We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Den Corbett Visit in March 2014”
Review of The Den Corbett

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Den Corbett
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Den Corbett Visit in March 2014”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights in March 2014. For food taste and Quality I will give 10/10. Property 8/10. I will suggest book your jungle safari online in advanced.This is the last property in the area. 50 mins drive from Ramnagar. I would give 8/10 to The Den.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tarvinderpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    56
    18
    6
    13
See reviews for
88
27
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The ambient is very good and is having a healthy atmosphere. The Den Corbett is having a pure air and natural atmosphere a lot of trees, birds . Tension free atmosphers and the resort is very beautiful and people are very co-operative. i would like to visit in future also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights in Feb 2014. The whole place is tastefully designed. I will not talk much about the rooms, outdoors, facilities etc. as they are expected of such a resort and everything was really good. Our best experience was the lovely staff of the resort. It was a home away from home. The staff took care of everything we needed with love and care. I would give The Den a 10/10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KayG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food - 10/10
Property - 10/10
Cottages - 7/10, can be better
Environment - 10/10

Distance from Jhirna Gate - Very far, you would spend extar 1.5 hrs one side if you are doing safari from that gate. Just bear this in mind and check distance from other gates. This is the last property in the area and the farthest,. Rest is all great,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelxl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDenCorbett, Public Relations Manager at The Den Corbett, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are glad that you liked your stay with us and delighted to see 10/10 for food, property and environment- you made our day!
Corbett National Park has various entry gates – Dhikala, Bijrani, Durgadevi and Jhirna. You visited us during quiet busy dates so only Jhirna safari was available – the gate which is farthest from where we are located. Should you wish to visit again please inform us bit in advance so that we can book the nearest gate for your safari.

We do understand we are bit far from the rush of other hotels. We are the first resort of Corbett and had the chance to select the best location. We thrive on wildlife and animals. Distance is bit of a concern (extra 20 mins drive in reserve sal forest) but we always tell our guests to not to mind this bit of extra drive and stay in the middle of jungle where you can still see wildlife the moment you step out of the resort.

We are happy to satisfy your needs to the fullest regarding your stay with us and look forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived on saturday, getting the booking very late as one of the other hotels cancelled our booking at the very last minute. Service was good. Food was good as it was freshly prepared. Atleast lunch was, breakfast the next day was average, not much choice. they need to invest in a proper menu.

Receptionist was very helpful. waiters were courteous, but a little frazzled, even though we were the only ones there.

Room was okay, it was large, facing the garden. Had big spider in it, which should have been checked. Bathroom was okay, pressure in the showers was minimal and they didnt provide a fresh toilet paper roll, so had to call for one.

In the evening people were drinking their own liquor at which point the waiters would ignore those who werent. it was around a small fire which was a little ineffective.

Drivers quarters apparently werent any good, but food was decent. THe biggest problem with the Den or maybe a blessing, is that it is very far from anywhere. so if youre okay with not being able to access the town easy or local facilities, then this is the place for you. They have a huge space but it really needs to be developed much more.

Okay, in all. nothing to really write home about.

Room Tip: Get one of the Osprey Perch rooms or the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDenCorbett, Public Relations Manager at The Den Corbett, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Greetings from The Den Corbett!

We are sorry to hear that some hotel cancelled your booking at the very last minute. Every hotel have their own cancellation policy – ususally if written confirmation is given mentioneing the advance deposited its very unlikely that a booking is cancelled.

We are glad you liked our service and freshly prepared food. Thanks for appreciating our room and gardens.

Sorry to hear about the shower pressure and spider in your room. As you mentioned you were the only one, we wouldn’t have mind to change your room at all. Most of our rooms have great water pressure but it does happen at times due to some blockage in particular line pressure drops down.

We are in the middle of forest so we do get our wild friends at times to come and say us hello. We tend to keep use of pesticides as minimum as possible being an eco friendly resort. We do check from our side to eliminate them before we allot the rooms but at times they just come from somewhere! We are very sorry that you spotted one in your room and it should not have been there.

We care for our environment. We do not throw away toilet tissue roll everytime. If its half used, which we believe it doesn’t go dirty as it’s always hung on a toilet tissue stand and pulled as much required, we make a folded triangle at the edge as most of the hotels do. A new toilet tissue toll is just a phone call away though and we are more than happy to supply to our dear guests.

Our breakfast menu includes cornflex & milk, paratha or poori bhaaji, sabhar idli or sabhar vada, poha or seeviya with curd, omellte on order or boiled eggs, cut fruits, bread with jam and butter. This buffet is Greetings from The Den Corbett!
We are sorry to hear that some hotel cancelled your booking at the very last minute. Every hotel have their own cancellation policy – ususally if written confirmation is given mentioneing the advance deposited its very unlikely that a booking is cancelled.

We are glad you liked our service and freshly prepared food. Thanks for appreciating our room and gardens.

Sorry to hear about the shower pressure and spider in your room. As you mentioned you were the only one, we wouldn’t have mind to change your room at all. Most of our rooms have great water pressure but it does happen at times due to some blockage in particular line pressure drops down.
We are in the middle of forest so we do get our wild friends at times to come and say us hello. We tend to keep use of pesticides as minimum as possible being an eco friendly resort. We do check from our side to eliminate them before we allot the rooms but at times they just come from somewhere! We are very sorry that you spotted one in your room and it should not have been there.

We care for our environment. We do not throw away toilet tissue roll everytime. If its half used, which we believe it doesn’t go dirty as it’s always hung on a toilet tissue stand and pulled as much required, we make a folded triangle at the edge as most of the hotels do. A new toliet tissue toll is just a phone call away though and we are more than happy to supply to our dear guests.
Our breakfast menu includes cornflex & milk, paratha or poori bhaaji, sabhar idli or sabhar vada, poha or seeviya with curd, omellte on order or boiled eggs, cut fruits, bread with jam and butter. This buffet is presented when we have more than 15 rooms staying with us. Else we do breakfast as requested by guests. Bournvita and other drinks are also available on order basis as required. Should you wish us to include something else in the menu we will be more than happy to hear from you.

We have a huge bonfire area which can accommodate 100 people gathering easily. It’s always the spot for guests to enjoy bonfire as a complimentary service from resort side. You did mention that there were other guests at the bonfire so we assume you were not the only one at resort as mentioned in your valuable feedback. Rooms have fireplaces as well where private fire can be enjoyed. We do provide separate bonfires if we are too busy.

Yes we are in reserve forest and we don’t have a town around – this is what our regular guests love about us! This provides ultimate peace and relaxation to them. We are a wildlife resort and are in the middle of the jungle. Elephant rides, jeep safaries, library, trekking trips, river, badminton, volleyball, table tennis, lush green lawns, swimming spool, spa etc keeps our guests occupied. Should you like to suggest more activities we will be deligted to hear and will try our best to implement.




We have a huge bonfire area which can accommodate 100 people gathering easily. It’s always the spot for guests to enjoy bonfire as a complimentry service from resort side. You did mention that there were other guests at the bonfire so we assume you were not the only one at resort as mentionedin your comment. Rooms have fireplaces as well where private fire can be enjoyed. We do provide separate bonfires if we are too busy.

Yes we are in reserve forest and we don’t have a town around – this is what our regular guests love about us! This provides ultimate peace and relaxsation to them. We are a wildlife resort and are in the middle of the jungle. Elephant rides, jeep safaries, library, trekking trips, river, badminton, volleyball, table tennis, lush green lawns, swimming spool, spa etc keeps our guests occupied. Should you like to suggest more activities we will be delighted to hear and will try our best to implement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were a group of 5 adults who visited The Den. While our cottage was comfortable, we weren't informed that it would be directly adjoining another cottage which also had a large group of people! Overall it was a good experience. Received very good, prompt service from Puran Singh who managed to arrange a separate bonfire just for us! Food quality could use some improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDenCorbett, Public Relations Manager at The Den Corbett, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are glad that you chose us to spend your New Year’s Eve with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We do have some adjoining cottages for families. We will make sure you get a very independent cottage next time you visit us. We have tried to make changes in our food to sooth your palate. Puran Singh is so happy that you mentioned his name in the review. He has been an asset to resort for past 15 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice, clean, beautiful property with polite staff and good management. Property is on the outskirts of the huge Jim Corbett tiger reserve. Backside of the Kosi river. But it is 25-40 kms away from the main Dhikala and Bijrani reserve gates. Need to wake up very early for jeep safari since you have to travel that distance. Also if you have an evening safari then it will be a touch and go for lunch. So if travelling is not an issue with you, just forget all the resorts and stay here to find yourself amidst the jungle. You are bound to enjoy the best of the flora and fauna of Uttarakhand here. Food options are less esp. for vegies and rates are a bit on the higher side. But food quality and taste is good. There are a range of activities to do here. So no way you can get bored. Keep 1 day without any safari to enjoy the resort and surroundings. You will surely love the time spent with your family and loved ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KunjanChoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDenCorbett, Public Relations Manager at The Den Corbett, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are delighted to know that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one with us. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
12.4 mi away
Alaya Resorts & Spa
Alaya Resorts & Spa
#4 of 10 in Ramnagar
76 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Roi Corbett
Le Roi Corbett
#20 of 61 in Jim Corbett National Park
177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn Corbett
Country Inn Corbett
#33 of 61 in Jim Corbett National Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#5 of 61 in Jim Corbett National Park
722 reviews
6.1 mi away
Corbett - Treetop Riverview, A Sterling Holidays Resort
12.7 mi away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#1 of 4 in Dhela
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Den Corbett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Den Corbett

Property: The Den Corbett
Address: Kumeria Reserve Fores | P.O. Mohan, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India (Formerly Q. Inn the Den Resort)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Den Corbett 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Den is a jungle resort in Corbett. It is spread over 13 acres of reserve forest land in the foothills of Himalayas. Thick Sal forest and gentle murmuring Kosi River flows along the whole length of the resort. You can look forward to fantastic close-up experiences with wildlife. The contemporary design of our 50 cottages is relaxed with sunshine-filled spaces. Our restaurant, The Hunt boasts world-class cuisine while spa focuses on holistic wellness. It has been the hunting ground of British in India, prior to the independence. It is a paradise for Bird Watchers and Wildlife & nature Lovers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing