We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a home in tansania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avocado Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Lodge
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“a home in tansania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would definitely recommend this nice and brand new Lodge to every visitor coming to lushoto. The food was delicious, the rooms absolutely clean and the manager made every effort to make us feel at home. If there is a tiny thing to improve in this lodge it would be mosquito nets in front of the windows. You don´t really need them, though, because there are good ones over the bed.
If I´m coming back to Lushoto I will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and also for the candid comments about our lodge. We very much value your contributions and assure you that we will try our level best to attend to all those minor but important issues as you pointed out. We hope next time when you visit us we will have fixed the mosquito screens on the windows to allow guests to sleep with the window open if they wish so. Again we thank you and welcome you back when you have the time to visit Lushoto in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As part of a group I spent two weeks in May at the Avocado Lodge. It is situated about 15 walking minutes uphill of the town of Lushoto, in the beautiful Usambara Mountains. The view fron the rooms is spectacular.
The rooms are very clean and well equipped, with an electric kettle in every room, a water heater for hot showers and a mosquitonet over the bed.
The service was excellent. Manager Nelson and his staff did their level best to keep us happy and well fed.

So, if you ever come to Lushoto, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest. Firsty, I wish to apologise for the late response. We thank you very much for your complements to our Lodge and the staff. We wish to asure you that we will try our level best to maintain the same quality services so that you visit us again when you have the time. Welcome again.
Ahsante sana,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 16 nights at the avocado lodge with my group. During this time I felt very comfortable and the manager and also the whole staff made constant efforts. The rooms were very clean and all beds had mosquito nets for feeling safe. The staff were allways very friendly and it felt like a family. If I will come again to Tanzania/Lushoto I'm sure to spend my time at the Avocado Lodge again.
Greetings

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at our lodge. We also welcome you again if you have the time to visit Lushoto in the future. As you rightly said about our staff and the manager in particular, our vision is to see every visitor becomes part of our family. Hence, we thank you for your time spent with us and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I discovered Avocado Lodge on Trip Advisor and chose to stay there based on the positive comments posted. We were not disappointed. We intended a one night stay, but stayed for two. The accommodation is very comfortable, the food is delicious and the Management is first class. The Lodge is also in a very good location - beautiful surroundings. Mr Nelson arranged a guide for us and we spent a wonderful day hiking around exploring the mountains. Alan & Claire Gardner - South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 113ClaireG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you very much for your nice comments about our lodge. We very much value your comments and I will pass your complements to all the staff and The manager in particular. We wish to assure you that we will try our level best to give high quality services. Again, thank you again and do hope to see you again next time when you are in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel is in a great location with a fabulous view of Lushoto. The rooms are incredibly clean. The staff was very attentive and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. They even matched us with the perfect guide for our trek in the Usambara mountains and held our luggage. It was a great stay. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandemgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for your nice comments. We highly appreciate your staying with us and do hope that we will see you again next time you happen to be in our part of the world. We also thank you for recommending others to stay with us. We will always try our level best to be responsive and thankful to all our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lodge for five days during Christmas time. We picked this lodge mainly based on reviews on it and we were very satisfied that we had make the right choice. Basically this was a new establishment and we could feel that the owner did put a lot of efforts in running this lodge.

The lodge was small in size and we liked it because of this we could get enough attention and service that we required. I must mentioned that Nelson, the manager in charge, was so attentive and he was always there with a smile and ready to help. Just to mention a few: In fact, Nelson and I had numerous email correspondence regarding my queries about this and that before our arrival at Lushoto. He always responsed fast and to the point. He helped arranging our bus stop transfers to and from the lodge. He helped us to find out bus schedules to Dar es Salaam and buying the bus tickets. He discussed with us about our breakfast and dinner menu and he helped us to arrange our day tours etc...

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was hot 24 hours. Wifi connection was good and much better than many other more expensive hotels in Tanzania. The overall setting of the lodge was good and with good views. As a whole, the lodge was a good choice and very much good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if you are planning to stay, relax within the lodge and not going out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,
First I wish to apologise for not responding earlier. I had tried to respond and I thought I posted my thanks to you for your excellent remarks about our lodge. As you rightly said, we are trying our best to meet all customer demands so that they take us as prt of their family when they go back home. In this way we believe, we will be seen you more often when you have time to vist our place. Thanking you once again for your choice to stay with us. We welcome you again when you have the chance to visit our country.
Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We was staying in Avocado lodge last week and had a wonderful Experience. place is very beautiful also rooms are in a nice location. The General Manager Mr. Nelson is very help full and Friendly. food is very nice. specially in this place I notice that they don't look for the $$$ they charge their guests actual amount for Local site visit. Mr. Nelson arrange for us everything above our Expectation.Pickup charge 4000 TSH which is almost 3$ from Lushoto Bus station. to arrange to see local place we car arrange taxi from Lodge and its not Expensive. We personally Highly Recommend to visit this place if you are looking for Relax your self in cold weather. you can have nice lunch and dinner out in the garden with beautiful view. Nelson can arrange everything for you.

Room Tip: you can Book Deluxe Rooms which is in nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patel7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Patel, thank you very much for your kind words. We wish to assure you that we are trying our level best to keep the high quality you expect from us. We welcome you again to visit the various cultural attractions around Usambara mountains, and assure you that we will assist you to have great experience. Again, thanks and karibu sana.
Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lushoto
0.0 mi away
Swiss Farm Cottage
Swiss Farm Cottage
#1 of 1 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tanga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawns Hotel
Lawns Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
0.0 mi away
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
#10 of 23 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Farm Friends Lushoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Lodge

Property: Avocado Lodge
Address: Plot 26, Mabwawani Area, behind District Hospital | PO Box 358, Lushoto, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Lushoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Lodge is a small boutique hotel, with tranquil atmosphere right in the Western Usambara mountain forest. The hotel offers quality services with large spacious rooms, equivalent to a four start hotel.The lodge is located at Mabwawani area, overlooking Lushoto town, just behind the District Hospital. There is an excellent view of the nearby mountain forest with some rare species.There are 10 large spacious rooms, varying from about 300 to 400 square feet. All rooms are fitted with California Queen beds, with orthopedic mattresses. Furnishings are from rare Cedar wood from the nearby Usambara Mountain Forest. Other facilities include bottled water from natural springs, coffee/tea maker, hot showers, and fine cotton beddings. No smoking is allowed in the rooms.Lushoto town is about 400km by road north of Dar es Salaam JKN International Airport and about 250km south east of the Kilimanjaro International Airport. Airport pick-up can be arranged using hired or hotel vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing