We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for peace and relaxation”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2009

If you are after a quiet place with beautiful nature, stylish bungalows and a nice relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to go. The attention to detail in the design and layout of this small boutique resort is impressing. This combined with an easy going staff, great food and access to bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear etc. made the stay a memorable experience. The resort has a bar and a few sunbeds in one end of a long unspoiled beach. If you walk a few meter up the beach you will have 1km of beach by yourself.

Be aware that this is no party place. The bar closes at 10pm. But by that time you should be back in you private hot tub in your exotic outdoor bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

I can not agree more with the last review.
I have traveled all over the world for work and leisure as well and I have never experienced the kind of service, details and attention you get at Shantaa. This is probably, overall, the best resort I have ever stayed in my life.

Small details like when we rent a Motorcycle, they get a pink one for my wife, when we get a snorkeling trip they get a basket with fresh Shantaa towels and bottles of water right to the boat, when we were at our final day waiting for the boat to leave they send us a thai iced tea for us without even ordered (we drink that pretty much every day), the open bathrooms, the blankets, even the coffee, etc., there are so many details that I can mention,

In regards to the food, I'm related with the food and wine business (and I'm a food lover as well) and this is the best Thai food I ever have. Period. You don't need to go anywhere else on the island for food.
Try the ko kood home made coconut ice cream with fried banana, and any curry or the Tom Yum,,, I mean everything was awesome!

We are already looking forward to come back

PROBABLY these kind of reviews will get more people to the island and probably more expensive but at least the Shantaa people deserve it (that's the only reason I'm writing this review)
I really hope that Ko Kood will never be transformed in another Koh Pagnan, Ko Tao or Koh Samui.
We went there after Shantaa, we regret that we have never have left Ko Kood. It is sad to see what the tourism have done to those island.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantiagoDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My husband and I will never forget our honeymoon at Shantaa. The grounds and views are gorgeous. Arriving there was like entering a dream. The staff are friendly locals and greeted us with a wonderful welcome drink. Our 10 day stay there was the most relaxing and all around best vacation I have ever had (and I have been all over the world including Africa, India, Europe, and South America.)

Our "Sweet" was modern, well designed, private and beautiful. The tropical outdoor bathroom was such a treat. We would leave the windows and doors open during the day to capture the breeze and let it blow though the room. The beautiful huts are surrounded by foliage so that you feel like you are all alone in the rainforest. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable. We loved the view so much from our private deck and the bed that there was no need to go anywhere else! But we did venture out sometimes...

For example, to eat! The food was absolutely amazing. Much better than even the best Thai food restaurants we've dined at. We could not get enough of the amazing curries and seafood dishes, the sticky rice and mango, or the fresh coconut ice cream. All the ingredients were so flavorful and fresh and we looked forward to eating each and every meal. And the views from the restaurant were just as pleasing.

We also loved the peacefulness of the grounds. Even when it appeared that the resort was relatively full (although it is not a large resort) it was quiet and we would hardly notice another soul (with the exception of meal times, although there was always the option of having our food served at our room). The "Sweets" are set up on a hill overlooking the water, so the beach was not right outside our front door. Originally I thought this was something we'd miss- but instead we got a gorgeous all around view of the grounds and the water and were able to enjoy the privacy of being away from the few people who might be enjoying the beach. The less than one minute walk to the beach was perfect for us. The beach bar is nice to order snacks or drinks from while you relax by the ocean. Oh, and plenty of shade is available on the beach as well, which is nice for those who aren't able to worship the sun! (Like my fair-skinned hubby!)

You should not go to Shantaa (or Koh Kood) if you expect lots of activities and nightlife. It is an unspoiled and non-touristy island. We relaxed and read all day, or would enjoy a 90 minute Thai massage every other day or so, or would just sit and enjoy the great views. We did rent a motorbike and tour the island one day. We went to other beaches, the local fisherman's pier, and the waterfall. One day we used the sea kayaks and explored some other shores near Shantaa where there were monkeys in the trees. We went on a snorkeling day trip which was fun. And, because we had originally thought we were going to stay on Koh Chang, we did do a one-night trip there so we could do an elephant trek. It was worth it, but we were SO glad that we did not decide to stay on Koh Chang! It is so busy and crowded and not at all the peaceful paradise Shantaa is.

There is no pool which is not a problem because the ocean is so beautiful and warm, very pleasant to swim in. Also, not having a pool probably helped keep the peaceful atmosphere. I can't really think of other potential negatives- perhaps if you don't like Thai food you will not enjoy the food as much. But we never ate anything but Thai so I can't tell you how the spaghetti is. The waitstaff, as mentioned before, is local and sometimes it was a little challenging to communicate with them, but it never caused a problem. You just had to be clear and brief when you ordered your food or asked questions. Some people may not like the lack of AC during the day, but we loved the natural aspect of using the sea breeze to cool our room. We also loved not having a TV, but enjoyed the CD/i-pod player in the room.

Overall it was such a tremendous value and we got even more than we expected. We had searched long and hard for the perfect honeymoon place and Shantaa more than exceeded our expectations. We loved the owner and the staff, the grounds, the food, our room, the views, and the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. Our goal is to go back on as many occasions as possible, and as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vivalajuicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Kho Kood island is special. It's probably the last accessible unspoilt island in Thailand. The Shantaa is that rare gem: a simple, stylish, beautifully located, peaceful place. I've been travelling to south-east Asia for over 30 years. I love Thailand but not how it's Riviera has developed. Mostly it's either unbearably crowded or rowdy, overpriced, full of faux-chic hotels or, as so many places have, just sold their soul to the package tourist or the gap-year fun-seeker. If you're looking for bars and beach parties, marble bathrooms and infinity pools then neither Kho Kood nor the Shantaa are for you. It's a biggish island which still feels like a small fishing community. it has lovely rain forests, quiet creeks, lovely beaches and mostly crystal clear water outside the rainy season. There are very few cars. You can hire scooters and pootle round the island. The Shantaa is owned and run by two sisters whose parents used to own half the island and they created something quite special. The widely spaced bungalows are set in about 20 acres. Their standard bungalows are actually nicer than their "sweets (sic). Spacious, spotless, fun open air bathrooms, and a small terrace from which you can watch stunning sunsets. The staff are not what you might call professional but they're charming and attentive. The food is always fresh and tasty. There's a pier just by the hotel ( where you land off the boat from Trat) which at first you think might be a problem but it turns out is a point of interest with the odd fishing boat or small ferry docking. Sitting on the Shantaa's little sandy beach reminded me of the quiet Greek islands of my childhood. You can Kayak, read, go fishing or just snooze. Here's the kicker: We booked for 6 nights and stayed for 19. So Go.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Shantaa for four days and loved every minute of it. Koh Kood is a gorgeous island with hardly any tourists and long beautiful beaches. We spent some time in Koh Chang and Kood is a lot more remote-feeling and mellow. The Shantaa grounds are perfectly maintained, and our room (Sweet 2) had an amazing ocean view and a romantic open air bathroom with a tub for two. The food was OUTSTANDING--the best we had by a wide margin in two weeks of fancy traveling throughout Thailand. Breakfast, lunch or dinner--everything was delicious. But the best part of the Shantaa is the caring staff--when my boyfriend ordered a Diet Coke at lunch on our first day and they didn't have any, by dinner there was a 24-pack. They arranged a motorbike for us to rent and a ride to Bangkok when our flight was cancelled at the last minute. This is a family business, in all good ways. So attentive, yet completely professional. I would recommend the Shantaa to anyone visiting Thailand--a great island and a fabulous small resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jenbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

We stayed at this resort in November for a change of pace from Phuket. We booked through the hotel and were picked up at the bus terminal and taken to a speedboat for the trip to the island. There is a ferry but it takes a long time and makes only one trip a day. Once at the resort we were amazed at the beauty. It sits in a coconut farm and has currently 10 bungalows with 5 more being built. The rooms were perfect and beyond clean. The bathroom is open air but has a privacy fence it is very comfortable.
The menu is fantastic and they will cook other dishes on request. We ate most meals at the resort and the staff adjusted our dishes throughout our stay based on what we ate and what was left on the plate. The beach at the resort is small but connected to a larger one that is practically deserted. There is a couple waterfalls on the island and you can ride a bike there or take a motorbike. We visited the more popular one and it was worth the trip. I can’t say enough about this hotel or the staff both were amazing.

P.S. You can snorkle right in front of the hotel, not amazing but a lot to see.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
1.4 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
481 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
2.5 mi away
Dusita Resort Kohkood
Dusita Resort Kohkood
#6 of 14 in Ko Kut
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Address: 20/3 Moo 2 | Tambon Kohkood , Amphur Kohkood, Trad, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range: £108 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing