We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, beach could be better”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, beach could be better”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Shantaa was a real suprise. The accomodation was awesome and the whole place was very clean, neat and tidy.
We stayed there for 6 nights and we got a real understanding of the resort as well as the rest.
Food was great, accomodation was great, position is beautiful.
If there is something that could be better that would be the beach. It is right next to the pier and sometimes it gets a little noisy and the water is not excellent as in the rest of the island.
To me, the best beach was the one where the resort called "peter pan" was located.
BTW Shantaa was the best if you consider price/quality.
Recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbiddoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
248
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

2rd stay at Shantaa, and everything was how we remember it, but better.
We were very fortunate to be upgrade to the new Villas that have just been built, and they were “Stunning”, we can only thank you for making our stay even more special, we loved the 5* feel!
The new beach, and snack bar, gives you more options during the day, and are a good edition.
The food as always was very very good, and is some of the best on Koh Kood, and very reasonably priced.
We look forward to coming back to Shantaa someday, but for now many thanks to Fone (hope i have spelt that correct?) and here team, for another great visit, and arranging everything like clock work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Words cant do justice to the attention to detail that the people at Shantaa take to make your stay there one of the most memorable moments in your life. The simplicity and serenity of Koh Kood reflects in every aspect of the space, its people and its ethos.

Rooms
Great space, intentionally petite (but very well organized) in size so you spend most of your time outside your room. Beautiful bathrooms that look like a mini tropical paradise and well planned layouts so that all rooms enjoy privacy as well a small slice of the ocean view.

The rooms are cleaned throughly everyday and are so neat and pretty that you don't feel like creating a mess :)

The small details in the rooms are what make it make it truly exceptional : a big pot of water to wash your sandy feet before you enter, beautiful ceramic trays to light your mosquito coils, complementary fresh fruit and water replenished everyday along with all your bathroom essentials!

Restaurant
Very affordable, delicious and hearty sized portions, and a very elaborate thai menu that will definitely satiate the glutton in you :) We stayed at shantaa for 5 days and rarely ventured out for a meal :) They are very caring and flexible about tweaking their menu for vegetarians and people with special food requests.

Hosts
The people at Shantaa really make the place. You may or may not notice it, but each and every one of them are fastidiously customizing and organizing things to ensure that the guests have the most seamless and perfect experience. Its truly run by some amazingly perceptive and gracious people, its really hard to get over once you have experienced it first hand !

Activities
Koh kood is devoid of the uber touristy 'shebangery' that most thai islands are notorious for. Its a tiny island but there is still much to do. You can kayak, go snorkelling, ride a scooter through the island, go swimming in postcard perfect waterfall lakes or just vegetate with a book, and the folks at Shantaa will be only too happy to make it happen for you.

Internet
Great wifi for your everyday mail / streaming/ uploading kind of tasks (makes Shantaa a good place for a workation!) in the rooms as well as the main dining area. But refrain from taking a laptop with you, pretty please?

Shantaa/ Koh Kood is definitely not a place that you tick off your list once you have gone there. You will want to keep going there again and again, because it captures a small piece of your soul. Its truly a remarkable experience worth every penny that you spend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikta_krishnaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

All aspects of this hotel exceeded our expectations during our recent Bangkok getaway. The staff, always gracious and intensely earnest, saw to it that all of our simple requests were always fulfilled from the complementary pick-up at the ferry pier to sourcing delectable (and local) seafood for dinner at the resort's mouthwatering restaurant.

Definitely a prominent entry to add to your "Places to Visit" list...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and resort. I don't think the photos on the website really do it justice. The hotel complex is actually quite large and much of it is beautifully landscaped with palm trees and flowers. There are plenty of sun loungers and chairs dotted around the accommodation, including on two beaches. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced (cheap!) considering they have a captive audience; the beach bar does delicious fruit ice smoothies. We did not find the public pier a problem at all, in fact it was quite interesting watching people come and go throughout the day - the other side of the pier is a half mile long completely undisturbed beach, which was really beautiful. We stayed in a Shantaa Sweet villa, which was lovely. There was some building work going on while we were there, but this wasn't at all disruptive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

i stayed in shantaa with my husband and i highly recomand this place!! The atmospher is just exceptional! everybody is here to make you feel good..
And i didn t talk aboud the food, best on the island!!
if you have a chance to stay do not miss it !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I'm a bit reluctant to review this place just because I don't want this island to be inundated by the masses but it would be an injustice to the Shantaa resort if I did not give my review! It was a piece of paradise- heaven on earth. The only down side is the journey to get there, 4 hours by car from Bangkok then 1.5 hours by boat! But it was so worth it. The service is unbelievable, met with a warm welcome drink and Ivey cold towels to cool us down while they took care of our luggage. The villas were beautiful, loved the outside coconut shower. Didn't have to carry any cash around as everything was charged to your room and the staff knew which room you had with out asking- amazingly! Was pleasantly surprised at the bill at the end of the stay which included bike hire, massage and snorkelling trip! We had a lovely relaxing, chilling out stay with our friends. Not a lot of sights to see on the island but the beaches are beautiful. No pool , but it wasn't missed because the sea was so perfect and warm!
So, I don't think you really need to go to Shantaa now I've told you everything, think I should keep it for myself ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoescape72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
2.5 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
298 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Property: Shantaa Koh Kood
Address: 20/3 Moo 2 | Tambon Kohkood , Amphur Kohkood, Trad, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing