto town, just behind the District Hospital. There is an excellent view of the nearby mountain forest with some rare species.There are 10 large spacious rooms, varying from about 300 to 400 square feet. All rooms are fitted with California Queen beds, with orthopedic mattresses. Furnishings are from rare Cedar wood from the nearby Usambara Mountain Forest. Other facilities include bottled water from natural springs, coffee/tea maker, hot showers, and fine cotton beddings. No smoking is allowed in the rooms.Lushoto town is about 400km by road north of Dar es Salaam JKN International Airport and about 250km south east of the Kilimanjaro International Airport. Airport pick-up can be arranged using hired or hotel vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Avocado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing