We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you need to get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusita Resort Kohkood
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband & I intended to stay 3 nights at Dusita, but at the end stayed only 1 night as the island was too quiet for our taste + having no hot water turned out to be a bigger issue for us than anticipated. Location of Dusita is very secluded, although there are 2 other resorts on the same beach. The bungalow we stayed at (number 8) was clean, with comfortable bed, fridge, airco and open-air bathroom. Everything was clean and in working condition. The best feature of Dusita afe the gardens which are beautiful and well-maintained. My husband loved the coffee room, where you can get coffee for free all morning (not sure if it was all day). The food was good (we only had breakfast) and reasonably priced, cooked to order. Personnel in general is not either particularly polite or caring, but that might also be due to their limited English language skills.
Dusita has several beaches surrounding it, but there are lost of rocks and coral in the water, so it is not the best beach for swimming, but a good one for snorkeling. The beaches are relatively clean. There are much better beaches on the island, which are a short drive by scooter.
One of the things that need to be mentioned is that if you decide to cut your stay shorter than planned, you will not be refunded anything, a big con for this place. At other places we got refunds without problem, but not here. Overall, a good place for total relaxation and getting away from it all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amsterdamgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

After researching various Thai islands I decided to try Koh Kood based on the review by ElephantDreamer.

I have also tried various Thai hotels in the 4000-7000 Baht price range and I wanted to see what you get for your money down the cheaper price range of under 1000 Baht.

After reading the reviews of Ko Kood, I imagined that that it was much more basic than it turned out to be.

I stayed at Dusita Resort in late December 2012 with my partner and with the fear that it would not have electricity all the time and maybe there would be problems with the water quality and I prepared myself appropriately.

Basically I travelled from Bangkok to Koh Chang by car and stayed at Baan Rim Nahm for the night. The next day we loaded up with water purification tablets, mosquito coils, bottles of Spy and Singha form the local 7-11 and we took the speedboat from Kai Bae Resort. The speedboat cost 900 Baht return each and so was a major expense as the return trip cost (3600 Baht), almost the same price as the four nights at Dusita Resort.

We arrived at Kai Bae resort in the early morning and bought the return tickets at the desk and waited for the departure time. In the meantime we took photos with the locals and had a look around.

The boat left around 9:00am and we set off travelling along the west coast of Koh Chang. The speedboat flew along and stopped first at Koh Maak to collect some more passengers. From there we headed to Ko Kood and stopped first at Shantaa Resort in a lovely little bay. Next stop was Dusita Resort and the total trip took about 90 minutes.

At Dusita Resort we had to fill in the guest book with our passport numbers etc before being shown to our room. We had chosen the double fan room and were shown to Hong har (room 5).

The room was fitted with a double bed in a room with fan (there was A/C but it was turned off), it had an outside western toilet with cold water shower. Plastic roofing was over the toilet area so if you had to go outside in the rain you will not get wet.

There was a book case with magazines and there was a small TV.

We only took back packs but if you take two big suitcases you would have a problem accommodating them because of the space constraints.

For 900 Baht per night you could not complain about this room. At night the sound of the waves would send you to sleep and the fan would keep you cool.
We never watched the TV. Often we sat outside on the verandah at dusk and drank a beer. We would use the mosquito coils to keep the mozzie's away. There were a few about at dusk.

Most days we sat by the water's edge and just chilled out. At the time we were there the tide was in during the day and out during the night. Every so often I would go for a swim to cool off.

Contrary to previous reports the room was cleaned every day, although some days we just swapped towels with the cleaning staff as there was nothing for them to clean. Also some beach cleaners appeared every second day picking up bits of rubbish on the beach, however I saw the owner lady raking the beach to the East of the jetty every day. This may have been in response to previous reports about the beach not being cleaned.

The breakfast arrangements at Dusita Resort are a little unusual and may cause some confusion. Before 10:30am they have free toast, jam and coffee that you make yourself. They don't have toasters they just have this hotplate affair that does the job but must use heaps of electric. They would be much better served by getting a 4 slice toaster. After about 11:00am the cooked menu is available.

I really enjoyed the Thai menu options available and one day we ordered some seafood, (crabs and fish). These they have to go and purchase at the market so ensure you order early in the day.


The Thai food was amazing and the seafood the sweetest we had ever tasted.

Next to us was a recently arrived French couple with their child, they were busy ordering a plate of sandwiches and some French cheese. If that is what you are after then you should go to Cannes or Paris not to Dusita Resort..

Out in the garage area the Dusita Resort had beer, red wine and snacks.The beer was in the fridge so that was okay, the red wine was in a rack at ambient temperature. Who knows how long that would be palatable, the snacks would probably last.

Bottom line is that if you don't mind a small room with fan, you enjoy Thai food and somewhere quiet to relax then Dusita Resort is going to suit you just fine.

If you don't mind spending a little more and getting air conditioning and a larger room then it will also be the place to go for many people.

I would surely go to this resort again and for once may partner was equally enthusiastic. To be honest I don't want you to go, I would like this place to remain a secret forever.

Room Tip: Room 5 is right in the centre and is okay for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markeewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Oh this is one of the most divine low key resorts you could hope for. So much thought has gone into these gorgeous little bungalows. The bathrooms clean and all handfinished with sea shell mosiacs embedded into the walls. Toilet and shower worked really well. Even hot water in the shower but why would you want it hot in the tropics? The bed was really wide king plus and the bedding fresh and all cotton. TV and fridge. You pay more for airconditioning but it wasn't required a fan was more than ample.
We loved the food here. The seafood was amazing. The prawns were sensational along with the garlic pepper fish.
Very reasonably priced food and accommodation. The place is run efficiently and in a guest friendly manner. The gardens are well manicured and you are right on the beach. Luckily Koh Kood is not easy to get to otherwise it would become like nearly all the other islands in Thailand -over run with tackarama!
Will definitely be back to stay at this gem. Highly recommended!
Didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 16. Very comfortable and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Calypte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful and laid back place to spend a few nights this is a good choice.

The bungalows offer pretty good value for money with both fan and aircon plus an outdoor en suite with delightfully eccentric decor featuring built in planted areas and walls with pebbles and shells built in. Ours had its own resident frog which we could hear but not see until we eventually spotted him in the loo! Only minus point was cold water only, but that sounds worse than it is.

The grounds are beautifully planted with shrubs and gigantic palm trees. Hammocks are strung between the trees and there are deck chairs too. Every few days a man with a trained monkey arrives and sends the monkey up the trees to harvest the ripe coconuts. There is a shop on site but nobody serves you, you just take what you want and show them at reception so they can add it to your bill. One guest described it as the world'd biggest mini bar!

The resort lies in a sheltered bay with crystal clear water of many shades of blue. It has its own wooden dock from which you can fish or watch the sunset. They also have a little motor boat for fishing trips which cost £20 per person for about 3 hours. We caught lots of small groupers and a few decent sized snappers, one of which the restaurant cooked for dinner.Some Germans staying there caught barracuda and big needle fish when trolling.The boat only has two seats, so we called it the Dusita Two Seater.

The beach can be tricky to walk on when the tide is out as there is a lot of dead coral which can be painful on tender feet. There are two solutions to this problem; one is to take wading sandals with you or buy some there, the other is to wade in near the dock where there are no stones. The swimming and snorkeling are very pleasant

Dusita has its own restaurant, but we found it somewhat lacking in atmosphere so usually chose to amble along the beach to the backpackers place next door called Ngam Kho Resort where they have a great restaurant and very friendly folk. The massage next door at Ngam Kho is 25% cheaper than Dusita, they have free wifi and they'll also hire kayaks, from which you can see all sorts of fish, sea slugs etc.

If you walk up the hill from the backpackers' place for 100 yards you come to Hindard Resort with great views from their restaurant over the bay. A few yards further on brings you to A Na-Lay Resort where you can get cash from your credit card in return for a 5% fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Fourth year staying at Dusita. Family-run resort with great food and clean and comfortable beach-front cottages. The cottages are small, but have a mini fridge and the option of fan or ac(for an additional fee). No hot water, but not needed.

Run by a family, this isn't the place to be waited on hand and foot, but the kitchen is open all day, breakfasts are made-to-order rather than a buffet, they'll cook any fish you catch on a fishing trip (if you want fresh crab, ask a day ahead and they'll get some from the nearby fishing village) and the grounds are lovingly cared for, and the wide expanse of lawn is ideal for sunbathing and there's plenty of shade. The family pets (a dalmatian, a german shepherd and some cats) are in residence, but keep to themselves. The beds are very comfortable and new this year, the beach is white sand with a very gradual slope, ideal for kids or sitting in the ocean with a beer. The dining area fronts the sea (many other resorts have dining areas away from the ocean) and there are several tables within feet of the beach. As there is not a large staff, sometimes meals are ordered at the kitchen window and then brought to your table. Very informal, but the food is varied and delicious and not dumbed-down for western tastes. There are some western options in case you tire of thai food. There's a small onsite shop where you can help yourself to beers, etc., and just bring them by the front desk to be added to your bill. Motorbikes can be arranged to tour the island. The photos on their website don't do the place justice. A wonderful place to relax and laze about. We brought some friends here this year who normally vacation at high-end Carribean resorts, and they loved it and now understand why we fly half way around the world each year to vacation here.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank travelerguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and it was excellent. We changed rooms to one of the newer ones which were really light and airy.

The shore is stoney and corally but very soon it is sandy with amazing snorkeling. The sea is so clear and clean.

The rooms are only cleaned every other day and given the heat I think it would better every day. And my only other feedback would be to have a few more deck chairs. However these are small details on what was an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuehelenBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Dusita Resort is a great place!
It has pretty much everything one would want to see in a high-end resort for a really decent price!

Bungalows are neat, clean, open-air bathroom is also clean and funky. The bungalows are all well situated in the amazing tropical garden, the beach is unspoilt and shared with only one small resort nearby. The food is also really nice and if you want a bit of change you can always go to other resorts, it is always easy to reach. I don't see any negative points and I have been meaning to write this review for a while. I feel like I should share this place with other people but at the same time I really don;t want to many people to go to Dusita and Koh Kood since it is such a great holiday spot. Please do go to Dusita because the owners deserve to have a great business running, but please do respect the island and the unspoilt side of Koh Kood.

To conclude, I'd just say that the family who runs this place is so really nice and friendly and the resort is so great that they came to us the last night of our stay and reminded us that we had to leave the next morning. We enjoyed our stay so much that we didn't realise that it was time to leave. If only we could have stayed a bit longer!!!

Room Tip: They're all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MatthieuReure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
1.3 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
3.2 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Siam Beach Resort
Siam Beach Resort
#14 of 14 in Ko Kut
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusita Resort Kohkood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusita Resort Kohkood

Address: 45 Moo 2 , Ngamkho Beach, Baan Ngamkho Village, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand (Formerly Koh Kood Dusita Resort)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusita Resort Kohkood 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dusita Resort Kohkood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kood Dusita Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing