We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and in need of some TLC.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
South Pole
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overpriced and in need of some TLC.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Firstly, if you book on their website they expect $280-$500 a night, we booked last minute and negotiated it down a bit, in any case, it is vastly overpriced.

What you get is a very basic bungalow, with air-con (only from 6pm-8am), hot water (supposedly only from 6pm-8am, we only managed to get hot water once), TV (14 Thai channels, 1 English channel, in spite of the fact that none of the other customers were Thai), no fridge, a very basic 'wardrobe' made of cloth and no telephone. All of these things would totally be understandable had this place cost $50-60 a night but I wonder how they can justify charging $300 a night.

When we arrived the staff just watched us carry our luggage in the rain from their pier without coming to help. Not $300 a night service.

The Ocean View bungalows are very small, with around 50cm between the bed and wall on one side and 1m on the other side and very low ceilings. Everything is tatty and worn out, the bed linen and towels are all stained. mosquito net has holes in. The rooms smell very, very musty and mouldy. Again, this wouldn't be a problem at a much cheaper resort, I'm used to staying in these kind of bungalows in Thailand, but would pay $40 or so and sometimes even get a bit more.


The fact that the air-con and hot water are only on from 6pm-8am is not mentioned on the website, at $300 a night I would and did make the assumption that these would be available 24 hours a day. It's not the end of the world as we were rarely in the room at these times but on principal it should be mentioned and is misleading.

The website states "Wi-Fi Internet Available Throughout the Resort" which is not true. In our experiences, It was available only in one part of the restaurant, as soon as you step out of the covered area of the restaurant the signal deteriorates rapidly even at the reception there is only a weak signal. As soon as you get to the area where the accommodation is, there is no signal whatsoever. This was tested on a laptop, iPhone 5 and iPhone 4S. Again, not the end of the world, but the claim that Wifi is available throughout the resort on the website is misleading and at $300 a night, I would expect better. For the internet, I bought a Thai 3.5G sim card from True Moves H and shared the connection to my laptop, for the technically minded: it was very fast at about 6Mb/s with a 35ms ping to Bangkok with good coverage over the Island. It was almost as good as my internet at home for work, emails and browsing, even YouTube videos can be streamed.

Some of the areas of the resort look good but some parts of the resort are a bit of a building site, there are lots of random palets of bricks, buckets tied to trees, tires and so on scattered over the resort.

The other customers of the resort tend to be nice, decent, amiable people.

Our safe didn't work and the back door didn't lock properly. Ko Kood is a very safe island so these things aren't huge issues but at this price I would expect better maintenance.

The fact that there is no phone means you have to walk around 200m round-trip to the reception even for the smallest of issues, and in a hotel with so many issues, this gets boring quite quickly.

The breakfast selection is woefully inadequate for a hotel of this price, 2 types of fruit, sausages, bacon, wafles, corn flakes, chocolate flakes, roast potatoes, 2 types of juice, bread, decent coffee and a good selection of tea. I really think that no cheese, no healthy cereals, no pastries, such a limited selection of fruit would be perfectly acceptable at $60 a night but at $300 I would expect much more. The island is fairly remote but I've been to more remote places, paid less and got a far better breakfast. We're both vegetarians so our breakfast was limited to potatoes and bread which was fine but on the last two nights the potatoes were substituted for pork for Chinese new year. On those days we just had bread, watermelon and coffee for our $300 a night breakfast.

The restaurant is expensive, a Masaman curry is 280THB ($10). If you want something local, I'd recommend going to View Point Cafe, around 50m down the road. The Australian owner is very friendly and the prices are reasonable.

The hotel often doesn't have things in stock, they never had ice cream the whole time we were there meaning most of the deserts were redundant or cut down as they featured ice cream. Not really a problem as there is lots of ice cream available elsewhere but could be indicative of logistical ineptitude; not managing to procure ice cream on an island where ice cream is stocked in every shop that sells food.


When we rented a scooter at a very pricey 400THB a night, we were told there were they had no helmets, which is illegal and dangerous, The roads are very hilly and bendy in Ko Kood, please wear a helmet at all times. We wanted helmets so went to the restaurant around 400m south, just around the corner from "Nine Shop" just before the bridge and rented one for 300THB a night, we'd highly recommend it.

The location is very good, it overlooks one of the best beaches on the Island, it isn't directly accessible, but you can access it by using their free kayaks and paddling over a very small 5m river which was fun.

They have their own artificial beach which isn't bad at all it has a swing which is really nice to swing over the sea on at high-tide.

The pool on the other hand is not very nice, the photos on the website flatter it, it is tiny, around 4m x 3m and doesn't look appealing at all. It is always empty.

To sum up:

Good

• Good location
* Impressive selection of tea
* Good clientele
* Kayaks

Bad

• Everything expensive; rooms. scooter rental, restaurant, drinks etc.
* Poor breakfast
* Photos on website don't accurately represent the resort
* No helmets for scooters
* Small rooms
* Rooms badly made, large gaps under doors letting in insects.
* Many food items out of stock
* All bed linen and towels stained
* Room poorly equipped (no fridge, no dressing-gowns)
* Air-con and Hot Water only 6pm-9am
* Rarely any hot water even when it is supposedly on
* Internet slow and doesn't work in rooms.
* TV 95% Thai
* Poor maintenance (in-room safe not working, back door doesn't lock, rust, mould etc).

To labour the point: most of these issues would be an irrelevance at a cheaper resort but at this price-point, these issues are unforgivable. $300 a night (the rack rate is up to $580) would be a lot of money for a room anywhere in the world. I expect more than a shoddy shed where 75% of the features in the room don't function.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank h3h3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    103
    37
    22
    22
See reviews for
69
118
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Good, beautiful landscape and friendly staff
It was an interesting staying.
It was a great experience for the landscape and the beach, but the room was not as we can see on the website.
The staff is very friendly, but they don't speak enough english.
The beach was really beautiful, and its free to take a canoe!
Great place if you want to be relax and take sun

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibiHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Greetings from Away Koh Kood.

Delighted to see you took time to write about your recent stay with us here. Noted with interest your mention of the pictures of the room not truly representing what you experienced. It is often so hard to get pictures that give a true reflection of our rooms, as I know many hotels experience. Sometimes such things just cannot be accurately represented. However, we have just released our new website and hope that the pictures we add there soon will be better.

As ever you have noted on the attentive & friendly staff, who’s lack of perfect English skills are often made up for with this most friendly of natures. They always try to do the very best they can to make the guest realize that they are genuinely interested in attending to all requests.

You have enjoyed to major aspects of any stay at Away Koh Kood, our beautiful beachfront and Kayaking/Canoeing, one of many free activities at our island retreat.

We do hope to see you again here one day in the future.

Warm regards from the Away Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lovely place, nice & cosy bungalows, little pool, good food, good massages, friendly staff!
Though price is too high for what they offer.
Minus: no airco + hot water during day time. Staff speaks English poorly, so sometimes you get the wrong food. But since they are very friendly you forgive them immediately ;-)

I would go here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLSAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, General Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Greetings from Away Koh Kood.

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us, which you seem to have enjoyed greatly, so much so that you say you would go here again!

In regards to the minus note you make, it is one of the challenges of running a resort on such an undeveloped, and unspoilt island that we have no proper mains electricity supply, and thus what little supply we have means we have to limit usage during that daytime hours, as all resorts do here. In many ways this is actually a positive as it is helping to preserve the natural habitat of the island by not abusing resources. It is the intention of us all here to keep Koh Kood Green!

In regards to staff and their English skills, this indeed is slowly being improved with more English training from our head office. It is also our intention to create some simple point-picture boards to enable staff and guests to communicate much better in regards to food orders to ensure that you do indeed always get what you order. Not exactly 21st century, but most definitely in keeping with the natural island theme that is Away Koh Kood.

Hoping one day will bring you to us again….

Warm regards…the Away Koh Kood Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our Honeymoon was spent in the most beautiful place on the planet. We had much fun and a relaxing experience filled with many memories with new found friends from the Away Resort.

Food aroe mak mak delious. New Years Eve Party very relaxing and much fun with friendly staff and people from all over the world. Staff very Friendly and helpful. They all made sure we and everyone else at party relaxing and participating in activities. Activity Director provided many fun activities for young and old and participation by every one. Chef number one food fresh and increidable flavors.

Resort Director/manager was every helpful and again made sure everyone in resort was getting what they needed. He particapted in most activities and made sure staff was accomadating to all the guests needs thoughouit day and during the activities.

Most enjoyable experience of my lifetime todate. A very special and memerable New Years and vacation experience. Looking forward to returning again in December 2013. A once in a lifetime unique experience tour waterfall, swimming in sea, schorkling, every thing provided for by the resort staff.

Frank

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have see a lot of my country, but never this island Koh Kood, it is amazing, so green, so empty of mess, cars and people. The away resort also is beautiful. The people that served us also, so smiley, just like the island makes you, smiley.

We stayed in one of the new Duplex bungalows on the hillside. They are very big for just two people that we were. Brand new. Great views and very soft nice bed for sleep in.

The food was very nice Thai style....my boyfriend said also the food he had not Thai was nice also. The sea is like bath water, so clear and warm. They took us to see some of the island in the pick up they made into like a taxi and we went to see fishing village, temple, beaches and towns ... very old fashioned and cute.

I want to go back here so much, i think of it everyday from when we get back to Bangkok. It was a really lovely relaxed place where i really felt better and after really felt like i had a real holiday......thank you to Olivier and his staff, so very nice to meet you all.

Room Tip: Duplex on top of hillside is brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongduen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was there with my girlfriend since it was our anniversary. We were very pleased with the food, especially the dishes that has cashew nuts in it. They have the best chicken with cashew nuts that I've ever eaten. The staff there were friendly, with a service mind. I also enjoyed many activites that away has prepared for us, and we look forward to go back there again.
One thing that could have been better was the cleaniness of the toilet. However, it is understandable as it is on a remote island.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ouchai1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

This resort perfectly suites me as a musician. Beautiful nature, "get away" relaxing atmosphere.

The staff here are very friendly and the service is superbly great! The food are deliciously cooked, especially the Thai food.

Overall, another great resort I would recommend for a quiet get away relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosakorn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
2.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peter Pan Resort
Peter Pan Resort
#9 of 14 in Ko Kut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.2 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing