We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning, relaxing & really just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bann Makok The Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 Ko Kut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i'm not sure we can say enough good things about our experience. and in fact, we are afraid to say too many good things in fear that it will become so overbooked that we can never return. our experience was magical. pang, who is the front desk manager, was amazing. the rooms look even cuter than online. happy hour was a great way to end the day. we ate one evening at the uber expensive soneva kiri resort and truth be told, the food at baan makok is as good. kayaking to the beach is such a great way to start the day - plus you can explore the entire bay, kayaking - or even walking during low tide - to other little beaches and even the soneva kiri beach. the place is mostly super quiet - which is the BEST part - tho while we stayed, there was a loud british couple who made a scene after returning from a drunken midnight kayak. it is important to remember here that you must be conscientious of your surroundings and the other patrons because sound travels and it really is that quiet and relaxing. from room 8 we could sit on either one of our two porches and see fish swimming in the mangrove estuary.

Room Tip: room 8 was great - two beds, tho we only used one. no ac, but we figured out after a hot night, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jetstorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is the perfect place to relax, a fantastic environment!
A mix of nature and lovely design, the service from the staff is also exellent.
We travelled with two children, 10 and 7 years old and were a little affraid that there were no pool but there were no problem because there was other activities that was exiting like kayaking, visit waterfall and relax!

You have to visit this lovely place if You go to Kooh Kood, if we have the oportunity we will go there again and we will also tell all our friends to go there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JohanK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I'd love to recommend BannMakok for anyone who's looking for a perfect place to getaway from city life to truely peaceful and natural one.
The resort is a stylish-8-rooms wooden house which is well decorated. Though it's located by the beautiful Yaikee canal not the beach, that's not a problem at all. You can go kayaking (free of charge) by yourself to the nearby beach. Yaikee beach is just 5-10 mins away or let a staff of the resort takes you there by its boat (also free of charge). Guess what, kayaking was the most fun part while we were staying there.
By the way, don't forget to ask a resort staff to take you to see shining fireflies and glow-in-the-dark planktons at night. That's such a memorable experience as well.
Hope to get back to BannMakok again soon !

Stayed: April 2557, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ple K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent 7 nights for our honeymoon! Bann Makok is a special place and deserves the great reviews it receives on Tripadvisor. If you want to come and relax, eat great fresh food, kayak to secluded beaches, paddle in under the stars to go see fireflies, take a morning walk to a waterfall or hire a scooter for a relaxing trip around the island then this is the place for you. Pang Rum and her staff are friendly and have found the prefect balance between attending to your needs and letting you feel like Bann Makok is your very own place. We are already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 8 and found it very nice and adequately private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had high expectations of Bann Makok from all the reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The walk into the hotel from the taxi drop off is a bit strange at low tide as you walk into bushes, along a wooden walkway with mud on either side and under a tree trunk - until you suddenly arrive in a beautiful open reception lounge open to the creek on the other side.

The decor is beautiful, mostly wooden and eclectic, beads, hammocks etc. It's open onto the water and trees everywhere you look. The service was great, the lady on reception was extremely helpful with all our questions. Food in the restaurant is excellent, except breakfast, which was ok, but please get something other than sliced white bread!

This is a place to relax. It is extremely quiet, with nothing much to do except read, eat, and grab a kayak to go to the beach (5 mins away and deserted). There is a bookshelf full of books and DVDS which you can watch on the projector in the evening. In the day we hired a bike from the staff and scooted about Ko Kut. If you need anything from the shop or want to go somewhere else for a meal then you have to do this as there is nothing nearby.

Thank you for a great stay. We didn't want to leave, and would definitely come back if we got the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 & Room 4. Room 8 is bigger, with a big porch. Two quite small double beds. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kir_kag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Been to over 18 countries this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff where excellent and very friendly. The rooms are really nice and it was peaceful. The food was great and really fresh.  I will definitely stay there again. ★★★★★

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Van arranged by Baan Makok picked us at 7am from our Bangkok hotel. Whole journey took about 5 hours with one toilet break. Along the way there are many rest stops with eateries, coffee counters, convenience stores, toilets etc. Koh Kood Express Ferry took 90 minutes (THB350 per person). It’s very comfortable as it’s air conditioned. The lady who checks your ticket on board would also ask which hotel you are staying in Koh Kood. This is to enable her to arrange shuttle car to the designated hotel. Our shuttle car droved about 15 minutes before reversing all the way along a dirt road till we saw a “Baan Makok” signage. Staff came out to help us bring our luggage along a pathway leading to the rooms. We were welcomed by Pangrum who has been answering all my enquiries in the last few months. We sank into the calm & tranquil environment instantly. Room 5, in our opinion is the best. We love to keep the room well ventilated by keeping the various windows and door to the outdoor patio open. Air-conditioning did not work for 2 evenings but no issue at all, it’s cool. Pangrum tried her best to get it fixed and I really appreciate her effort. We enjoyed watching fishes swimming in the canal from our room’s window and during low tide, active crabs in action. It’s so relaxing that we decide not to tour the island. We kayak to the nearby beach 3 times (twice for sunset) and once we kayak to another beach (after Captain Hook’s Resort). Staff never failed to assist us of the kayak whenever we return to Baan Makok. We moved to Room 6 for one night. On Valentine’s Day evening, Pangrum offered us two complimentary mocktails. The drink was incredible, sour but sweet at the same time (made with lime & strawberry). My partner and I enjoyed the daily breakfast very much. Lunch & dinner are alright (my favourite dishes are actually dessert: deep fried banana & pancake). Restaurant service at lunch & dinner was kind of slacked. Maybe it’s due to the informal atmosphere. Staff tends to hide behind the counter near the kitchen entrance or would sit on the ground near the staircase. Once, a signage fell with a loud thud but no staff picked it up until Pangrum walked over form the Reception Counter. Overall I would still highly recommend a stay here as it’s a unique property. Others may lament about the location but it’s perfect for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
1.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
221 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.9 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captain Hook Resort
Captain Hook Resort
#3 of 41 in Ko Kut
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bann Makok The Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bann Makok The Getaway

Address: 10 Mu 4, Koh Kut | Koh Kood, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Kut
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bann Makok The Getaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply 8 room amidst the mangroove tree at Koh Kut, Thailand, for those who love beach, sea, waterfall and canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bann Makok The Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bann Makok The Getaway Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing