We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent stay”
Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Exellent stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed at Away Koh Kood at the end of August. Everything is just perfect, eventhough it was monsoon season. The location could not be better. You can go the jungle and a nice waterfall by a kayak. Opposite a resort is a nice long beautiful sandy beach. Food here is excellent. I enjoyed my time there very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Greetings from the team here at Away Koh Kood

We were delighted to read your review here on Trip advisor in regards to your stay with us here at Away Koh Kood back in August. It seems you have very much enjoyed the island and this resort very much for what they are, that being a green natural paradise to explore. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us; we very much enjoyed having you stay with us.

Sincere best wishes from us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    103
    38
    23
    22
See reviews for
72
120
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Accompanied by a Thai friend, I spent four delightful days at Away, well cared for by the solicitous staff despite being two of the only guests at the end of the low season. In preparing for our stay, we were a bit concerned about the comments of other reviewers regarding the price, quality, and variety of the food available at Away. However, we're pleased to say we shouldn't have worried as the food was excellent and the price more reasonable than we've paid at similar venues elsewhere. In the end, we ate every meal at the Escape Restaurant and found that if it wasn't on the menu all we had to do was ask for it. One especially memorable dish was the tempura shrimp, so delicious in fact we had to immediately order a second platter.

Although we experienced scattered showers throughout our stay, they in no way prevented us from enjoying the fantastic sea views, the amazing snorkeling (BB Divers adjacent to the hotel offer a variety of packages at reasonable prices), a most relaxing massage (Tammy at the hotel's spa is the BEST), and nature's bounty (got some amazing photos of huge butterflies and crested birds in the hotel's garden).

During our stay, we encountered several members of the hotel's Bangkok management team conducting a site improvement survey and they solicited our candid input and assured us that the type of issues mentioned here regarding the physical condition of the property would be remedied prior to the start of the high-season.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKKBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed two nights in there.

In general, service from staff was really good. However, the location of accomodation is far away from anything and restaurant is really expensive and not really tasty either compared what they charged. And ice bucket is not free, electricity and air conditioning is limited.

Otherwise it is good place like Tom Hanks - Castaway :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaRiAuS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked Away Koh Kood for 2 nights from the 11th - 13th August 2012.

The hotel itself is located around 30min from the ferry pier by hotel owned pickup opposite of Captain Hook & Peter Pan resort. It offers various types of accommodations, we had a deluxe ocean view bungalow which is on a small hill above the beach/ocean bungalows. In addition the hotel has one bigger restaurant and another bar at the other end roadside connected to the dive shop.

The room was spacious and very nicely decorated with an amazing view onto the ocean & beach, even from your bed as you could open the veranda to nearly 100% which extended your bedroom onto the balcony. Bathroom as well as bedroom were clean.

The restaurant food & service wise was OK, whereas the selection of food is not that big compared to the selection of Robin Hood resort. Prices are acceptable, for an island. The service was OK, whereas sometimes a little bit slow. Nevertheless very friendly and open to give you for instance advice on sightseeing trips.

The beach at Away Koh Kood was not that good as it is not really a beach where you can easily jump into the ocean. The sand itself is very nice and soft whereas big rocks are protecting it from erosion which does not allow guests to go easily into the ocean. Nevertheless the beach on the opposite side, in front of Robin Hood resort, is one of the best I saw in Thailand till now. Very fine and soft sand, very clean water. Reachable by getting a Kayak at Away Koh Kood and paddling for 5min across, hence very convenient. In addition the beach has a river on one side, the ocean on the other, which is nice to get off the salty water.
Another advantage of using a Kayak is the nearby waterfall which is reachable in 30min by Kayak river upwards and with a 15min walk through the jungle. The waterfall itself is quite impressive and has clear cold water to swim in.

Overall a very nice resort for a private weekend escape from Bangkok or a romantic vacation.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms have a very nice ocean view and balcony for the evenings. We had room 18 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-aom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Took the whole package of half board, 2 great meals a day + transportation + free waterfalls tour + Free sail for snorkeling.
Room was at the front, facing the beach.
The staff, service, food, trips, view, rooms, facilities, etc etc...was 1st class !! Excellent !!
Don't expect to meet dancing place or fire games.... It isn't the place for that.

RECOMMENDED !!

Remarks:
1. Rope curtains swept across the windows transparent in the evening. Immediate change is required on that.
2. No information about the quality of other rooms on the site.
3. There is also a swimming pool and a spa, wasn't checked.
4. Spectacular sight sailing and rowing in canoe self.
It is not recommended to go out to the open sea to snorkeling sites in the winter. Stormy sea and not close to the resort. Maybe good at the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thai Sell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

When we was looking for a place for holiday (as an alternative to Hua Hin, Cha Am, Pattaya and the southen islands), our friend recommend this place for us. We spent 3 nights here and we got what we were looking for. Despite of heavy rains (since we went during the monsoon season), everything is very nice. The weather is cool (although air-con and hot shower are not working during the day), and the place is right next to a private beach (you can go sunbathe but definitely not swimming because of the rocks) and not far from the Klongchao waterfall. For me it is just the perfect place where i can linger with my favorite book all day and can go kayaking a bit for a little exercise. Totally a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Loved our stay here, the beachfront rooms were so comfortable and had a lovely view of the ocean, but did not like that the AC or any electronics did NOT work between the hours of 8am and 6pm, so if you are the type to enjoy cool Air con for a nice morning to sleep in late, or come back all sweaty from a day out, this is not for you. The food was delicious, and staff very friendly and accommodating. Got a lot of lovely pictures. The wildlife was very cool to watch and the tropical setting was unforgettable, but bring your ant/mosquito spray. The green curry is the best I've ever eaten, and I live in Thailand, so that's saying a lot! :) Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynIsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
2.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peter Pan Resort
Peter Pan Resort
#9 of 14 in Ko Kut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing