We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cocktails!”
Review of Away Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Away Koh Kood
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went several times to this resorts bar called the Castaway Pub, it's located across the street from the resort. The cocktails here were excellent!! In Thailand the majority of times you order a cocktail you get an overly sweet drink that tastes like it has no alcohol, but at the Castaway Pub all the drinks we ordered were done perfectly and only cost 150 baht. The bartenders name is Lee and he said he studied under a Dutch bartender on Koh Chang. You might want to ask the bartenders name before you order to make sure it's still the same guy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    105
    40
    23
    22
See reviews for
73
125
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were really looking forward to staying at Away, but instead of leaving after 4 days feeling relaxed and re-charged, we left after just one night feeling, to put it bluntly, robbed.

All was not was it seemed upon arrival, when we were shown to our room, which looked pretty different to the images on the website. The interior was pretty shabby, the bathroom was dark and dingy, the lock on our front door was broken and we couldn't sit on our balcony because it was swarming with red ants. The 'pool' looked pretty uninviting - dirty and no loungers around it. (For a resort that doesn't have a beach itself, you would think it would have a half decent pool). There is a beach on the nearby Peter Pan resort, which you can kayak over to. More of this later.

Despite a disappointing start, we were grateful for the fact that we were in a truly beautiful location, so decided to head down to the restaurant and get some lunch. We ordered satay chicken which arrived uncooked so we sent it back, but then they sent it back to us the second time again uncooked.

Again, trying to be positive we decided to go for a walk. We asked at reception how long it would take to get to the nearest shops as we needed to buy some supplies. It turned out that it would be quite a trek so we asked if they could call us a taxi. The lady on reception couldn't have been more unhelpful and our taxi arrived an hour and a half later.

So next, the beach. We took a kayak over to Peter Pan as advised by the hotel staff. Peter Pan has a great beach but the loungers can only be used by Peter Pan residents. Fair enough, but maybe Away should strike up a deal with Peter Pan to allow both residents to use the loungers?

Later that evening, we thought it best to eat somewhere else than the hotel restaurant but we couldn't get a reservation elsewhere so reluctantly took at table at Away. Big mistake. My boyfriend was awake the best part of that night being sick, at which point we decided that we'd be leaving first thing.

We checked out and explained to the resort team why we were going. Unfortunately we had paid up front, but we weren't looking for a refund, we literally couldn't wait to get out of there. Oddly, the staff didn't seem too surprised, which I suspect means that they often have people leaving early or they do not get paid enough to possibly care.

Koh Kood is a beautiful, unspoilt Thai gem and the location of Away is breath-taking. So it's a real shame that the resort completely lets it down. Their website pitches it as a boutique resort (also reflected in their prices), but in reality it's a run-down has-been which is in need of some serious TLC. If the management decide to invest some time and money getting the rooms updated, a better pool, a decent chef and some staff training then no doubt it will be money well spent.

Don't let this put you off Koh Kood - it's a beautiful island, especially where Away is located. But my advice is, stay at Peter Pan instead!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarioMorocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM-BHMAsia, Manager at Away Koh Kood, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear MarioMorocco,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your experience at Away Koh Kood. All comments, positive and negative help us to improve our service and provide better experience for our guests.

We are sorry that you did not appreciate the design of our bungalows. The issues with the condition of the bungalows are being addressed on an ongoing basis. Your comments regarding bathroom lighting and pool and have been noted and will be discussed during our future resort renovations. Specifically regarding the insects that you mentioned, I hope you understand that insects and mosquitoes are part of the tropical island experience, although we are doing our utmost to fight them with weekly pest control and various repellent stationed around the resort.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We apologize that the service has not been our usual standard on the day that you visited our resort. As a team we have assessed what happens if guest returns food at the restaurant and installed new procedures for the restaurant staff to follow. Once again, I apologize that you were disappointed with our service.

On a positive note, we are pleased to note that you appreciated and enjoyed the location of our resort and the island of Koh Kood.

Thank you for your feedback, we have shared it with the team and it will help us to improve our future guests’ experiences.

Kind Regards,

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norrway
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We read many reviews of Away Koh Khut on Tripadvisors before booking and saw that the opinions ranged from the very best to the mediocre, so we were unsure what to expect. The basic questions, as always, are if the places meet our expectations and give us value for money. We were looking for and expected to find a good, basic resort with all necessary facilities, clean rooms, decent food, crystal water and the famous Thai smiles. We did not look for a posh and trendy show off place. This resort fully met these expectations.

Sure, the place is not perfect; the beach is really quite small and unattractive but about 150 ft away (swim or borrow a kayak) is a very nice beach that all our colleague guests used. The beach beds on Away´s small beach were few and some guests always lack manners and occupy “their” chairs the entire day, even when they are not there. The management may consider some more chairs.

Our room (Ocean facing deluxe bungalow) was very good. Maybe some paint could have been used but really charming and well working. Nice view to the ocean and a gentle breeze all day. Room service was good – with the smile. Bathroom not the latest model but clean with water heater (working from 6 pm to 8 am to save power).

The restaurant will not win a Michelin star any time soon but it was definitely acceptable and fairly reasonably priced. The famous smile was definitely there. Language is not big issue and neither the speed and service.

The internet works well in the lobby and the restaurant but not in the rooms but then they have not advertised anything else.


A recommendable resort but we suggest you carefully consider your expectations before booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutusOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hello,
we just came back from there and we were not so happy!!!!
There is no real beach, so you have to take a canoe to cross, not long but with young children, not so nice. 30 rooms and 8 canoes which makes it difficult. Rooms ok but bathrooms old and average.
If you want to order food, go in advance it takes about 30-45 mns just to get an order and thst is if they have no items missing such as bananas....
Staff not so helpfull, enquired about a speedboat and never got the answer...
I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Langlet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Amazing location overlooking the bay.
The wood bungalow was spacious and very peaceful and had the best sleeping ever.
The food was great, Thai curries just delicious.
Having been around Thailand quite a lot, Ko Kood is great for a quick holiday, easy to get to from Bangkok, so perfect for a long weekend.
Although disappointing on the diving side, it's great to rent a scooter and explore the beautiful untouched beaches and chill all day.
Had an amazing massage from a little wonderful smiley woman in the spa, who also rescued me for a big sunburn with her magic aloe vera portion, which she gave me in a little pot to take home! God bless her!

Room Tip: Get the superior bungalow away from the reception area and enjoy the silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolicchia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We tried this place for lunch one day to check out the property and the food standards. The location is excellent and very picturesque. We're sure the rooms would be as nice. The restaurant is just alright though. The menu is very limited and the food leaves a lot to be desired. I'd suggest that people staying here try pizza & pasta or Shantaa near the Pier for a meal, if you run out of options here. Got some great shots of people kayaking at sunset though. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent for 4 nights there. On arrival I was "upgraded" to the beachfront room. Of course, having a great view of the ocean is nice, but you must know, that these rooms are the oldest in this property. While official list prices for beachfront are just ridiculous expensive (443 USD, "special rate" 203 USD!!!) the structure, especially restrooms and showers, is old, used and dirty. The outdoor shower was mould-infested!!! Mould smells in the room, restroom. The pictures on their official homepage must either been taken years ago or photoshopped.
There was wifi only in the lobby/restaurant area.
Maybe one doesn't complain if upgraded to beachfront?
I my opinion these rooms should go for less than 50 USD or the owner should invest few million Bath in the structure. That's it - that easy.
And BTW: I paid 90 EUR (120 USD) through otel.com

Room Tip: The cheaper, but newer rooms are on top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gisilamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
2.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Koh Kood

Property: Away Koh Kood
Address: 43/8 Moo 2, Baan Klongchao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Resorts on Koh Kood is the epitome of an island hideaway. The resort features spacious luxury bungalow villas, with private terraces and sea views from almost every room. The resort has the largest activity and dive centre on the island, so guests can enjoy not only the beauty and peacefulness of the resort, but also everything the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Away Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood
Away Hotel Trat
Away Resort Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing