We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bann Makok The Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 Ko Kut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Van arranged by Baan Makok picked us at 7am from our Bangkok hotel. Whole journey took about 5 hours with one toilet break. Along the way there are many rest stops with eateries, coffee counters, convenience stores, toilets etc. Koh Kood Express Ferry took 90 minutes (THB350 per person). It’s very comfortable as it’s air conditioned. The lady who checks your ticket on board would also ask which hotel you are staying in Koh Kood. This is to enable her to arrange shuttle car to the designated hotel. Our shuttle car droved about 15 minutes before reversing all the way along a dirt road till we saw a “Baan Makok” signage. Staff came out to help us bring our luggage along a pathway leading to the rooms. We were welcomed by Pangrum who has been answering all my enquiries in the last few months. We sank into the calm & tranquil environment instantly. Room 5, in our opinion is the best. We love to keep the room well ventilated by keeping the various windows and door to the outdoor patio open. Air-conditioning did not work for 2 evenings but no issue at all, it’s cool. Pangrum tried her best to get it fixed and I really appreciate her effort. We enjoyed watching fishes swimming in the canal from our room’s window and during low tide, active crabs in action. It’s so relaxing that we decide not to tour the island. We kayak to the nearby beach 3 times (twice for sunset) and once we kayak to another beach (after Captain Hook’s Resort). Staff never failed to assist us of the kayak whenever we return to Baan Makok. We moved to Room 6 for one night. On Valentine’s Day evening, Pangrum offered us two complimentary mocktails. The drink was incredible, sour but sweet at the same time (made with lime & strawberry). My partner and I enjoyed the daily breakfast very much. Lunch & dinner are alright (my favourite dishes are actually dessert: deep fried banana & pancake). Restaurant service at lunch & dinner was kind of slacked. Maybe it’s due to the informal atmosphere. Staff tends to hide behind the counter near the kitchen entrance or would sit on the ground near the staircase. Once, a signage fell with a loud thud but no staff picked it up until Pangrum walked over form the Reception Counter. Overall I would still highly recommend a stay here as it’s a unique property. Others may lament about the location but it’s perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    36
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
127
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

What a nice place to sleep and relax there is almost nothing to do so you just have to relax, the room was nice and we'll decorated. The only disappoint was the service of the staff il Almost have to bargain for something to drink il rather have a fridge and tap so il can write it done my self so I don't have to ask it every time. And renting a scooter is very costly the ask the full price for half a day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boer303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here two nights and the rooms were very nicely made and big! Air con between 19.00 and 6.00 ( but very much needed) there is not much wind so otherwise it is really to hot!
Internet (wifi) worked only one day and the food is average. To rend a scooter is quit expensive (400 batt a day- but this is I think the normal price in koh kood) but it almost felt apart ;) happily he made it during our stay:)
the staff is friendly but don't speak much English . Really nice is the possibility to watch a movie in the evening on a Beamer in the lovely "living room" the owner has a good feeling feeling for decorating and styling the rooms and everything around it:)
I really recommend to see more off the island by scooter! It is beautiful ! Not much traffic ,beautiful jungle , speechless beaches!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat-tootjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and not our last. Don't expect much action. Instead you will be greeted with a relaxed atmosphere, great staff, good food and superb rooms. Scooter recommended to explore the other marvels of this island.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Kayaking up the river to your own private beach, the short hike to the waterfall when no one else was around, the fireflies (beautiful), the great food, watching a movie in the lounge or playing jenga. I actually visited a little while back and have recommended this place to lots of friends and family already.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Yep, the reviews are right. Man, thailand keeps surprising me. I've lived here for 7 months and been to a number of resorts - each one topping the last. I can't imagine a higher pinnacle though, which is why I'll be back very very soon. The beach just near the hotel is almost always empty and is one of the nicest beaches in the world. The island itself is amazing enough, but the quiet location of Baan Makok enhances the experience. One evening we jumped in to the water to play with the phosphorescence with one of the staff. He saw that we were reticent to jump in to the pitch black water and so he jumped in first to "demonstrate". You could tell he kinda wanted to any way. Those are the kind of experiences you'll have with the staff. Simply amazing spot...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africantraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Bann Makok is a really charming getaway, far from the hustle and bustle of the majority
of other Thai destinations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the venue, with subtle charms wherever you look. Excellent staff, like a small friendly family, would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
1.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.3 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
5.5 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bann Makok The Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bann Makok The Getaway

Property: Bann Makok The Getaway
Address: 10 Mu 4, Koh Kut | Koh Kood, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply 8 room amidst the mangroove tree at Koh Kut, Thailand, for those who love beach, sea, waterfall and canal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bann Makok The Getaway Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing