We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Option for Rocket Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of J.P. Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
J.P. Emerald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yasothon
Udon Thani
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Best Option for Rocket Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We checked out today after staying 2 nights for the Rocket Festival (Prapheni Bun Bang Fai). When booking a few weeks ago I wasn't expecting much due to some poor reviews here but ended up impressed. We were met outside in the rain by someone to take our bags. The lobby, restaurant outside area is beautiful and check in was very fast. Throughout our stay staff was excellent. Our Deluxe Room which isn't much more than standard is well worth the upgrade as is much larger, has a sofa, and large balcony. It is however not all positive. The rooms hardwood floors (which look fine, but...) walking on them our feet became black so they're dirty. The sofa was a bit warn and we had small bug bites (bed bugs or ants not sure as didn't see them but noticed the bites / rash when sleeping. I suppose also is possible was some sort of rash from bleach but 2 of us got it - to stress wasn't excessive). Still the area is awesome, and for where it is this is a nice hotel. If you're used to typical Isaan hotels this is not bad at all. If coming for Rocket Festival it is only good option around and I'll have no problem staying here again in future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe room. It is not much more cost wise and is much larger, has sofa and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pathum Thani
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This Hotel is one of the few choices in Yasothon. Make sure you don't end up here until they have reworked the place in its entirety. The rooms are smelly and worn down. Their practice to overcharge foreigners during the Rocketfestival in May was a painful experience, previously made bookings were not honored. We had a horrific stay there and our car was damaged in their guarded parking lot overnight. Warm water wasn't available for morning showers and their food was disgusting and expensive. Every street vendor put more taste and pride in his product at 10% of these charges.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if you can ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yasothon hotels

Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Ich war im Mai/Juni 2012 in Yasothon Freunde besuchen. Wir haben mehrmals ausgezeichnet dort gegessen, auch Frühstück. Natürlich alles Thailändisch. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Bewertern mag ich die Thai Küche rund um die Uhr und brauche keinen Continental Food wenn ich in Asien bin. Also für den der es mag, ausgezeichnetes Thailändisches Essen und nettes Personal. English ist im Restaurant eher ein Problem also einheimische Freunde mit nehmen.
Last May/June 2012 I went to Yasothon visiting friends. We eat several times there and I have to say excelent Thai food and nice staff. Further I have to remark it is a Thai Hotel in the Thai province of Isan. Dont expect continental breakfast or english language everywhere. What you have there is excellent Thai food and Thai hospitality. Please be aware of this if you plan or have to go in the Thai province, this is NOT BKK, but its a very nice and interesting place and good people there. Be open minded and open hearted and you will not regret

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were in Yosothon to Attend a Wedding of a good friend! They did a Great Job in Planning and Execution of the Event. I will say the Rooms are a little on the shabby side but will work in a pinch. You do not have alot to choose from and when You are in Yosothon I'd say this is it!! breakfast is OK, siding on weak!!

Room Tip: They are pretty Helpful at the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanhorse
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I was there for the rocket festival May 2012. I really liked the place. The room was nice, large and clean. I even had a pretty good view. Breakfast was more for Asian people, but they had enough western stuff to keep my bother happy (which means any one should be ok). We made friends with the manager. He is a great guy and very helpful, he introduced us to a lot of Thai people and we had a great time seeing and doing things we may have missed had we not known anyone. The Rocket pub is in the hotel and a fun place.... at least it was that weekend with the festival going on. The price was higher for the festival, but still very reasonable. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

After staying at this hotel for a few nights in May 2012 i was absolutely disgusted with the staff they were rude, arrogant and very unhelpful and if you pay by a credit card watch your bill when you get home as they charge you twice and then play the "No speak English".

Other than that the rooms were ok but when we had a flood in the bathroom at 530am the staff again didnt want to know and no help was offered to us to move rooms even though my wife and i are of the older generation and my wife is disabled. I would definately not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swadlincoteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I am working in Yasothon over the next few months. I got lost in my hotel room - it was huge, and clean.
The hotel is a massive place for such a small place.
I got lots of sleep and he staff were very nice.
The karaoke at dinner time was a crime against humanity, but thankfully there is a good coffee shop down the street, just ask erception.
Wednesday night they have a night market abut 600m down the road, it is really quite nice and friendly. Not many farangs in Yaso!!!
I am looking forward to going back

Room Tip: Get a high floor and you can see the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePeters64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasothon
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Roi Et
Hop Inn Roi Et
#1 of 6 in Roi Et
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#2 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boonsiri Boutique Hotel
Boonsiri Boutique Hotel
#3 of 7 in Sisaket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.P. Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.P. Emerald Hotel

Property: J.P. Emerald Hotel
Address: 36 Prapa Rd., Yasothon 35000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Yasothon Province > Yasothon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yasothon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — J.P. Emerald Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your J.P. Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing