We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull landscape and friendly staff”
Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull landscape and friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Good, beautiful landscape and friendly staff
It was an interesting staying.
It was a great experience for the landscape and the beach, but the room was not as we can see on the website.
The staff is very friendly, but they don't speak enough english.
The beach was really beautiful, and its free to take a canoe!
Great place if you want to be relax and take sun

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibiHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Greetings from Away Koh Kood.

Delighted to see you took time to write about your recent stay with us here. Noted with interest your mention of the pictures of the room not truly representing what you experienced. It is often so hard to get pictures that give a true reflection of our rooms, as I know many hotels experience. Sometimes such things just cannot be accurately represented. However, we have just released our new website and hope that the pictures we add there soon will be better.

As ever you have noted on the attentive & friendly staff, who’s lack of perfect English skills are often made up for with this most friendly of natures. They always try to do the very best they can to make the guest realize that they are genuinely interested in attending to all requests.

You have enjoyed to major aspects of any stay at Away Koh Kood, our beautiful beachfront and Kayaking/Canoeing, one of many free activities at our island retreat.

We do hope to see you again here one day in the future.

Warm regards from the Away Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    105
    40
    23
    22
See reviews for
73
125
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lovely place, nice & cosy bungalows, little pool, good food, good massages, friendly staff!
Though price is too high for what they offer.
Minus: no airco + hot water during day time. Staff speaks English poorly, so sometimes you get the wrong food. But since they are very friendly you forgive them immediately ;-)

I would go here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLSAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Greetings from Away Koh Kood.

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us, which you seem to have enjoyed greatly, so much so that you say you would go here again!

In regards to the minus note you make, it is one of the challenges of running a resort on such an undeveloped, and unspoilt island that we have no proper mains electricity supply, and thus what little supply we have means we have to limit usage during that daytime hours, as all resorts do here. In many ways this is actually a positive as it is helping to preserve the natural habitat of the island by not abusing resources. It is the intention of us all here to keep Koh Kood Green!

In regards to staff and their English skills, this indeed is slowly being improved with more English training from our head office. It is also our intention to create some simple point-picture boards to enable staff and guests to communicate much better in regards to food orders to ensure that you do indeed always get what you order. Not exactly 21st century, but most definitely in keeping with the natural island theme that is Away Koh Kood.

Hoping one day will bring you to us again….

Warm regards…the Away Koh Kood Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our Honeymoon was spent in the most beautiful place on the planet. We had much fun and a relaxing experience filled with many memories with new found friends from the Away Resort.

Food aroe mak mak delious. New Years Eve Party very relaxing and much fun with friendly staff and people from all over the world. Staff very Friendly and helpful. They all made sure we and everyone else at party relaxing and participating in activities. Activity Director provided many fun activities for young and old and participation by every one. Chef number one food fresh and increidable flavors.

Resort Director/manager was every helpful and again made sure everyone in resort was getting what they needed. He particapted in most activities and made sure staff was accomadating to all the guests needs thoughouit day and during the activities.

Most enjoyable experience of my lifetime todate. A very special and memerable New Years and vacation experience. Looking forward to returning again in December 2013. A once in a lifetime unique experience tour waterfall, swimming in sea, schorkling, every thing provided for by the resort staff.

Frank

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have see a lot of my country, but never this island Koh Kood, it is amazing, so green, so empty of mess, cars and people. The away resort also is beautiful. The people that served us also, so smiley, just like the island makes you, smiley.

We stayed in one of the new Duplex bungalows on the hillside. They are very big for just two people that we were. Brand new. Great views and very soft nice bed for sleep in.

The food was very nice Thai style....my boyfriend said also the food he had not Thai was nice also. The sea is like bath water, so clear and warm. They took us to see some of the island in the pick up they made into like a taxi and we went to see fishing village, temple, beaches and towns ... very old fashioned and cute.

I want to go back here so much, i think of it everyday from when we get back to Bangkok. It was a really lovely relaxed place where i really felt better and after really felt like i had a real holiday......thank you to Olivier and his staff, so very nice to meet you all.

Room Tip: Duplex on top of hillside is brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongduen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was there with my girlfriend since it was our anniversary. We were very pleased with the food, especially the dishes that has cashew nuts in it. They have the best chicken with cashew nuts that I've ever eaten. The staff there were friendly, with a service mind. I also enjoyed many activites that away has prepared for us, and we look forward to go back there again.
One thing that could have been better was the cleaniness of the toilet. However, it is understandable as it is on a remote island.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ouchai1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This resort perfectly suites me as a musician. Beautiful nature, "get away" relaxing atmosphere.

The staff here are very friendly and the service is superbly great! The food are deliciously cooked, especially the Thai food.

Overall, another great resort I would recommend for a quiet get away relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosakorn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed at Away Koh Kood at the end of August. Everything is just perfect, eventhough it was monsoon season. The location could not be better. You can go the jungle and a nice waterfall by a kayak. Opposite a resort is a nice long beautiful sandy beach. Food here is excellent. I enjoyed my time there very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Greetings from the team here at Away Koh Kood

We were delighted to read your review here on Trip advisor in regards to your stay with us here at Away Koh Kood back in August. It seems you have very much enjoyed the island and this resort very much for what they are, that being a green natural paradise to explore. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us; we very much enjoyed having you stay with us.

Sincere best wishes from us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
2.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
373 reviews
4.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing