We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine simplicity”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Devine simplicity”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had such an amazing time at Shantaa because it is everything we love about Thailand reduced into simple luxury. At booking we were a little surprised that the resort is at pains to tell you what they don’t have e.g. mini bar, 24 hour air conditioning, a pool but on arrival one quickly realises that the resort offers qualities which are difficult to describe in adjectives and the panoramic beauty that cannot be captured within a border.

I think what captured our heart was the positioning of the bungalows situated on a small hill amongst lush green grass, palms, and coconut trees. I fondly remember sitting on our balcony after our evening massage with the birds singing and the crickets chirping, sharing a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc watching the sunset into the sparkling sea and reflecting on another day in paradise.

The staff at Shantaa are a highlight and I have to thank them for tolerating my embryonic attempts at learning Thai which provided hours of amusement.

The Kayaking was a lot of fun and I went down the South coast one day and then up the North coast on another evening. Shantaa is next to the main wharf which impairs the view of the long white sand beach from the sun loungers and beach bar but does mean that the snorkelling is very good and accessible.

Kayaking south I saw some smaller resorts down which look nice but not to the same high standard as Shantaa and a bit more “Robinson Crusoe”. Whilst kayaking north I visited the beach where Soneva Kiri is situated and that stretch of the coast is sensational which one would expect at £900 p/night!

We hired a scooter and we walked down a jungle track and clamoured over rocks to find Klong Chao which is beautiful waterfall and great for freshwater swimming. Standing underneath the deluge is the ultimate shower. We were fortunate as we had a window between two large tour groups which certainly diminished some of the serenity!

It is hard to compare Koh Kood with Koh Chang. The 5* hotels on Koh Chang offer brilliant service and I would recommend the Dewa but in retrospect our time split between Koh Kood and Koh Chang could have been completely different holidays. I think it would have been really draining to travel from London to Koh Kood in one day so it made sense to stay in Koh Chang for a few days at the start and end of the holiday. I don’t think the typical traveller to Koh would enjoy the divine simplicity of Koh Kood. The detail and elegance that Shantaa offers would find a different definition for a traveller that is expecting blue curacao based cocktails and towel origami.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHBartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    42
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
244
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

came here with my boyfriend for only 2 night. If you enjoy quiet, relaxation and nature you should definitely come here.
staff is great and king, food is yummy and scenery is wonderful.
We had a sweet room which was immaculate. the bathroom is excellent and the cleaning ladies are doing a hell of a job.
Will be back, hope it will stay the same :)))

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The concept of this resort makes it undoubtedly the perfect place to relax, while enjoying great service and great food.

The family run property is located on a west facing hillside, where the villas were built apart enough to allow you a degree of privacy. The view from the balconies is stunning, particularly at sunset.

The villas are very well designed with a bathroom in the back where a small garden allows you to enjoy an al fresco shower. All this is very well kept and impecably clean.

The dining area is on top of the hill with, again, amazing views.

Although I stayed over 2 weeks I didn't have the time to try every item in the varied menu. The food was always delicious. And reasonably priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful and this has to be the only resort in Thailand where you don't pay for water. Apart from the standard complimentary water bottles in your room, the staff is always ready to serve a glass of iced water the moment you sit at a table, which shows the care they take in pampering their guests. Plus, you have free water bottles at the beach.

The beach is comparatively small but very clean. Just across the pier you have a long stretch of cocoanut tree lined beach (Ao Tapao). The beach bar is a great place to have a meal and enjoy one of their fabulous fruit shakes.

From the end of the pier you have an amazing view of the coastline.

This was my third visit here (December 2013) and will most certainly not be the last. Thanks to Ms. Kai, Zero, Dja, Fein, Tao, Im and all the other staff members whose name I haven't learned so far, not forgetting the kitchen staff and housekeeping.

And please, don't you ever dare build a swimming pool!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trovador2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

So this review comes a year too late, but the holiday stands preserved in our memory forever.
Everything about Shantaa will make you want to forget the world outside- the amazing rooms, the gorgeous property, the thougthful staff. Sigh! If I could go back, I'd have found a job and stayed. :)
And the food...lip smacking, really. Clearly the best we ate in all of Thailand.
We stayed at the Suite for a whole week, and enjoyed every minute of it. The outdoor bath, so luxurious and yet so comfortable. The sit-out, so charming, we'd spend hours staring at the pier.
Am lizard phobic, so that was a minor distraction. That said, everything else pretty much made up for it.
My husband thoroughly enjoyed the beach, while I spent my time lazing under the outdoor canopys, reading and catching more than few winks.
Dream beach holiday. Truly.
Thank you Fawn, Kai, Zero and the rest of the staff for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NishaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Private bungalows with sea view on beautiful hillside. Amazing food! Very nice beach. Peaceful and quiet. Friendly, helpful and always smiling staff. Flawless service. Perfect for couples and families who are looking for a get away from the city. It's a treat for your heart and soul! We hope to go back soon again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheriffenistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Great staff that speaks English. The service is very good. When you are sitting in the restaurant you always get a cold glass of water. The food is superb!!
The room is so nice, especially the bathroom. It is clean and the beds are really nice. We definitly comming back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar Square
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. Beautiful, peaceful location. Thoughtful, intimate resort design. Amazing food and attentive, friendly and discreet service. Great value. We stayed 11 nights in a sweet and would love to come back. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinkood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
212 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
2.5 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Property: Shantaa Koh Kood
Address: 20/3 Moo 2 | Tambon Kohkood , Amphur Kohkood, Trad, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing