We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely resort”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely resort”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Shantaa is a charming and very well-maintained resort. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. We had a "shantaa sweet" room with a very lovely outside bathroom and a nice view on the sea. Air-conditioning was available only between 5pm and 8 am, so we had to use the fan during day, which is actually OK if you do not spend the day inside.
The hotel has a little beachspot, though it is situated near the concrete pier, which can be busy with noisy scooters and cars at some times. Free snorkeling and kayaking is available. Shantaa also offers a (paying) motorbike-rental.
The staff is friendly, eventhough not everyone understands English. We liked the generous breakfast (with a large choice), which is served on the terrace (beautiful view). The resort's restaurant is also good at night.
We really enjoyed our stay at Shantaa and highly recommend it for people travelling to Koh Kood.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonderho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
241
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Me and my wife stayed here for 4 nights in Dec. We had booked a 'Sweet' and was well worth the extra money (approx £20). Room overlooked the coconut trees and sea. We had a hot tub in the back and a large comfortable bed in the centre of the sweet. The restaurant food was so so good! We did an all inclusive package and we were amazed at the quality and variety of food we were served everyday! By far the best we had in Thailand! It is a very peaceful resort, there is not much to do but relax and enjoy. The private beach is very small and quite rocky. We used to walk a bit further down to the public beach which was empty most of the time! Shantaa beach bar supplied us with free snorkels/beach towels/water/beach mats/bat&ball etc. We do think that it should have had a swimming pool but the secluded public beach made up for it. We would definitely recommend this resort.....especially for honeymooners.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

If you are after a quiet place with beautiful nature, stylish bungalows and a nice relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to go. The attention to detail in the design and layout of this small boutique resort is impressing. This combined with an easy going staff, great food and access to bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear etc. made the stay a memorable experience. The resort has a bar and a few sunbeds in one end of a long unspoiled beach. If you walk a few meter up the beach you will have 1km of beach by yourself.

Be aware that this is no party place. The bar closes at 10pm. But by that time you should be back in you private hot tub in your exotic outdoor bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I can not agree more with the last review.
I have traveled all over the world for work and leisure as well and I have never experienced the kind of service, details and attention you get at Shantaa. This is probably, overall, the best resort I have ever stayed in my life.

Small details like when we rent a Motorcycle, they get a pink one for my wife, when we get a snorkeling trip they get a basket with fresh Shantaa towels and bottles of water right to the boat, when we were at our final day waiting for the boat to leave they send us a thai iced tea for us without even ordered (we drink that pretty much every day), the open bathrooms, the blankets, even the coffee, etc., there are so many details that I can mention,

In regards to the food, I'm related with the food and wine business (and I'm a food lover as well) and this is the best Thai food I ever have. Period. You don't need to go anywhere else on the island for food.
Try the ko kood home made coconut ice cream with fried banana, and any curry or the Tom Yum,,, I mean everything was awesome!

We are already looking forward to come back

PROBABLY these kind of reviews will get more people to the island and probably more expensive but at least the Shantaa people deserve it (that's the only reason I'm writing this review)
I really hope that Ko Kood will never be transformed in another Koh Pagnan, Ko Tao or Koh Samui.
We went there after Shantaa, we regret that we have never have left Ko Kood. It is sad to see what the tourism have done to those island.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantiagoDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My husband and I will never forget our honeymoon at Shantaa. The grounds and views are gorgeous. Arriving there was like entering a dream. The staff are friendly locals and greeted us with a wonderful welcome drink. Our 10 day stay there was the most relaxing and all around best vacation I have ever had (and I have been all over the world including Africa, India, Europe, and South America.)

Our "Sweet" was modern, well designed, private and beautiful. The tropical outdoor bathroom was such a treat. We would leave the windows and doors open during the day to capture the breeze and let it blow though the room. The beautiful huts are surrounded by foliage so that you feel like you are all alone in the rainforest. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable. We loved the view so much from our private deck and the bed that there was no need to go anywhere else! But we did venture out sometimes...

For example, to eat! The food was absolutely amazing. Much better than even the best Thai food restaurants we've dined at. We could not get enough of the amazing curries and seafood dishes, the sticky rice and mango, or the fresh coconut ice cream. All the ingredients were so flavorful and fresh and we looked forward to eating each and every meal. And the views from the restaurant were just as pleasing.

We also loved the peacefulness of the grounds. Even when it appeared that the resort was relatively full (although it is not a large resort) it was quiet and we would hardly notice another soul (with the exception of meal times, although there was always the option of having our food served at our room). The "Sweets" are set up on a hill overlooking the water, so the beach was not right outside our front door. Originally I thought this was something we'd miss- but instead we got a gorgeous all around view of the grounds and the water and were able to enjoy the privacy of being away from the few people who might be enjoying the beach. The less than one minute walk to the beach was perfect for us. The beach bar is nice to order snacks or drinks from while you relax by the ocean. Oh, and plenty of shade is available on the beach as well, which is nice for those who aren't able to worship the sun! (Like my fair-skinned hubby!)

You should not go to Shantaa (or Koh Kood) if you expect lots of activities and nightlife. It is an unspoiled and non-touristy island. We relaxed and read all day, or would enjoy a 90 minute Thai massage every other day or so, or would just sit and enjoy the great views. We did rent a motorbike and tour the island one day. We went to other beaches, the local fisherman's pier, and the waterfall. One day we used the sea kayaks and explored some other shores near Shantaa where there were monkeys in the trees. We went on a snorkeling day trip which was fun. And, because we had originally thought we were going to stay on Koh Chang, we did do a one-night trip there so we could do an elephant trek. It was worth it, but we were SO glad that we did not decide to stay on Koh Chang! It is so busy and crowded and not at all the peaceful paradise Shantaa is.

There is no pool which is not a problem because the ocean is so beautiful and warm, very pleasant to swim in. Also, not having a pool probably helped keep the peaceful atmosphere. I can't really think of other potential negatives- perhaps if you don't like Thai food you will not enjoy the food as much. But we never ate anything but Thai so I can't tell you how the spaghetti is. The waitstaff, as mentioned before, is local and sometimes it was a little challenging to communicate with them, but it never caused a problem. You just had to be clear and brief when you ordered your food or asked questions. Some people may not like the lack of AC during the day, but we loved the natural aspect of using the sea breeze to cool our room. We also loved not having a TV, but enjoyed the CD/i-pod player in the room.

Overall it was such a tremendous value and we got even more than we expected. We had searched long and hard for the perfect honeymoon place and Shantaa more than exceeded our expectations. We loved the owner and the staff, the grounds, the food, our room, the views, and the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. Our goal is to go back on as many occasions as possible, and as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivalajuicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Kho Kood island is special. It's probably the last accessible unspoilt island in Thailand. The Shantaa is that rare gem: a simple, stylish, beautifully located, peaceful place. I've been travelling to south-east Asia for over 30 years. I love Thailand but not how it's Riviera has developed. Mostly it's either unbearably crowded or rowdy, overpriced, full of faux-chic hotels or, as so many places have, just sold their soul to the package tourist or the gap-year fun-seeker. If you're looking for bars and beach parties, marble bathrooms and infinity pools then neither Kho Kood nor the Shantaa are for you. It's a biggish island which still feels like a small fishing community. it has lovely rain forests, quiet creeks, lovely beaches and mostly crystal clear water outside the rainy season. There are very few cars. You can hire scooters and pootle round the island. The Shantaa is owned and run by two sisters whose parents used to own half the island and they created something quite special. The widely spaced bungalows are set in about 20 acres. Their standard bungalows are actually nicer than their "sweets (sic). Spacious, spotless, fun open air bathrooms, and a small terrace from which you can watch stunning sunsets. The staff are not what you might call professional but they're charming and attentive. The food is always fresh and tasty. There's a pier just by the hotel ( where you land off the boat from Trat) which at first you think might be a problem but it turns out is a point of interest with the odd fishing boat or small ferry docking. Sitting on the Shantaa's little sandy beach reminded me of the quiet Greek islands of my childhood. You can Kayak, read, go fishing or just snooze. Here's the kicker: We booked for 6 nights and stayed for 19. So Go.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, service.
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Shantaa for four days and loved every minute of it. Koh Kood is a gorgeous island with hardly any tourists and long beautiful beaches. We spent some time in Koh Chang and Kood is a lot more remote-feeling and mellow. The Shantaa grounds are perfectly maintained, and our room (Sweet 2) had an amazing ocean view and a romantic open air bathroom with a tub for two. The food was OUTSTANDING--the best we had by a wide margin in two weeks of fancy traveling throughout Thailand. Breakfast, lunch or dinner--everything was delicious. But the best part of the Shantaa is the caring staff--when my boyfriend ordered a Diet Coke at lunch on our first day and they didn't have any, by dinner there was a 24-pack. They arranged a motorbike for us to rent and a ride to Bangkok when our flight was cancelled at the last minute. This is a family business, in all good ways. So attentive, yet completely professional. I would recommend the Shantaa to anyone visiting Thailand--a great island and a fabulous small resort.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jenbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
2.5 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri Thailand
Soneva Kiri Thailand
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Property: Shantaa Koh Kood
Address: 20/3 Moo 2 | Tambon Kohkood , Amphur Kohkood, Trad, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing