We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Waterwoods Kabini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterwoods Kabini
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Amazing location.. Nice service.. Tasty food.. Cool Activities.. !! Worth the money..!
Went there for a day but should have stayed there for atleast 2-3 days... They arranged a wild life safari for us..

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.. But you will be lucky if you get a room on first floor with hammock in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    131
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
232
107
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had been to this place in the thick of monsoon and had a great time. Rooms are clean and spacious and staff is very very accommodating. They could do better with a spa and some other activities like water sports etc. Food can also get a few notches better. Overall a very relaxing experience and a minor negatives can be easily discounted.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A best resort in the locality. It is situated next to the Jungle lodges and resorts. The backwater is just 10 feet away from the resort premises.
Great location, Very good staff , Good food. Everything is good about the Waterwoods resort.
Safari will be arranged by the Government of Karnataka. We spotted a Leopard, Bison, Deers and a wild boar.
Room Tip : Room number 12 has best view of the backwater. This room has balcony with additional tree deck

Room Tip: Room number 12 has best view of the backwater
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srikanth_holur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Truly a breath-taking experience.

The place was recommended by one of my colleague and thanks to him, it turned out to be one of our favourite tourist destinations. I travelled with my family and the place greeted us with a blend of nature, wild and calming experience.

The room I stayed (12) in particular had a great view of the river and greens. The room was spacious for a family of 4 and the balcony was well placed. The place offers kite flying, ATV and I found the ATV ride on their backyards with muddy waters was very interesting. It was a memorable ride and has become my kids favourite.

This is a place where there is plenty to explore. We drove towards Bavali in the early morning and what we have witnessed was unimaginable. We enjoyed the drizzling combined with the scenery and backdrops of the jungle and occasionally had to counter with crossing wild life.
The team in this resort is far by the best I have seen. There was a personal touch in the way they serviced and managed. The staffs were courteous and the hospitality was second to none.

The food was rich in taste though had less variety. I would have liked to see more wild animals during the safari but were lucky to see wild elephants, 1000s of deers, wild boars, Gaurs. But, that was one hell of a ride. The journey was memorable.
After 2 days, the sound of the running water still rings in my ear and I am missing the shades of green. It is now added to our wish list and looking forward to the next summer for another visit. I don’t know if I could wait till then.....
Thanks to the Waterwoods team and the management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prince_S_Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our company had organised a team building exercise in the resort for the 8 of us. We reached the resort at around 12.30 noon. Resort was a beautiful place on the bank of a river with good breeze , surrounded by jungle. People were very cordial and very helpful. The rooms were very neat and the property was well maintained. We started with Swimming and water polo match. The lunch served was superb, very homely. After lunch, we went for a jungle safari in search of wild animals. Unluckily could not see a tiger or a leopard for which the jungle reservoir was famous for. Though could see many deers, wild boar, Bison, an elephant and birds like kingfisher, wood pecker and eagles. Safari was for 3 hours. After coming back from safari, we played a game of soccer.In the night, we enjoyed the bon fire near the river side. Some of us enjoyed documentary on wild life. Diner served was as good as the lunch - few of us were licking our fingers. The room is made of glass walls on the 2 sides. Next day morning, when I opened my eyes, the first thing that I saw was greenery, followed by river, jungle, mountain with the cloud moving in the sky - best scenery to see first thing in the morning. The team gathered to play game of carom. After which few of us went for swimming again in the pool, few of us enjoyed Kayaking on the river and some of us were on advanced kite flying.In between we were cycling and jumping on the trampoline. In between the breakfast served was authentic south indian dish. We ended the day with 2 games of cricket match. At around 12.00 noon we left from the resort after enjoying the team building meet thoroughly.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good though I would prefer room no 8 in the ground floor which gives a lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkshayShetty0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is one resort you should never miss in kabini. This is definitely the best resort i have ever been. awesome location and very friendly staff. Had a great time there. well maintained landscape and pool just adds to the experience. perfect place for a couple, you can have river side candle light dinner too. If you are planning to visit ask for the room with balcony having additional tree deck, it just takes the stay to a different level. I truly enjoyed.

Room Tip: take room with tree deck balcony, you will enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajeesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Its a must visit 5 star river lodge. Beats orange county & Sarai by miles on location advantage. To top it Amazing food, cozy / classy rooms, customized service and a crew that could teach our city 5 star hotels a thing or two. We had a Splendid vacation. Hats off to Waterwoods team!! Keep it up.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt. Sajit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
0.9 mi away
Evolve Back, Kabini
Evolve Back, Kabini
#1 of 1 in Beeramballi
1,326 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 3 in Kenichira
99 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
221 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Peepal Tree Kabini
The Peepal Tree Kabini
#6 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterwoods Kabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterwoods Kabini

Property: Waterwoods Kabini
Address: | 19, Karapura, N.Belthur Post Office, HD Kote Taluk, Nagarhole National Park 571114, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterwoods Kabini 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1999, Waterwoods was the first private lodge at Nagarhole National Park. Our boutique wildlife lodge has an exclusive access of the Kabini Backwaters. Located between two famous Tiger Reserves (Nagarhole and Bandipur), the lodge enjoys a panoramic view of mist-clad blue skies and the Brahmagiri mountain range in the background. The renovated Waterwoods Lodge enjoys an infinity ozone swimming pool, water front dining deck, an upgraded kitchen, a spa and an indoor conference facility for the corporate traveller. The rooms are designed to bring the views of Kabini into your private setting. Although we provide air conditioning in all rooms, we are fortunate in Kabini to be blessed with excellent wind conditions for 9-10 months in a year and our rooms are designed for tap in cross ventilation. The freshness of the cool oxygen-rich Kabini winds coming in from the Nilgiri biosphere is something we highly appreciate and encourage our discerning guests to experience at night. We also provide smart LED TVs, DVD players, and pressurised rain showers in all the rooms & toilets for guest convenience. Things to Do The Indian Safari: Kabini BackWaters separate Nagarhole Tiger Reserve from Bandipur Tiger Reserve. Being on the Nagarhole side of Kabini, our Safaris are conducted in the Nagarhole National Park Tourism, Zone via JLR (in association with the Karnataka Forest Department.) Safaris can be booked at the Lodge post check in and are subject to availability**. Nagarhole offer safari by Boat and by Jeep / Canters. Other Favourites Activities: Trekking & Bird Watching Boat Ride - Bird watching tours Boat Ride to Bheemankoli Ruins & Banyan Tree Elephant Camp Visit Biking Canoeing Kite Flying ATVs rides Indoor games Outdoor Sports Our Dining Experience: The Waterwoods family believes that the kitchen is like a temple. Waterwoods grows most of the vegetables used in the cooking in its greenhouse without using any pesticides or inorganic fertilizers. The cooking styles preached are as close to a typical Indian home-cooked meal as much as possible. We are in the transition to cater to the European Palate. We maintain strict rules for hygiene in our Kitchen and our service areas, as we close to the Biosphere and food which isn't properly disposed (decomposed) will attract insects and other wild animals. Our meals are mostly served at the Dining Deck with scenic views of the Backwaters. We welcome our guests to experience our hard work with an open mind and we are receptive to suggestions on meal preferences. Driven by a Passion for Change: We employee over 90percent of our Staff from the Local Tribes and surrounding villages. We live by traditional value systems and our staff are trained to be polite and ever serving. We appreciate our guests to maintain an etiquette and retain from using foul language or playing loud music in our Eco-Sensitive Zone. We believe that our People represent the land with a cultural history for over a millennia. In this eco-spiritual abode of the Kapila River (Kabini), the WaterWoods team is driven to bring change and add value to the forests, wildlife and the local communities. Sustainable Development Drive: The Waterwoods Team is highly active in the field of Rural Education, Man-Animal Conflict Resolution, and Supporting & Protecting Tribal Artisans and livelihoods of our surrounding areas. We support various NGOs specialising in different fields working toward a more sustainable future in the Kabini area. Our guests are encouraged to learn more of these initiatives and help contribute to specific causes. Don't miss out on the "Vanya" Shop! All goods are marketed to support various causes and Tribal / Rural livelihoods. We welcome you to stay at Waterwoods Lodge, Kabini and experience a higher Living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterwoods Kabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing