We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoilt Thailand by Jean Henrickson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unspoilt Thailand by Jean Henrickson”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Koh Kood Beach resort is idyllic! It has a big dining room overlooking the beach with gently waving palm trees much in evidence. The A frame rooms are clean, comfortable and cosy. The outdoor bathroom is fun - although it did not rain while we were there. The staff members were fantastic - couldn't do enough for us and shared their lovely sense of humour. The food was fantastic and the buffet breakfast a surprise given the fact the resort is so small. It is a pity the island of Koh Kood is so hard to get to - it took most of the day.

Room Tip: The A frame rooms all have pool and ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    81
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
70
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hillerød, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend on a romantic holiday.

We loved every second of it, the Bali Bungalow was very nice to stay in, and we loved the idea of the toilet being outside (but still private).

The food at the restaurant was very good (my girlfriend is a chef so quite picky with the food).

The people working at the hotel very helpfull, they even arranged a tour around the island, even though we were only us to going on it.

I would love to come back some day.

They even have a huge collection of DVD's if you care to watch them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReinkeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I never met any such unkind and unfriendy receptionist/manager. He is just the one to chase away, to fire immediately. No "hello" or "how are you". He might be busy with his laptop. The other/his girl friend is doing her make-up or polishing her nails. Of course you as a customer are disturbing...! The only one who can speak English properly is Sano, who will be helpful if needed.
The rooms are ok. Bali rooms are single bungalows with open bathrooms (I like, you can see the sky), somehow clean. The other Thai houses are semi detached, so you will have neighbours very close. Stay away from family house. If it's raining you will have an indoor pool..!!
The whole is resort is in a good state, the beach very small, but with a huge pool. Food is limited!

Room Tip: take the Bali Nrs 7 or 8 (best view to sea)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeritBonde, Manager at Koh Kood Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. We are happy that you overall liked our premise, bungalows and great pool area. The aim was and still is to operate a resort that fits into the natural surroundings including the benefit of being able to look at the sky while taking a shower or enjoying sea view from the spacious terraces (and Jacuzzis) surrounding the Thai Twin houses.

We are however sorry that you had the experience of unfriendly receptionist and person in charge at the moment (our managers were in Bangkok at the time of your stay) since all of our staff normally receives great praise and is very well liked by guests. The ambience at the resort is very laidback and invites all guests to feel at home, which you may have experienced a bit too much at the time of your stay.
And you are right that some staff speaks limited English, however there will always be a person present who speaks English, in your case Sano, who will be happy to aid in any way possible to overcome language issues, should they be experienced.

Lastly, in regards to our family house we have luckily not had flooded pool-like conditions inside and we constantly maintain during the year. Furthermore, all bungalows and houses are repaired and upgraded every year in the low season (September-November). This has also been carried through in 2012 and hence all accommodation stands fresh and free of any leaks that may have been experienced.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, which aids us in constantly improving our premise and service to our guests. Moreover, we hope you had some nice days at beautiful Koh Kood island.

On behalf of all staff at Koh Kood Beach Resort and Visit Beyond,
Berit Bonde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

To be honest my boyfriend and I didn't really expect much to avoid disappointments (due to previous experiences) and we were right! Koh kood is really one rare piece of hidden gem! We love how it's not commercialized like most of the other islands out there.
We were greeted warmly by the staffs as soon as we set foot on the pier. The staffs picked us up from the pier which isn't too far away from the resort. You can tell that the staffs were really genuine in providing the best service that they could, besides, the staffs speak really fluent English! (a super bonus added point)
Coffee & tea are provided 24/7 in the common area/restaurant. There's only small white beach but you can kayak nearby, or swim in the infinity pool. Kayak and snorkeling equipments are free of charge.Not many activities available (especially when the night falls) but I guess that's the whole point, to just sit back and relax.
We had all our meals in the resort and I've had the BEST tomyamgoong ever. The food in general were beyond my expectation and the prices are fair enough. Breakfast selection is limited however it's good.
We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The only downside that I would want to point out is the bungalow's bit old, they probably need to do some light refurbishment to keep it up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SukHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had never been to either Trad or Koh Kood, so we call the hotel center in BKK. Kun "Noom" (or Nim?) was so friendly and ready to help us from BKK and along the way when we had any question. She was so nice and happy to help. We arrived to the island and staff was there to pick us. Everyone there was friendly. Infinity pool was great. Food was great but a bit expensive. Coffee and tea are free 24/7. If you want warm welcome, great service. I would suggest to stay here.
Neg : It would be nice if the hotel has signs "do not interrupt" or "clean the room" otherwise, housekeepers came to look into our glass sliding door every morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somkhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A very nice place, really a paradise place. The staff was great and very helpful. It is run by a Danish company, so everything is in very high standard. Also there is almost no beach and the small trip there is is a bit dirty.
Breakfast; buffet, with limit choises. Egg selection, bread, youkurt, juices. It was good but not great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geo_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Koh Kood Beach Resort in December for 4 days and found the place to be acceptable. The first thing that I should mention is that the hotel is located on a fantastic island that is not overly commercialized yet. See it while you can before they turn it into a circus like Koh Chang. Most hotels on the island are incredibly rustic and the beach resort is better than most of them. As another reviewer wrote, please be warned that this is not a luxury hotel, but something far more rustic. The location had a campground feel to it that I still cannot explain. Weigh your choices when deciding on this hotel:

Pros:
1. Laundry Service - they charge about $2 per kilo to wash clothes for guests. They actually did a fast, quality job with our clothes.
2. Bacon for breakfast - let's be real honest. I would have given this place 3 stars instead of 4, but they served bacon for breakfast. Mmmmm, bacon.
3. The beach - the hotel has a very nice small beach that is easy for the little ones to enter. The sea is quite calm there and there are some fish to see with the provided snorkels. On that note...
4. Free snorkels, kayaks, mountain bikes. Leave a deposit, borrow their equipment.
5. The pool - the hotel pool delighted my children for days.

The cons:
1. Attack of the ants! Our first night, our room was nearly over run with ants. They were on the walls, the bed and the floor. However, after we brushed them aside and sprayed some insect repellent at their point of entry (the ceiling), they never returned.
2. Stray dogs. Watch out for the stray dogs that roam the hotel grounds. At one point they surrounded me and started to growl, but I happened to get the attention of one of the staff members. He knew the dogs well and they backed off of me, but I was still very concerned that they would attack at another point.
3. Expensive massage. The hotel offers massage, but it was easily twice as much as anywhere else we saw on our vacation. However, I should note that we did not get the massage there and it might have been worth it.
4. Nescafe for breakfast. OK, so I am a little bit of a coffee snob, but I believe that if you are paying for a resort with breakfast included, then it should have a decent cup of coffee.

In the end, we would probably stay here again, but would plan ahead to avoid some of the pitfalls that we encountered on the first trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorkInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
4.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
3.3 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
2.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
456 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kood Beach Resort

Property: Koh Kood Beach Resort
Address: 121 Moo 1 | Koh Kood, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand (Formerly Koh Kood Beach Bungalows)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Kut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Kood Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a laidback luxurious feel, with a fine cuisine, lush tropical surroundings, and an infinity pool on an island off the beaten track? Then Ko Kood Beach Resort might well be your choice. Begin your day with a fresh fruit smoothie. Do some snorkeling from our small beach, or swim in our infinity pool, with outstanding views of the lush tropical surroundings. Play beach volley with our staff, or kayak until light gets dimmer and a few bats starts to circle the sky. Order a cold Singha beer, and capture the sunset from our restaurant, with magnificent ocean view, and a tasty Thai kitchen known for its delicious seafood. And then we haven't even mentioned our staff. Trust us. They will make you feel special, in their own relaxed way. Ko Kood Beach Resort is embracing the laid backness of Ko Kood Island. At Koh Kood life is slower and more quiet, and for long it has been one of the better kept secrets. Make Ko Kood Beach Resort your own little secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Kood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kood Beach Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing