We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went here just for lunch...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went here just for lunch...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We tried this place for lunch one day to check out the property and the food standards. The location is excellent and very picturesque. We're sure the rooms would be as nice. The restaurant is just alright though. The menu is very limited and the food leaves a lot to be desired. I'd suggest that people staying here try pizza & pasta or Shantaa near the Pier for a meal, if you run out of options here. Got some great shots of people kayaking at sunset though. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    99
    35
    22
    22
See reviews for
66
113
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent for 4 nights there. On arrival I was "upgraded" to the beachfront room. Of course, having a great view of the ocean is nice, but you must know, that these rooms are the oldest in this property. While official list prices for beachfront are just ridiculous expensive (443 USD, "special rate" 203 USD!!!) the structure, especially restrooms and showers, is old, used and dirty. The outdoor shower was mould-infested!!! Mould smells in the room, restroom. The pictures on their official homepage must either been taken years ago or photoshopped.
There was wifi only in the lobby/restaurant area.
Maybe one doesn't complain if upgraded to beachfront?
I my opinion these rooms should go for less than 50 USD or the owner should invest few million Bath in the structure. That's it - that easy.
And BTW: I paid 90 EUR (120 USD) through otel.com

Room Tip: The cheaper, but newer rooms are on top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gisilamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I went to Away resort in late August, low season, and fittingly there was a storm as we arrived. This made for a beautiful view of the bay though, which we enjoyed from our balcony and resting up around the resort. The following couple of days were sunny and clear, so we got the best of both.

The room we stayed in was spacious and pleasant, with a homely rustic feel as a result of the wood and light decoration. The outdoor shower was a nice touch from which you could even get a view of the bay. The food was great, catering to both Thai and Western tastes – thumbs up to the chef there.

Having been to other islands around Thailand, I was pleasantly surprised by Ko Kood, being so large and relatively untouched. A real high point of our trip was kayaking from the resort with the staff there to a beautiful waterfall further inland. Both the kayaking trip through the mangroves and the swimming in the pool around the falls were fantastic. Coming from the city it was a joy just to take a walk from the resort down the road to where there were a few shops and some of the local villagers who enjoy the island's beauty on a daily basis.

We stayed for 2 nights due to our schedule but would stay for longer next time. For truly winding down and getting away from the ratrace, I'd definitely suggest at least 3-4.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

It took over 6 hours driving from BKK and 1.5 hours shipping...finally, I could get there!!
I stayed 3 nights with my friends.. I was expected there is amazing place...However I was disappointed about their bad hospitality..Their attitude was too bad. No smile, No helpfulness.

For example, We joined a tour for snorkeling but unfortunately, the ocean wasn't clear then we couldn't see a lot of fish we expected. after the tour, I asked receptionist about the reason why get there!!
I stayed 3 nights with my friends.. I was expected there would be amazing place. However, I was disappointed about their bad hospitality..Their attitude was too bad. No smiling, No helpfulness.

For example, We joined a tour for snorkeling but unfortunately, the ocean wasn't clean then we couldn't see a lot of fish we expected. after the tour, I asked receptionist about the reason why we couldn't see fish a lot because I wasn't satisfied. She answered to see such beautiful fish is to join an another tour which goes more farther place. I didn't understand at all. They'd never told us the other snorkeling tours when we'd asked them about snorkeling tour... I was really expected to enjoy snorkeling as I went there to do it.

Anyway this was just one example of their bad services.
Even if I have an opportunity to go the island again, I would never stay this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A friend and I booked a two night deal (two nights for half price) as a last minute weekend getaway from Bangkok for a long weekend.

We were driving from Bangkok via Pattaya and due to mistiming, unfortunately we missed the ferry - of which there is only one per day in the green (wet) season - so strong advice to future travelers is don't miss the ferry! At least they did try and wait for us for a short time, but too many wrong turns and a dodgy GPS didn't help!

(We ended up going to Koh Chang for a night instead and then came back for the ferry to Koh Kood the next day - much more advisable than staying in Trat if you miss the ferry)

We eventually checked in at Koh Kood on Sunday. I had requested twin bedding, however all the twin bed rooms had been booked - annoyingly they didn't tell us this when we booked and we only discovered it when we were escorted to the room.

We had booked an oceanfront bungalow and the room itself was quite spacious and very clean, with somewhat "rustic" decor. It is a beach resort, after all, and keep in mind it isn't luxury/modern resort. The bathroom could do with a bit more bench space, but the outdoor shower is pretty fun. The bed was comfortable and the aircon was effective.

The "beach" at Away is set on a rocky outcrop which you have to climb over to get to the actual beach, which isn't terribly pleasant and not nice on your feet! The outdoor lounge chairs and beach bungalows are great for curling up with a book and magazine. There are also kayaks you can use complimentary to paddle down the river or over to the beach, which was nice.

The restaurant was average prices for island restaurants and the food was standard. The cocktails were good, and cheaper than you'd pay in western countries but still on the higher side for Thailand (or maybe I'm used to cheap in Bangkok!).

Beware there are mosquitoes at the resort! I could have sworn I read something about there being none, however I definitely got bitten! Make sure you pack repellent.

I would like to visit Koh Kood again, but might look at staying at another resort that has a better beach location. After all, that's what most people travel to the islands for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was in this hotel for two night and is terrible, the staff of the hotel are poorly educated and the location of the hotel make impossible the comunication between the other islands in the low season.
Not recomendable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed one night at Away. It's a nice place with great rooms, although they are probably a little over priced, compared to what else is available on the island. The staff are friendly and helpful, and food was pretty good, although not amazing. Great fun having the kayaks there - and necessary as otherwise there is no beach. Unfortunately there are a lot of sandflies on the Peter Pan beach, and their bites are an unpleasant souvenir. The one downside to the resort is the pool which is both small and grubby. Overall, Away is a nice place to stay for a night or two but it is not a destination in itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ells T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
2.5 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
2.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peter Pan Resort
Peter Pan Resort
#9 of 14 in Ko Kut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Prestigia so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing