We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim's Jungle Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jim's Jungle Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

First things first : If you are a serious wildlife enthusiast then a visit to jim corbett is only worth if you get a booking for stay in one of the Forest rest houses inside the jungle especially the one located in Dhikala area...There is a long list of reasons why you should do so but you will realise the same if you stay at some other place like i did.
Anyways coming back to my review of JJM : We had a pleasant 3 nights stay here and the staff especially is quite good and friendly. They also have some permanent wild life enthusiasts on there roll and there are some good video sessions on wildlife in the evenings.You can also go for walks or cycling around the property (though dont expect to encounter much, these are all only short trips around the boundary ) Food is also good though ocassionaly some of the dishes tasted bland.
But inspite of all this i still got a feel that this one of those commercialised resorts which are only interested in making money rather than really being interested in the wildlife. I myself found the place to be a little on the overpriced side. The same experience could have been much better if the had say charged maybe about Rs. 2000 lesser per day.
But the thing that really put me off the place was the fact that they charge heavily for miscellaneous items (apart from their room rent ) like pickup form railway station and early or late checkout. One can hardly expect to get any public transport to their place since it is located outside the town area near the jhirna forest range and you have to cross a dry river bed (!!) to get to them. So i found it highly unreasonable that they charged for station drop and pickpup. Also most of the trains reach ramnagar(nearest railway station ) in the early morning and leave in the later part of night so their charging me 2000 Rs extra each for early checkin or checkout was also quite steep for me....And this too when the place wasnt overbooked or anything......

Room Tip: If you are travelling in winter stay in the tents . for summer the cottages are a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prakhar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamJJR, Manager at Jim's Jungle Retreat, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Prakhar,

We thank you for the extensive review and detailed feedback with regards to all aspects of your stay and experience with us @ Jim's Jungle Retreat. Please be assured that all the praises would be filtered down to our staff members, who are the prime reason of our high level of customer delight. Also, please allow us to address your concerns regarding the expenses incurred during your holiday.

At the outset, please note that we offer a Green Tariff for all our direct guests who chose to travel by Public Modes of Transportation. Green Tariff includes complimentary Early Check in / Late Check out and Transfers between Ramnagar Railway Station and the Retreat and is customised as per the arrival & departure schedules of the Train. This special tariff is only offered to our direct guests and is not available for guests who book through an intermediary - a Travel Agent or an Online Portal, as they offer reduced rates and two offers cannot be clubbed in the same booking!

Since we had received your booking through an Online Portal, which is an already reduced / discounted tariff, we were unable to pass on the previliges of the Green Tariff to you. Further, once we had received the request from your end for the extra Jeep & Canter Safaris and the extra Early Check in and Late Check out, we had forwarded all the requisite charges. We had requested for a formal approval from your end with regards to each and every aspect of the charges, and we had received the confirmations from your end for the same.

Please do note that the Portals clearly specify the package details / inclusions and it is an accepted hospitality industry standard that all extras have to be borne by the guests and paid for at the point of service delivery. At no point during your stay did we charge anything that was not informed, approved or availed during your stay with us. Further, running a Wildlife Lodging is a ''commercial'' activity where there are costs involved and taxes to be paid to the government. However, we still continue to focus on our wildlife specific individual guest needs and do not undertake quasi-commercial activitiesorganising DJ's, Conferences or Marriages in a wildlife sensitive environment.

The location of being in a Buffer Forest and away from the crowd of properties is actually a benefit for wildlifers, as there is a tremendous amount of wildlife movement around the Retreat. The Walks and the Cycling are conducted within reasonable limits of the Retreat keeping in mind the safety and security of our guests, as some of our guests have reported sightings in the surrounding forests and have even left reviews here.

We deeply appreciate your feedback and acknowledge the inputs with regards to the staff members and the food, and we are glad that your experience with our Team JJR will be one to cherish. Improvement is a continuous process and we will keep on at the efforts of evolution of Jim's Jungle Retreat into one of India's finest Wildlife Lodges.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    58
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
174
92
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

i stayed here for 2N/3D just a couple of days back. The resort is very peaceful and good place to relax and unwind BUT after a certain point of time you feel bored as they do not provide Television in rooms. I understand their philosophy of have a feel of the jungle but at atleast they should have a provision. There is hardly anything in and around the resort. Outside the resort there is absolutely nothing. The decor and furniture of rooms need updation urgently. Food is strictly average, there is lot of scope for improvement. I hated their policy of not keeping ketchup on every table, you need to ask for it everytime you required !!!! ....Weird ......Mineral water was served with bottle seals open (i suspect they dont use mineral water in those and it is just purified water in empty mineral water bottles). Bar-beque (u need to pay separately for this) was organized for dinners but was never ready on time (8.30 pm is the dinner time). I'm an early diner and the same was not ready even after i finished my meals. The only good thing about this resort i feel is their staff which is extremely efficient and forever smiling and helpful. I'm all praise for them to have come to receive me at 5am in the morning from Ramnagar railway stn. I think the wondeful staff is the sole reason why the resort is getting the few guests they have. One more thing they should provide dispensers in bathrooms for moisturizers as these are kept in small cups in which you have to dip your fingers everytime, not a very hygenic way.

Room Tip: i stayed in room no. 12 which was spacious and good for a family of four as it had a separate kids r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjeevM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamJJR, Manager at Jim's Jungle Retreat, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Sanjeev,

We thank you for your honest opinions with regards to the experience @ Jim's Jungle Retreat and appreciate the time taken to put your valuable feedback as a review to share with fellow travellers. Please be rest assured that we will take all the criticism on the chin and work towards transforming the Retreat into India's premier Wildlife Lodgings.

A Television is a hindrance in a wildlife environment, as we encourage our guests to explore the beauty of the surroundings, away from the hustle and bustle of the City. The day-to-day itinerary is customised with many wildlife related inclusions such as Corbett Interpretation Walks, Bird Watching Walks, Cycling Safaris, Village Walks and Wildlife Slideshows & Documentary sessions with our In-House Naturalists. We do understand that, not being used to such a quite environment may get a bit ''boring'', and we have made efforts to tune our Wilderness Activities to counter that.

We have Machaans for spending time with binoculars in trying to identify various Bird species that frequent the Retreat. The Cottages have 6 feet wide wraparound verandahs that give the guests privacy and open spaces to enjoy the surroundings in peace. The private Gazebos and various sit-outs further enhance the feeling of seclusion from the outside world. Further, We have made efforts to keep our Cottage Interiors very simple and elegant, and will take your feedback in improving the aesthetics to appeal to a much wider spectrum.

Mineral Water is only served in the Restaurant on request, and the Service staff would always ask before serving water at the tables. Our drinking water is fully treated, as you would expect in any FnB outlet, as per hospitality industry standards. If normal drinking water was served and you were charged for Mineral Water, then we would like to apologise for the error and would offer a complete refund of the charges. Also, ketchup is not a part of standard table lay-out and is part of the buffet for the Breakfast layout along with all the other condiments and preserves. The Lunch and Dinner menus usually do not require ketchup as a condiment, but we do serve it on request.

We apologise for the inordinate delay in the BBQ Snacks and would pass this important feedback to the Retreat for immediate rectification and staff briefing. We sincerely thank you for the kind words of praise for our staff, who are the prime reason for our high levels of Customer Delight and assure you that your words of encouragement have been forwarded to them. Improvement is a continuous process and we will always work towards being better in all aspects of our service delivery.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had stayed at Jim's Jungle Retreat as a couple for 3N/4D. It is a beautiful property in Corbett National Park. The staff was very courteous and provided for everything that we asked for. We celebrated out first marriage anniversary there and the entire team made it very special for us. Food was also very good. We stayed in the cottage, which is well maintained. The experience right from making the hotel bookings till the time we left was loads of fun though we never saw a tiger. We saw a jackal, an elephant, a fox and so many deer. Will definitely love to come back and for a longer duration.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This place was recommended by a friend who had stayed there a couple of weeks before our visit. We opted for it as the place we were planning on was full. And am I glad that it was full! JRR is a great place to stay - the rooms, the food, the ambience, but best of all the service. right from the call to their Delhi office (to check on room rates and facilities) to the staff at the resort itself, the service was excellent. We reached late - 11pm - and after a couple of calls to find out our schedule, they kept dinner service waiting for us. Prior to that, they had a jeep waiting at Dhela village to guide us to the resort in the dark! The next day we had an early morning 7 hour safari and they had a breakfst packed for us! It is small touches like these that make a stay comfortable and the holiday memorable! That we saw a tiger on our first safari was cherry on the cake!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mangala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed for 5 days at the retreat and the overall experience of fantastic. The staff is attentive and service prompt. We had no trouble making our bookings and opted for a night in the forest which i recommend to anyone wanting a true jungle safari experience. We had our stay at Dhikala, which has stunning grasslands and fabulous intuitive guides. This brings me to the next big win for JJR their naturalist and drivers who are patient, intuitive and knowledgeable about the region, species, etc and are willing to share their experiences with guests. The documentary each evening followed with exchange of safari stories with other guests just adds a new dimension to the travel. The food can be improved and there is always scope to take the service provided to the next level, but JJR has it's fundamentals right..clean rooms, courteous staff, excellent naturalist and a true intent from everyone on the team to make your travel and experiences come alive.

Room Tip: While planning your trip, ask for a night stay at the forest. For a quasi jungle experience opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbnplgrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We loved this resort, with its large cottages and big open verandahs. We had three days here; 2 safaris and an elephant ride. Great fun by all accounts even though we never saw as tiger. We saw a jackle, wild elephants and loads of dear. The food in the restaurant was great and the service was excellant. Will try to allow more time next time we are in the area. Pool was clean and inviting and certainly a highlighte for the children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet-Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

What marks this place out is just how genuinely helpful staff are. It's so open and welcoming with the resort staff truly making you feel like you were staying with a family. The quality of the accomodation was superb and the bird life in the resort let alone in the Corbett Park has got to be seen and heard to be believed. This place is bird heaven. We stayed in a lodge for four nights although for one night we had booked into a government guest house in the core Dhikala range where they don't allow day tripppers. We did see a tiger and literally tens of elephants, various kinds of deer, boars, peacock's and so many beautiful birds. Just being in some of the last virgin forests left in India was amazing. Food was great and our young one's loved the place. We will go back again and again in the coming years.I really hope they don't make it too expensive and price out locals from the market to make it a completely foreigner only resort.

Room Tip: Ask to spend a night in Dhikala in one of the forest guest houses. Jim's will facilitate it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setlur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
7.1 mi away
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
#1 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
9.3 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#5 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Solluna Resort
The Solluna Resort
#3 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#4 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Gateway Resort Corbett
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim's Jungle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim's Jungle Retreat

Property: Jim's Jungle Retreat
Address: Village & PO - Dhela, Ramnagar | Corbett Tiger Reserve, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#1 Family Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jim's Jungle Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jim’s Jungle Retreat - an eco-sensitive wildlife lodge that invites you to the Seek the Tiger, Find the Jungle. Rated exceptional by our patrons, we look forward to hosting you with personalized service and attention to detail. Set astride in Raj-camp style, among wild trees and water bodies, your suite’s unique eco-systems provide personal sanctuary on 15 acres of terrain.Instinct-sharpening moments are guaranteed in this ‘land of roar and trumpet song', with unique jeep and elephant safaris and nature walks. Or relax by the pool and relish our scrumptious local cuisine.A forest environment awaits you at the retreat, located along the buffer forest of Corbett National Park’s southern edge. Aloof from civilization, the seasonal river nearby hosts grazing deer, root-digging wild hog and migrating elephant herds that can be enjoyed from the safety of our solar fenced property. Our water bodies and forest cover, planted over a decade, are now home to several bird and smaller mammalian species.As an eco-sensitive lodge with 18 residences spread over 15 acres, our conservation practices include waste management, the use of solar energy, organic vegetables grown for the table and the recycling of bath water through a root-zone treatment plant for irrigation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jim's Jungle Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim`s Jungle Retreat Hotel Corbett
Jims Jungle Retreat Ramnagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing