We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful resort”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

good service, fair breakfast, beautiful villa and resort but still overprice when compare to other resort in the same level. pool villa is not private and neither big enough for 2-3 persons. if you gonna make the price like this, make bigger pool please. i understand that bathtub is outdoor and i like it but please clean it daily ! i liked it but i couldn't take a bath ! the resort beach is white and clean and you can run to swim directly...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kharavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your contribution and review of our Resort.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.

As you experienced our Villas are cleaned twice daily including the outdoor Bathtub. Due to the surrounding nature you might have experienced some leaves etc., even after cleaning. However we appreciate your comment and will ensure to share this with the department concerned to further improve this area.

Thank you again for staying with us and we would appreciate your patronage in the future again.

Kind regards,

Manuel Lang
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    87
    40
    27
    20
See reviews for
61
145
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I should start this review by stating that this was our first trip to Koh Kood. It is the kind of island where you go to relax and enjoy the nature and beaches. If you are looking for a place that is hopping with activity and real modern, this is not the place for you. By no means is it rustic and the resort was great, but it's not Phuket or Koh Samui or even Koh Chang.

So, this resort was recommended to us by a friend that went earlier in 2012. We knew the resort was not complete but wanted to try it out based on the recommendation. We were not disappointed. We stayed in one of the beach front villas (I believe there are 3) and the accomodation was more than I expected.

Because the resort is really new and not quite complete, things are not quite yet running like a "well oiled machine." Since we knew the resort was not complete, we expected a few bumps in the road so they were not frustrating to us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced. This is important because you are not just a short walk away from other places to eat. Getting out in the evening is typically not something you do. If you rent a motorbike, it needs to be returned by 6PM each day. When you arrive at the island and see the state of the roads (well, in some cases not even roads), you will understand why.

We had a special package rate for our villa and while it is certainly on the high side of accomodations on the island and across other island resorts, it was worth the money. We look forward to returning to this island and to returning to Cham's House.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick2011_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Construction
We were there at the very end of October 2012 and I can say that this hotel will be under construction for quite some time. However the noise while we were there was negligable, and the construction areas are all separate frm the completed areas. At the time we went, the spa, shared pool, and other restaurants were not open yet. So we had just one restaurant for all our meals, whcih was okay for a short trip. The front desk right now is a table in the only restaurant. So currently this is a very small hotel, which is very relaxing, but does not offer any variety.

Beach
The beach is small in front of the hotel, but great with amazing sand. There are some rocks which are perfect for snorkelling around, we had more fun snorkelling here than on our actual snorkelling trip. What they dont tell you on the website is that there is half a mile of perfect, untouched beach to the left of the hotel that is completley sandy. You cant find a better beach to hang out at, it was heaven. Tip: Snorkel around the pier & at the rocks on the far left/end of beach. Snorkel fins and ocean canoes are laid out to make use of at will.

Room
The rooms look exactly like the photos on the website and they are great. We had probably the best one, right on the beach front and with a fairly private pool. I agree with other posters here who say the architects got it wrong - some people's pool areas are very (wierdly) public, which defeats the purpose of a private pool. The room and bathroom were great, so was the private pool, which was bigger and deeper than expected (read: awesome!). My only gripe was that the bed is in the middle of the room and has a wicker headboard around it with electronics and stuff built in. The problem is that nothing is bolted to the floor, so attempting to sit up in bed pushed everything apart. The bathroom is huge and although it does not have aircon, it does have a huge bath tub open to the air.

MiniBar
The minibar has prices relfecting how far you are from any other choices :-) It was acceptable. However, we had persistent problems getting it refilled again, which I could not understand.

Internet
Might as well not exist. The coverage is only in the restaurant area and the connection is tenuous and slow. Best to relax and forget about the interwebs.

Restaurant
The chef does fusion very well. We enjoyed the thai dishes, which are very hot, and rely mostly on amazing shrimp and squid. The beef was also good. Chicken in various forms was really not good. Some classic thai dishes, like pad thai, were not good, which I found confusing. I would avoid the western side of the menu (in all of thailand) but this hotel seemed better than most at western food. The prices are expensive compared to the rest of thailand, but hardly prohibitive. Average dinner for two was running around 1800 THB with drinks. It does get boring eating at one restaurant, if I was there for more than a couple days, I would start wantng to try other resorts. Tip: the manager can organize a beach-side BBQ for your dinner.

Bar/Cocktails
The staff seemed to panic when we ordered a cocktail from their list, they are not trained on them. One time it took 30 mintes to get our drink made, and a couple times they were really heavy handed. With such a small group of guests, perhaps dedicated bar staff isnt posibble, but until it gets sorted out, I would avoid cocktails there.

Breakast - included
On the first morning this was off a menu, and the next it was a buffet, but I still saw people ordering eggs (which we were not offered). The buffet was not impressive, so I would have liked the menu back on the second day.

Service
I think the staff is just being trained up.. they are very nice and eager to please, but lots of strange things happened. It was a bit annoying not being able to call them from the room. The hotel was so quiet, sometimes the staff would just disappear for a bit. One night someone turned up at 7:30pm to clean our room, right after sunset. At table service, on turning down a juice refill, I had my half full glass removed immediately. The font desk person asked me if she could present my bill the night before we left, after dinner, which I thought was not at all suitable on a 2 night stay (and i dodged it). They obviously need training, but they were also very, very nice, speak english well and went above and beyond at times, doing things like bring us a glass of water at the beach without us asking.

Service Oddities
There was no garbage can in the bathroom, and no Telephone in the room whatsoever. We ran out of toilet paper and when we notified the front desk, they told us that it would be replaced in due course and to please enjoy the beach. I think that most hotels would act with proper urgency on this report. Later that day I reported the issue again. Magically a kleenex box appeared on the TP stand in the bathroom. My theory is that the entire hotel was out of toilet paper, which should really never happen.

Spa
They dont have one yet! You can organize a massage on the beach, which is not overly expensive (700 THB) but the quality was not awesome compared to the others we had in thailand, both at spas and on the beach.

Koh Kood
Is a relaxing island with immaculate beaches, crystel clear water, wonderful snorkelling, and very little else. It is a wonderful place to relax, but do not expect easy access to lots of restaurants, I dont believe this island even has a bank machine or a grocery store. The roads are rough and only a few are paved. This is a secret Thai getaway, highly reccomended for enjoying some downtime.

Travel Tip
Call the hotel and tell them how you are arriving. We went by speedboat from Koh Chang and ended up being dropped at a pier where no one picked us up, which was very stressful and required a long adventure to get to the hotel. If you arrive at the main terminal this shouldnt be an issue, they will put you on the list for the shuttle. We did see some people arrive via a pier almost at the beach, that is the way to go. No idea how to organize that.

Conclusion:
This is a 5 star hotel on a gorgeous, remote island and there is every reason to think that a short holiday here will be extremely relaxing and enjoyable, especially if you enjoy gorgeous beach and ocean and are looking to relax. It is expensive for thailand, but cheap from a western perspective. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Get as close to the beach as you can, with a pool that is as private as possible. Im not telling you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your extensive review.
We will ensure to share your positive feedback with our team and look for ways to improve the weak areas you addressed.

It is rewarding to read that you would love to visit Koh Kood and Cham's House again!

We look forward welcoming you again in the future.

Manuel Lang
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Dear Friend, if you are looking for isolate beach for your coming Holiday in Thailand, Koh Kood also the good choice if you love to stay in quite beach and away from entertainment, you may spend some night at Cham's House resort in beach bungalow or pool villa, both are very nice; however, all of room on main building, swimming pool, fitness or meeting room are under construction and look untidy from the main entrance, when i was there last May and there is one restaurant open for all day dinning, staff are friendly and varity of Thai dishes, BBQ seafood and European style, price is reasonable, but if like to go out, you may hire moterbike to explore the island or other side of the beach, the travel time from Bangkok by car is about 4 hrs, you can park your car at the parking lot at Leam sok pier and pay about THB 100 /night parking fees and buy ferry ticket there; nowaday, there are 2-3 speedboat company running btw Leam sok and Koh kood, travel time about 1 hrs, you also can take bangkok airways flight from Bangkok to Trat and take local taxi to Leam sok pier then join ferry to Koh Kood, or if you want to spend some night at Koh Chang and join ferry from Koh Chang to Koh Kood, the best time to travel is from Nov-Apr, normal rainy season is starting from May onwards, let go there and explore around this green island and whitesand beach :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAIDOOSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Khun Paidoosi,

We are glad to read about your relaxing experience on beautiful Koh Kood.
It is a pleasure to read that you recommend our Pool and Beach front Villas and that you experienced our Food as reasonably priced.

We would be very pleased seeing you again after October or towards the end of this year when our second Restaurant will open as well as some additional facilities.

Kind regards and we look forward welcoming you soon again.

Manuel Lang
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Only the staff was friendly with a mind of service. The resort is still under construction, the room is small and the beach is fully stoned can not swim.
The breakfast and dinner was horrible. Every villa is tightly, closely located with no privacy, Overpriced hotel cost compare with other hotels on this island. 100 percent not recommended. There are many more nice hotels better than this one with lower price.

Room Tip: No good room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kentbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud to read the comment about our Team Members and will ensure to share your positive feedback with them.

The diverse stretch of beach in front of Cham's House is not easy to find elsewhere on Koh Kood and has stretches of fine sandy areas to the left and some more dramatic parts to the right. We regret that you did not enjoy this part of the beach.

Your additional feedback on our culinary quality is well received and will be addressed and discussed with our team to further improve this area.

It would be a great pleasure welcoming you again in the future to show you that your comments have been useful for us to serve our guest even better.

Kind regards,

Manuel Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place _will_ be nice. Will. Since work is still in progress. We visited the hotel in Jan 2012 and they said, work will be completed in March 2012. 50% of the rooms and the grounds were completed by then, so I suppose you should expect a fully working resort in Dec 2012 or Jan 2013 ;-)
Rooms are very nice, but many details are missing. If you are planning to stay longer than 2-3 days this might be an issue.
The location is very secluded and you will be eating most of the time in their rather expensive restaurant.
But it will be the most luxurious resort in Koh Kood!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gisilamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive review and we are glad to read that you expect our resort to be the best on Koh Kood.
We are happy to inform you that the rooms which are finished are all complete including all the details which in January might not have been there.
In order to make an even longer stay with us more exiting we have a recreation team who can assist you with activities around the island and in our resort, if desired.
It would be our pleasure welcoming you back in the near future to show you the resort and its facilities again.
Kind regards,

Manuel Lang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Spent Songkran 2012 here. Very nice hotel and nice hospitality. New hotel, wasn't quite finished when we were there but great potential. Spectacular beach front and sunset view, and great beach front pool villa. Food price is reasonable. Excellent overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
4.4 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
2.4 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
373 reviews
6.5 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cham's House Koh Kood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cham's House Koh Kood Resort

Property: Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
Address: 5 Moo 5 | Klong Hin Beach, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cham's House Koh Kood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cham's House is a serene resort in Koh Kood. This 4.5 Star-resort owns a private white sandy beach. The resort is composed of a hotel wing, and private villas with or without private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cham's House Koh Kood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing