We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
500
45
16
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
45
16
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private plane chocolate room benz restaurant outdoor cinema cinema paradiso bangkok airport view restaurant tree pod dining golf buggy ms friday six senses ice cream parlour kids club cliff villa no shoes khun benz personal butler
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Amazing staff!!

The Island is very charming abd getting there via a single engine Cessna is also a treat.

The villas are very big and the food is amazing!! Especially the fruits!

During monsoon season, be sure to pick more weather flexible activities as some aren't available due to choppy waves.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca A, General Manager at Soneva Kiri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear bob j
Greetings from Soneva Kiri. Thank you for your comment, Koh Kood is indeed one of the hidden gems of Thailand. we are happy you enjoyed your stay even with the rain and sea conditions. The snorkeling is amazing when the sea is calm, when you return it must be one of your activities.
Rainy season is a fantastic challenge for our creativity in coming up with activities that can "handle" this season. We are always trying to create activities for the rainy season, we are now storing up on board games to create a fantastic multinational board game center.
We hope to see you soon
Best regards
Francisca Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Gee, unbelievable to be back at Soneva Kiri, one of my dream resorts!
My last visit was nearly two years ago. Things have not changed much.. so familiar with nearly everything.. staying in a different villa this time was wonderful, just like I was in a never-never land! From the moment I step in, everything is taken care of with excellent service, especially from Khun Marisa (Ms. Friday) who happens to be the same personal as my last visit. Her attention to every detail with true and friendly care really made this a memorable stay!
For this trip, apart from a variety of chocolate in the chocolate room, ice cream in icecream parlour, delicious dinner at the View restaurant, Mediterranean buffet at The Dining Room, and dinner at Benz Restaurant - all in all, I indulged fully into the hallmark Soneva culinary delights.
As if time stood still, a quality time spent worth it, but sad to leave, and already plan to return to this piece of heaven, soon again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca A, General Manager at Soneva Kiri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear P P
Greetings from Soneva Kiri. I am sorry to have missed you on this visit but happy you enjoyed your stay. Khun Marisa is pretty amazing, she quietly organizes your life with so much care and attention and then adds that fantastic smile as if it was all so easy.
In keeping with our Festival of Colours, we are launching new menu items every month, new events, guest specialists; all inspired by the color of the month - except for the 10 ice cream flavors we launched yesterday in honor of world ice cream day, there were about 20 crazy and wacky colors in them.
We hope to see you back soon!
Best regards
Francisca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The location of the hotel on the Dream Island ko kood, produces a paradise experience,
Everything was perfect with the wonderful service and food.
All employees always smile and there is an excellent feeling at any moment,
And villa was a dream and beyond anything I expected.
hope to come back soon (:

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EyalN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca A, General Manager at Soneva Kiri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Eyal
Greetings from Soneva Kiri. Thank you for your comments, it was great to see that the beauty of this place and our team shines even during stormy days. It was lovely to meet you and exchange ideas, we hope to see you back soon, you have to try our new menus, we launched them two days ago (plus 10 new flavors of ice cream yesterday...)
See you soon
Best regards
Francisca Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Very good overall but the Indian staff is sub-par. Surprised they are using cheap labor for a luxury resort - Koh Tao does this too with Burmese staff. At least the Burmese are hard workers and try to be accomodating. The Indian staff at Soneva Koh Kood are quiet, not eager to help, and unprofessional. Also, they tend to be seasonal workers, not full-time employees. The work ethic is not there and the training is sub-par. One staff member named "Jackie" (not sure if they use real or English names) was telling me last March, 2017 that he can bring his family and friends for free as a perk and "laugh at the money people are spending here" Overall, not worth the money or effort to visit here. Better options available.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank telgrade6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca A, General Manager at Soneva Kiri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear telgrade6

Greetings from Soneva Kiri. Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, but I must admit it’s hard to recognize our resort from your comments on our team. Soneva prides itself choosing team members based on experience and expertise and those are the only two variables that decide salaries, but to answer your nationality based comment, 96% of our hosts are Thai nationals and we don’t hire seasonal workers.
We are sorry you left our resort without getting a feel of the incredible warm welcome that is synonymous with Thailand and its people.

Best regards
Francisca Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to Soneva Kiri having previously been at the same time last year. Once again we were blown away by the wonderful villas, superb food, and the all round excellent service.

Nothing much has changed. From the moment you step off the plane in Bangkok everything is taken care of. Fast track immigration, luggage collection, check in at the Soneva desk then onto the private 8 seater plane for the 75 minute flight to the resort. From there a speedboat whisks you off for the 5 minute ride to the resort as you're given cold scented towels and a refreshing fruit drink.

On the wooden jetty to welcome you is Francisca and her management team along with your personal Mr/Ms Friday who will be your host during your stay. Last year our Friday was a guy called Ami, who was excellent. This time it was a young lady called Amp who offered us fantastic levels of service too. She was instinctive and her ability to anticipate was almost telepathic. She made restaurant reservations, suggested experiences, drove us around and always appeared like magic whenever we needed anything. Her brilliant attitude, sense of humour, attention to detail and genuine friendly care really made this a memorable stay. A true credit to Soneva.

Upon arrival, and after a quick lunch we were driven to our villa. And wow what a villa, and what a view. Breathtaking. We were so lucky to have been generously upgraded to a Beach Pool Suite which was the largest accommodation we had ever stayed in. Every amenity had been provided along with canapés, welcome chocolates, cheese and fruit. The outdoor living space was quite special. A huge wrap around infinity pool, with so many places to lounge and really get into the resorts SLOW LIFE philosophy. Each villa also gets its own buggy and it was fun driving around the extensive grounds, getting lost along the way.

Having direct access to the resorts own beach from our villa, was a must on this occasion, as Soneva’s private North beach was unfortunately closed for the 12 days we were there due to ‘rough seas’. This made access difficult which is understandable in the Green season. Perhaps as an alternative, trips to other road-accessible beaches could have been arranged to compensate. However, the beach in front of our villa was lovely and tropical and we had it all to ourselves, spending many hours bobbing around in the calm, warm sea. Considering it was the rainy time of the year, the weather was great; a little overcast but with a fair few hours of sun each day. The thunderstorms and rain tended to happen at night and made for nice, fresh mornings.

Food plays a big part in any holiday of ours and everything here was delicious. The amazing breakfast has everything you could ever want and sets you up for the day. The View restaurant provided top notch gourmet western cuisine against the backdrop of stunning sunsets. The Living Room was more casual with an extensive all day menu of both Thai and European food.

Benz restaurant remains the star attraction. Just getting there is an experience in itself, a short boat ride or car journey into the mangroves to a small wooden restaurant serving up the most authentic and delicious Thai food. The standards here are high, with many new ingredients we'd never tried before, creating some great flavour combinations, all cooked by Chef Benz and her team. Sitting on that little jetty, eating her food was so memorable.

There's no chance of getting bored with repetitive eating. Once a week there was a special Asian Street Market evening, with so many options available. Sushi to Thai to Indian to Chinese, anything you could have wished for. One evening there was a Mediterranean buffet which, again was an excellent variation. Whilst there, a new tapas-style menu was introduced at the Bar which provides yet another eating option. There is also the opportunity to arrange BBQ’s and ‘special occasion’ dinners in the wine cellar and on the beach.

A must for us was the Treepod Dining. Your waiter delivers your food via a zip wire! Lunch up in the trees, with a stunning view was a really unforgettable experience.

The chocolate room and ice cream parlour were a definite first. So many different flavours to try and all for free all day, every day. We certainly made the most of both.

Watching a film under the stars at Cinema Paradiso was also special. Popcorn and drinks top off a brilliant evening. The Thai cooking class was very enjoyable too. Recreating authentic recipes with the chef was great fun; eating them afterwards even better. On a clear night, visit the observatory. Seeing Saturn, it’s rings and 4 of its moons so clearly was fantastic.

We also visited the Six Senses Spa. In a lovely and relaxing environment the therapists were great and the massages superb. Another must do in your first few days as it sets you up for a chilled out break. There is also a small well equipped gym with everything you need to keep fit along with various running routes around the resort.

Now there's excellent service, then there's outstanding service and Soneva Kiri delivers the latter in spades. It is seamless. Apart from our brilliant Friday Amp, all the people we met went out of their way to help us. The F&B staff were friendly, polite and on top of their game. Preferences were remembered from restaurant to restaurant which was impressive. I can't name check people as name badges aren't worn but the entire team deserve great credit.

As for housekeeping, we rarely saw them. Aoi looked after our room and she did a fantastic job. We loved the ‘bed displays’ that were created each night. She knew when we were out and we always returned to a spotless and refreshed room. The entire team seemed to be so well drilled and did excellent work.

The eco credentials of Soneva Kiri deserve a mention too. The company supports the local community and everything, including the bottled water is sustainable wherever possible. They are well ahead of the game, with plastic products not being used which is great to see. This ethos is so important and I hope will continue.

In summary, if you enjoy a laid back, yet luxurious resort, with delicious food, outstanding service and fantastic experiences, Soneva Kiri ticks every box and should be on everyones bucket list. Francisca and her team have got it spot on. The greatest compliment we can pay is that we are already planning to return for a third time next June.

This really is a very special place.

Thank you.

M&M

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
10  Thank Matt_Shoreditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca A, General Manager at Soneva Kiri, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Matt_Shoreditch
Greetings from Soneva Kiri. Its take a lot to render me speechless as you may have noticed from our conversations, but your beautiful words and descriptions did that. We have read it a few times in our daily briefings, its amazing to see the resort and team through your eyes.
Your idea for the beach in stormy days is great, we opened a residential villa for the guests during this time but a long private beach like the one we have will be much better. We will investigate routes with our neighbors and see if feasible. Our carpenters just finished new low tables for the ESS, it looks fantastic, perfect for eating the new tapas.
Also new menu of So Chilled (all day dining) is coming out next week. Chef David continues his creative streak, his last idea is Grilled Mango and Goat Cheese ice cream, have to admit it took some courage to try it out yesterday but its pretty amazing – he told me you would love it for sure.
We will see what else we can come up with before your third visit.
Until your next visit!

Best regards
Francisca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews