We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what getaway looks and feels like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is what getaway looks and feels like”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights this past week. I booked the place hoping that all the good reviews here were right. Thankfully, they were.
From Trat we took the Princess Ferry at noon - this was a mistake - it just makes it more of a trek than it needs to be. Take the speed boat - it'll drop you right at the hotel.
Stephane was there when we arrived. We were greeted with a glass of cold juice (felt wonderful after the long ride there) and taken to our room right away.
I have to agree, having the A/C just makes for better sleep at night, so it's nice. I do think that ceiling fans would also work OK.
Bungalows have everything you need, really, and are cleaned daily. Which is very nice. We had an almost unobstructed view of the ocean from our balcony.
This was my husband's first time snorkeling (I had done it once years ago) and we both loved it. There is plenty to see under the surface at the beaches here (including very big sea urchins!). The hotel has snorkeling gear and kayaks you can use for free. If the bottom is too rocky for you, you can go to the shop just outside the reception area and buy water shoes (and snacks, toiletries, booze, medicine, you name it).
Breakfast is satisfying and for the most part standard Western. It's a nice break from the Thai food. The fruit is always fresh and sweet. Thailand might just have the best pineapples ever.
We ate almost every meal here (except for dinner the last night) and were very pleased. Portions are generous and the Thai food is still legit Thai (the only non Thai item we ever ordered were sandwiches). It might be a bit pricier than other options around, but our bellies and wallets were happy here. The curry dishes are probably the best on the menu.
There are only about 20 bungalows on the hotel so it's very private and quiet. It's never, ever noisy here which is great. This is truly a place where you come to rest. My husband said the massage he had was very good. I think it's a pretty good value too - an hour long massage for BHT300-400 or so.
Everything about this place is lovely. It's great for those who like unspoiled areas and just want to relax. We would gladly give Stephane and his crew all our business again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniesaturria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    69
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
39
117
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome by Stephane, the french owner made us feel at home...
The bungalow sea view was nice, with fridge, ac, outside bathroom with (VERY) hot shower.
The bed is huge, and made up every day, but a bed light for night reading is missing.
You can see that Stephane just got the resort and he's trying to improve the whole thing.
Not having the beach means no sandflies and a calm and peaceful feeling, nevertheless there're some platforms with sunbeds and access to the sea; definitely some mattress are needed, being the sunchairs very very unconfortable.
The massage lady definitely knows her job, and that's good!
We tried the restaurant only once: we didn't like it and it was definitely too expensive compared to other options around.

The included buffet breakfast is a real mystery... Eggs are cold, ants in the marmalade, the staff (too poor english speaking) looking at what you put in your plate instead of understanding what's missing and what to fix... Not a pleasent feeling!
Usually we never complain about that stuff, but for that money, you've to pretend a bit more attention, love and care in the service.

Potentially can become a great place to stay, but, despite a nice atmo and nice bungalows, is definitely too expensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank etn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane G, Propriétaire at Horizon Resort Koh Kood, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review, finally after only 7 months activities, there are many positive points.
Anyway i focus on the negative one : the staff. For information, we are in an island, it is very difficult to find people who accept to live simple far from family, town... all year so most of employers are Cambodgian people because of difficult condition in their country.
In result Cambodgian people even they are very nice, don't have any education from school, resort, we have to tell them everything, to teach them. For most of them, they have never been in contact with foreigners, they are very shy and even frightened. But i am anyway happy to work with them, to give them a better life than in their country.
In conclusion, this is my goal, teach them, educate them for a better service and find the good balance between them and you, my customers, in my place with his wonderfull surrounding.
A place for relax, forget stress and disconnect for while...
Thank you again for your review that help me to evolue
Best regards
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Well, this is our last breakfast at the Horizon before we head back to Bangkok. We had a wonderfull stay and would like to share our impresion of this resort.

Thailand is in general a great place to visit. But travelling the east side of the country is probably even better if you prefer having less tourists around you.

Ko Kot is a sweet island with lots of white sandy beaches, a few roads - which are in a real good condition which makes it a lot of fun to rent a motor bicycle - some small stores, a few bars and plenty of restaurants for every budget. - Our first choice was the little "restaurant" chiayo, 5 minutes by foot (to the North) from the Horizon... between 50 and 100 baht for a dish.

We are backpackers and usually prefer to stay in cheaper places... This time we gave ourselfes a treat and stayed in the Horizon.
I guess we usually don't need air conditioning, a privat shower and toilett and a mini bar in the room... but as I said we gave ourselfes a treat and it was well worth it!

The garden of the resort is large and everywhere there are coconuttrees and other exotic plants growing. The little paths to the bungalows go through the all and everything covering grass... That is especially nice because we have seen other places which had no grass but lots of mud once it rained...

Like most of the resorts this one is as well right by the beach and has areas to sit and hang.

The bungalow is just beautifull ! All made of dark wood... Large bed with fesh smelling bed sheets and a wonderfull view over the garden, the beach and the sunset. - Not all bungalows are right in front of the beach... We stayed in number 6 and had the great view.

At the end of the garden is a small store.

We did not dine at the restaurant but had a long breakfast in the morning... Actually I got up 7:00 and sat there till noon.. Time flies by if you sit by the water, have one coffee after the other and surf in the Internet... Sure... Why surf in the Internet when you are in paradies... It is kind of wrong... But that is what I do in the mornings.

There is no bar in the resort yet. But we bought some beers in the Restaurant and sat on our balcony... There are not many moskitos... but there are. We had a little burning candle thing that kept them away... Worked well for us...

To make long things short: We would like to recommend this place and the island. We had a good time.
It is the wrong place to meet a lot of new people and to Party. But that is not what we are looking for. It is perfect for couples and for people who can enjoy themselfes.
The nights are quiet and we never stayed up longer till eleven... But durong the day there is a lot to explore and to do.

Rent a motor bike and drive all over the islands... There are so many beaches..
We missed to check out the big trees in the middle of the jungle.. but Last night we were told that they look pretty nice...the buttressed roots are supose to be as High as a human..

So far So good...the Taxi arrived we got to gooo

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windrose1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival from the ferry the owner, Stephane, welcomed me and his staff took care of the luggage. Very well organized and a great way of saying welcome!
Because I arrived early the room wasn't ready. While waiting I was given a big place of fresh fruit, a very nice touch!
The resort is surrounded by beautiful trees, plants and has access to the ocean within 1 minute. I used the free kayak several times and it was great to explore several of the beautiful bays within the area.
Breakfast was good and I did try lunch and dinner which was good as well. Just speak slowly with the staff and they'll understand.
I rented a motorbike from the resort which was almost brand new and it was a great way to explore the island. Make sure to visit the italian restaurant located midway on the island.
He is a very friendly guy and everything is homemade.
It would be nice for the resort to have a bar and swimming pool but I understand that will be coming in the near future. If you are looking to get away, relax, surrounded by nature, this is the place to be.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Olaf v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Booked online and found that our request for near sea bungalow was accommodated. Thanks! Its a lovely place with some lovely staff, although I understand that its hard to find the right people and that nothing is ever perfect.
So, yes there is no beach that you can reach within 60sec from your bungalow, but within 120sec u will be on a beach, either left or right of Horizon. Breakfast is good, with some variety, but sadly no real coffee (suggested to get some Vietnamese coffee makers, and some ground coffee).

AC, hot water, fridge and other facilities are all well and working, and despite a little age of our bungalow, we were very happy with No 7. Stephane (owner) was away when we arrived but even his staff and specially Natty did a great job of making sure we were happy. Just cut them some slack and speak simple slowly... English is not their first language!

Rented a motor scooter from Horizon , which was almost new and well maintained. Great way of getting around, just drive carefully.

Free use of (new) kayaks and snorkels/fins was also very welcome, as was the hot drinks and kettle in the rooms.

Looking forward to the umbrellas on the beach platforms and some real coffee on our next stay.

Merci

Room Tip: Stayed at No 7, nicely pointing West
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane G, Propriétaire at Horizon Resort Koh Kood, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review, i am so happy to read that my team took care of you when i was not there.
Hope to see you again
Very best regards
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Horizons with our three year old. We wanted to see beyond the main tourist areas in Thailand and we weren't disappointed. This island is fairly untouched when you compare it with the other main islands in South East Asia. The beaches are very clean and you most likely will be the only one there. The beaches look exactly like the pictures you do see. The beaches are very safe for young families because it's still shallow 10 metres from the shoreline. The snorkelling out the front of Horizons off the jetty is easy to access and you will see lots of colourful fish and my husband even saw a black and yellow eel. Its mainly rocky so coral is more limited, however you don't need to pay to go on a snorkelling boat trip as you will see the same thing just out the front of Horizons. Our bungalow, number 19 looked over the amazing beach so you could lay in bed and watch the small waves roll in. Our bungalow had a pet gecko which came down to the outside light at night to our daughters delight. The bungalows are very clean and its great to sit on the balcony after spending the morning swimming. There are small coves and rocky outcrops that you can paddle a free kayak too. Every beach has a swing and free hammock. Stephane went out of his way to ensure we felt like the only guests there even though it was full. The little things he did made our trip one to remember - one example: our daughter was shown the new kittens at the hotel and she still talks about it. The other staff are delightful, shy but friendly once you start talking to them. At night it was very quiet so you had a restful sleep. If you want to explore beyond the hotel for meals then you can walk. Two little shops are also within walking distance. Just pack your touch. It felt more like a home at the end of our stay then a hotel.

Room Tip: Any room really but we loved number 19. The view over the beach was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

the resort is in a beautiful location in the open and in front of the sea, the beach is gorgeous. ideal for a relaxing holiday, very few people on the beach. Stephane is a great host, always friendly and willing to help, we in particular we have had a problem and was ready to help and accommodate us. the bungalow are large, panoramic, with comfortable beds and clean every day. great time in Koh Kood!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.3 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.2 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood
5.3 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort Koh Kood

Property: Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Address: 55 Moo 2, Koh Kood sub-district, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand (Formerly Hindard Resort Koh Kood)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Horizon Resort, enjoy wonderfull panoramic sea view.Quiet and peacefull, a good place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Resort Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing