We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, dirty island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, dirty island”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Environment
Koh kood is wild, green and free of mainstream tourism, which worth something in Thailand. Unfortunately, and thats really the big miss, island is very dirty. Garbage, plastic bottles and all kinds of thrown away things lay down in almost every corner of the island. Is it a low season problem or a new issue, I dont know, but what I've seen has shocked me. If you feel like you want to give it a try, well, here's what you need to know about KK Beach Resort: there's not much around the hotel so best plan is to rent a bike and discover the island. Hotel's garden is very nice. The tiny beach was so dirty we prefered to relax at the pool. Seeing what was laying down on the sand, it was absolutely out of question to get a sea bath. Pool is great but staff spends a big part of the day cutting the grass in the garden. Understandable, but not really relaxing.

Room
Balihouse style, minimum comfort but enough. Bed's a bit hard,  bathroom is fun, but not so much when it rains. And not so much when its actually the favorite playground of small ants. Inside, Hide your food in the fridge. But that undoubtly works for all hotels on the island. 

Food
Wonderful. Thai food is perfectly executed at affordable prices. Crabs or lobsters are available on demand and staff provides great cooking recommendations. Breakfast is satisfying, offering a few options like eggs w sausage , (great) pancakes, fresh fruits and bread. 

Service
Very nice and attentive. A real highlight! 

Final though
Comfort is not top notch but hey, thats Koh kood, not Koh Samui or Phuket. And at the end, thats part of the free massive tourism deal also. Also, after having traveled around the island, I figured out Koh Kood beach resort is one of the nicest and best taken care of hotel out here. Hands up to the management. So thats a go for the place. However, if you're expecting Koh Kood to look like an almost untouched virgin island, like its shown through online travel pictures, you might want to look for another destination. 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elkemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    77
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Do not go to this island/resort in the wet season (we went in July - bad idea! - check the forecasts) unless you enjoy being trapped indoors in a dark/tired Bali-inspired beach hut watching DVDs, cursing the incessant, pounding rain and overcast 'where is the sun' conditions.

Do not fall for the block booking all up front payment arrangement (still relatively expensive for what is on offer for this time of year) used to draw you in (it is non-refundable), the hotel reservation department could not/will not care less if...
a) you have to cut short your thailand trip due to unforeseen circumstances.
b) you want to salvage what is left of your precious remaining days and chase the sun/dry conditions elsewhere in Thailand (I.e. Koh Samui area).
There is no sense of empathy, just a cold-hearted, 'well it was stated as a non-refundable' booking response.' In short I lost 2-3 nights worth of funds and left.

We did visit the beach where the resort was located and we found general rubbish strewn across it, an 'absolut' vodka bottle entrenched on the sand.

All said and done foolish on my part to have been suckered in, but the real kick in the teeth was that the hotel reservation dept. was unwilling to come to any sort of compromise. I guess they have to play hard for their money in the so-called euphemism aka 'green season.' One positive - nice, friendly staff/and I suppose the hotel show their best colours post-monsoon season.

Reader beware - at this time of year research sunniest/driest conditions in Thailand if you value outdoor activity - koh kood does not fall in the above categories nor does it cater for indoor activity.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jl06agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went here with my two sons in May and have to say we were all blown away by this place. My sons are 27 and 22 and not easily impressed as they live in Thailand and have traveled extensively around a lot of the Islands but this is really somewhere very special. The view for the infinity pool is spectacular, the rooms are perfectly fine and the outdoor shower just adds something special to the whole experience. The lay out of the Bali houses is fab and clearly the owner isn't of the mindset to just build build build and cram the place with as many guests as possible which is a rarity in itself so as a result the place isn't bustling with queses at breakfast or other meal times. The food was without doubt amazing and so reasonable we sometimes thought we'd read the price wrong!! Staff were friendly, charming and so helpful, quite honestly there was nothing not to like about this place. The beach is beautiful, small yes, but big enough for the few residents the hotel caters for.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy this fabulous resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of the nicest places we've stayed at in the mid-range budget. The staff are so lovely. There is a nice pool with great views of the sea - my kids loved it. The beach is small but private and lovely. But yes, don't come expecting vast stretches of beach- it is more like a small cove/inlet with a small beach. It's all private though so lovely! Also great for snorkeling as there are lots of boulders in the bay that the fish like to hang out by. They provide free snorkels. We were only there for 3 days in the peak season and wanted to stay longer but they were fully booked. (book early!) The food was great - good mix of western food and thai food available. They also have ice creams you can buy (I ate a few more Magnums than usual!). Great views from the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was lovely - I think it was 8am to 10am, which was a tad late for my littles ones who tend to wake at 6.30am and want to eat at 7am! Overall it's just so relaxing and nice- as a mum of 2 little ones, I loved not cooking, cleaning or doing the washing! Great views everywhere and so so peaceful, we could have stayed twice as long!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms - I can't remember what they're called- the stand alone bungalows actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It's hard to review Koh Kood Beach Resort fairly. The pool was great, the setting was good - sunset is spectacular, and you can watch it from the pool, and the food was fine. The staff were friendly - if extremely laid back, bordering on lazy. No one is coming to collect used glasses or ask if you want another drink - you go to the bar to collect yourself, and if you want your food anywhere other than the restaurant be prepared to carry it yourself - - but they are friendly. However, on the 2nd night our room was invaded by mice, a mother and baby. It took us a while to work out where the noise was coming from and then we saw them - scrambling along the edge of the ceiling. This was about 2 am. We identified holes that had been patched over - it's obviously a long running problem. We also blocked up the holes the nice were using that night. We tried to scare them away, but the noise was incessant. We got no sleep. Next morning we told the guy on the desk, who shrugged. The manager was off island and would be back later. he or she did answer the phone when called but "had bad reception" and would be in touch... We were leaving so at his request left our email - we were promised a same day response. 3 days later and we are still waiting. It's not the mice I mind so much as the total lack of apology, and the fact that from the evidence of patched up holes in the bamboo they have failed to address a long running problem. The setting is great but the hotel clearly lacks strong management, which generally means there is no consistent guest experience.

Room Tip: Bali House 4 had mice. Avoid rooms with perfectly circular holes in the bamboo walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ells T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeritBonde, Manager at Koh Kood Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thanks you for taking your time reviewing our property.
We are happy that you liked our settings, the beautiful sunsets, friendly staff and the hours spent in the pool.

We owe this to the pristine natural island setting and tropical surroundings. An asset really, but also one that demands for constant maintenance and various precautions to keep the grounds and property convenient for our guests.

We put great emphasis on this and it is a great priority to us. If inconveniences come to our attention, we will take action immediately. We always welcome feedback so we can live up to our own standards and guests’ expectations.

We are sorry that we did not succeed in this during your stay. Not least, we are extremely sorry that we did not get back to you in a timely manner as promised. Internal rectifications on this were taken immediately after brought to our attention and we will do our utmost to make sure this does not happen again.

Upon your stay you are right that our managers were not on site. However, this does not and should not impact our guests’ stay. As this is not something we have heard before, we sincerely believe it was a coincidence. Nevertheless, we will put our attention to this to make sure it does not happen again regardless of management.

Overall, we are of course happy about your fine words on our resort and settings, while at the same time, truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope you had an onwards happy journey and wish you all the best.

Happy travels from all staff at Koh Kood Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London SW
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our family group of nine stayed for four nights in this beautiful hotel. The grounds are open and spacious, the white sand beach is small but completely private and is cleaned regularly. We occupied two whole thai houses (4 rooms) and found them ideal but couples travelling alone should probably choose a Bali bungalow if you want more privacy . The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. We loved the well planned en suite outdoor shower rooms. The rooms also have very efficient air con, fridges and TVs with dvd players. The pool is absolutely beautiful and sparkling clean. In addition to all this the staff are lovely. Bom and his team worked extremely hard to make sure we had a good time, eveyone smiled and greeted us while going about their tasks and several were happy to join us in a game of beach volleyball. The food in the hotel was very good, with a wide range of choices, thai and western. The buffet breakfast included excellent omlettes cooked to order.
We went out diving with the resident Paradise Divers and found them to be excellent, relaxed but without compromising safety. Sadly visibility was not great .
Having ridden a moped all over the island I am delighted to report that the Koh Kood Beach Resort is the most beautiful hotel we found and a great choice for a family or a romantic break

Room Tip: Choose Thai houses 1 and 2 or 5 and 6 . The others do not have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimble52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon. UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our third visit, which says it all. Five hours by road from Bangkok (or 1 hour with Bangkok Air to Trat) and then a 2 hour ferry trip is all worthwhile when you arrive at the totally unspoiled island of Koh Kood, just off the Thai / Cambodia mainland. Manager Dom has already arranged to pick you up at the ferry, good job, there are no buses,or taxis.
The resort is kept immaculate and the staff are so naturally friendly that they feel like friends for life. Accommodation is in Thai or Bali style bungalows that are clean and generous enough in size, bathroom is open to the stars but you soon get used to and enjoy it. Dining room is open sided overlooking the Bay, meals and snacks whilst not fine cuisine are as good as Mum cooks, with a a good choice of Thai and Western. It is located right on a lovely sandy beach and there is also a super infinity pool overlooking the sea. Free kayaks, beach balls etc.
The island is small and most people are happy with a one week stay although we just chilled for four weeks..

Room Tip: Keep a secret ?, treat yourself to the Sunset suite on the hilltop. Kitchen, superb lounge/dining, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.3 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
4.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
0.9 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kood Beach Resort

Property: Koh Kood Beach Resort
Address: 121 Moo 1 | Koh Kood, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand (Formerly Koh Kood Beach Bungalows)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Kut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Kood Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a laidback luxurious feel, with a fine cuisine, lush tropical surroundings, and an infinity pool on an island off the beaten track? Then Ko Kood Beach Resort might well be your choice. Begin your day with a fresh fruit smoothie. Do some snorkeling from our small beach, or swim in our infinity pool, with outstanding views of the lush tropical surroundings. Play beach volley with our staff, or kayak until light gets dimmer and a few bats starts to circle the sky. Order a cold Singha beer, and capture the sunset from our restaurant, with magnificent ocean view, and a tasty Thai kitchen known for its delicious seafood. And then we haven't even mentioned our staff. Trust us. They will make you feel special, in their own relaxed way. Ko Kood Beach Resort is embracing the laid backness of Ko Kood Island. At Koh Kood life is slower and more quiet, and for long it has been one of the better kept secrets. Make Ko Kood Beach Resort your own little secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Kood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kood Beach Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing