We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi oonlee Family, Everything was Perfect when we stay with you! The Food was delicious And The Service excellent! Best ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Jum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 8 Ko Jum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Excellent , delicious, clean, friendly, Family Business!

Funny People who know what Service means!
Perfect Bungalows for a very Good Price!

I've Never Seen auch a Professional Kitchen in Thailand!

Hope See you again sometimes! We will for Site come back to Koh Jum! Wish you a Nice Holiday too

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were planning to stay at Oon Lee for 5 nights, reservation and transportation advice all worked out very well. You can see that the place was built with a lot of love. So much effort put into little details, you can feel it. We were staying in one of the simpler bungalows with sea view, no air condition, just a mosquito net and a fan. It was quite hot during our stay and we were sweating pretty hard as we were spoilt by air conditions at our previous stays.

Things you should know:
- yes, there will be at least geckos in your room, but they eat all the mosquitos and bugs
- yes, there are some cracks in the floor, "things" could get into your room - we were sleeping with open windows and never had a problem at all. first two night we were a little bit freaking out about this fact, but hey, you are on a small island with no major resorts and thousands of tourists - it is worth it.
- yes, the beach right in front is rocky - if you expect a white sandy beach a la Railay, go somewhere else. (you need to walk a few minutes to get to a more sandy area) - there are definitely nicer beaches out there --> go on a island tour, you can rent the longtail boat with a driver from the resort
- yes, the food is more pricey than e.g. eating at the nightmarket in Krabi, BUT the food is ALWAYS excellent, tasty and you ARE on an island with no major grocery strore or anything around. (a bottle of water is 35 baht, a can of beer around 70).

If you can deal with all of the above, this is your perfect stay. Cozy, family run, warm and welcoming atmosphere, relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Great B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We loved our time at Oon Lee Bungalows. It's a little haven - very relaxing and peaceful. From the second you arrive you are made to feel very welcome by Valerie, who greets you on first name terms. The warmest reception we've had anywhere. Valerie works so hard, and her staff do a fantastic job supporting her.

The bungalows are beautiful - quite cosy but you don't spend a lot of time indoors. Mosquito nets are thankfully provided. You are basically in the wild here. You can hear all the bugs, geckos, and occasionally monkeys. This wasn't a problem for us but not for the faint hearted. The resort is set in beautiful gardens, on a steep hill. At the bottom it says 26.5 steps to heaven, you just know how much pride Valerie and Oon take in this place from the very moment you arrive!

During the day we explored nearby, and stayed around the resort just soaking in the peaceful atmosphere and reading. You do have to walk a little to get to a sandy beach, but you can snorkel from just outside the front entrance, if you are careful of the rocks. Valerie explains this to you when you arrive though. Lots of lovely little decked areas looking out to sea, and you can watch a great sunset at the bar. Great location! We didn't really explore the rest of the island just e closest beaches, as it was so hot. But heard lovely things about the rest of the island. You can borrow snorkelling gear for free, hire kayaks for next to nothing, and Valerie and Oon also arrange trips as well!

The food is lovely, we tried something different most evenings, I really enjoyed the pad thai for lunch and the curries were fab - REALLY fresh ingredients! Very impressive. I would say there's lots of lovely (possibly western) touches to the way in which Valerie runs this place. (She is originally from France). These are cloth napkins with your dinner, flowers on the bed when you arrive, a huge array of books magazines and games in the restaurant/ lounge area - all of these things make it feel very homely and gives it great character.

I know Valerie goes well out of her way to help guests with special requests, but we didn't have any ourselves.

Would definitely revisit Oon Lee!!! Thank you Valerie. Sarah & Iain

Room Tip: I'm sure any rooms are great! However there are quite a lot of steps, so perhaps ask for a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

we stayed in 2 Bungalows for 4 nights on koh jum and would have happily moved there for good. Valerie and her staff have been the most accomodating Hosts we have ever come across in asia, and the facilities are charmingly decorated with a lot of thought and style. Daily Specials are ALWAYS a good choice, and Special wishes are accomodated (no carbs ;-)). also not to miss are the massages, as was the snorkeling trip.
Sundowners down by the shore are a must before dinner.
Valerie, we thank you for the great stay with all our heart - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melsta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Accomodations are very clean and well-managed. The steep stairs are more than three times the 26 steps to paradise they announce at the bottom. There is really no beach to speak of in this property but granted, there are some very nice beaches in Koh Jum Island. The coast here is rocky and you will have to walk on rocks to board/unboard your boat. Some nice tide pools but very few animals to see in them, unfortunately. The price-to-quality ratio is very good. The food is absolutely splendid. The menu is limited but every dish is top. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well kept with nice view of the secondary forest that surrounds them and a glimpse of the ocean down below. The owners are VERY hard working, very helpful and hospitable and will go out of their way to improve your experience.

Room Tip: Try to select a room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It was one of the best Accomodation we had on our Thailnd Trip. The owerns are very friendly and helpful. It is a small resort with really nice and clean Bungalows. We had a relaxed time there and great food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights on Koh Jum and we loved it there.

The resort is small - only 10 or so Bungalows, so it has a very relaxed feel about it. Valerie and Oon are lovely hosts, Valerie remembers your name before you even arrive which is a lovely touch, they are always on hand to help you, and their service is exceptional.

The resort is located above a rocky/sandy area, the nearest beach is probably 5-10 mins stroll along the waterfront, if you walk another 10 mins you'll get to a lovely undeveloped beach which you're likely to get to yourself for most of the day. If you like snorkeling you can head straight out from oonlee and you'll find a few small patches of coral and a few small schools of fish which is nice so close to the resort.

The bungalows are very well presented but basic, no a/c or hot water here - but that's part of what adds to the charm of oonlee - you don't have to listen to the whir of an a/c unit outside all night.. just the birds and the insects! We stayed in the front bungalow with sea views for two nights and the garden bungalow nearer the back of the property for the other two nights, we loved them both equally for different reasons - was nice to hear and see the water as you lay in the hammock on the deck, but the garden bungalow you had a lovely private spot with lots of birds and wildlife around (plus the pet dog and cat would come and visit us every morning when we got up).

I have read the other reviews which talk about the food here, and yes it is expensive, but it's also fantastic! The food was delicious, well presented, extremely fresh and well sized - sure you could probably walk for an hour and find something cheaper then walk an hour back, but that doesn't sound like much of a holiday to me, or you could hire a scooter for 300baht a day and drive there spend 300baht less on food and drive back with exactly the same amount of money left in your pocket as if you'd just stayed and eaten at the restaurant, but I doubt the food would even come close to the quality that you get at oonlee - but each to their own.

When we were leaving my partner made me promise that we could come back again, she usually makes me promise the exact opposite - I would definitely recommend you stay here if you're heading to Koh Jum - unless you're too cheap to pay for good food, or too lazy to walk 10 minutes to the beach - then I suggest you stay on the mainland with the other 99 percent of tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Jum hotels
0.3 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
258 reviews
2 mi away
Season Bungalow
Season Bungalow
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Jum
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Pearl Beach Resort
0 mi away
Oon Lee Bungalows
Oon Lee Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Ko Jum
11 reviews
2.3 mi away
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Koh Jum Beach Villas
#1 of 22 in Ko Jum
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows

Address: Kidon Beach, Ko Jum, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Jum
Price Range: £7 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created Oonlee Bungalows on the island of Koh Jum to be more than just another vacation resort amidst the others. It's a family affair. Simple, yet luxurious, beautiful and exotic, charming wooden bungalows stand on stilts, scattered around a shaded, tropical garden. Master craftsman, Oon carefully managed the construction of the bungalows and Lee the design details which proved to be a enjoyable and successful division of labor. The price of the bungalows range from 800 Thai Baht to 3000 Thai Baht at high season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koh Jum Oon Lee Bungalows Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing