We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's Egg”
Review of El Pangue Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pangue Lodge
Crewkerne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Curate's Egg”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We arrived early evening for a one night stopover pre-season, after 70k of roadworks on the Carretera Austral. So neither we nor El Pangue were at our best. The cabin was superb; very comfortable and with great views. The staff in general were friendly. But the evening meal was a disappointing selection of food from the freezer, some of which was barely thawed. Breakfast was fine. I guess we were a bit jaded and a bit unlucky.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secalbare, Propietario at El Pangue Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello, I hope your doing well.

Your opinion has been very helpfull to improve our services, thats why now we have a very profesional team for our Restaurant. We have a international Chef and his assitant, a local Cook, and a very good pastry cook.
They are comitted to deliver a very local and fresh food service in the best standard possible.

Best Regards and we hope that you visit us soon in Carretera Austral and try our improved cousine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We spend two nights in a nice hut in the hotel parc area with big pangue plants near the lake. The restaurant offered a good dinner in the evening. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I had the best meal of our 5 weeks in Chile here -- if there are enough guests who want the BBQ then you're in luck. Do firmly commit -- another couple who said they might show up didn't, but a BBQ was prepared for them anyhow because they'd be mad if they showed up and there wasn't enough food. Which was great for me - I got to gorge myself on the best ribs I've ever had in my life... Also, my glasses broke, and it seemed that just about everyone on the staff came up with clever ideas to fix them, and the thread plus masking tape remedy lasted until I got home 4 weeks later and had them properly repaired. The staff there were wonderful (like the rest of the people you'll meet in Chile).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energyskeptic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secalbare, Propietario at El Pangue Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello, we hope you are doing well.

We are very grateful for your opinion and happy that you enjoy our Patagonian style lamb BBQ.

Best Regards and we hope you visit us in the Carretera Austral soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Beatifully place, clean and quite, excellent service
Service versus price - excellent

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We had planned to stay at El Pangue just before Christmas for 3 days while traveling north on the Carreterra Austral. We changed our mind immediately upon arriving. We arrived (3 adults and a child) and felt immediately that it was too quiet for us and too limited to fishing. The prices implied a somewhat different establishment. We returned to Puyuhuappi and stayed (Alemana) before moving to the Lodge and Spa. Our stay in Puyuhuappi village was actually the cheapest and the most pleasant. El Pangue isn't in the southern part of Quelat (the most beautiful) and was too far from the town of Puyuhuapi (very scenic). We were expecting something a little more lively in a very different location. For individuals looking for the traditional male oriented Fishing Lodge this is probably fine. We were hoping for a more family oriented resort after reading about El Pangue in Frommer's. There is a Lodge in the Southern part of Quelat, near the entry to the park from Puyuhuappi and on the Fjord that looks amazing.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Amazing place! This EcoLodge is located at the bank of the Risopatron lake, and 18 KM from Puyuhuapi, Chile. The lodge has large room cabins, and the surrounds are amazing. The lake is HUGE! This place services excellent food, with an excellent staff that speak very good English. The place is excellent for families, other adventure mined folk. There is a good wine selection, and the main hotel lodge is a wonderful lobby room. Internet access is avaiable. The only down side is the remoteness of this place. This is 18 km south of Puyuhuapi, which is not easy to get to. Otherwise, wonderful place, to bring family, or friends to. Close to Quelat national park! Stay at this place!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gsahagun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2007

The cabins are very large, clean, & nicely maintained. The bathrooms are also roomy & surprisingly modern. The main lodge has a pretty decent restaurant--try the BBQ'd lamb. It's located on the beautiful Risopatron Lake, which is perfect for kayaking or canoeing. The staff aren't very friendly, but are generally competant.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hirogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyuhuapi
15.9 mi away
Hotel Espacio y Tiempo
Hotel Espacio y Tiempo
#1 of 1 in La Junta
104 reviews
17.3 mi away
Puyuhuapi Lodge & Spa
Puyuhuapi Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Puyuhuapi
236 reviews
23.3 mi away
Posada Estuario Queulat
Posada Estuario Queulat
#1 of 1 in Queulat National Park
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hostel y Cabanas Augusto Grosse
Show Prices

Been to El Pangue Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pangue Lodge

Property: El Pangue Lodge
Address: Carretera Austral Km 240 | Ribera Norte lago Risopatron, Puyuhuapi 6010000, Chile
Region: Chile > Aisen Region > Puyuhuapi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Puyuhuapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to explore the heart and soul of Patagonia, a place where the fresh air and clear waters join in harmony with a vast green forest, giving form to the rivers and fjords of the south of the world.Located 18 Km (11 Mi) North of the quaint town of Puyahuapi in the South of Chile, near the Carretera Austral and on the northen shore of Lake Risopatrón, El Pangue Lodge is nestled in the dense cold jungle, the native vegetation of the Chilean Patagonia, unique to this special part of the world.The Lodge is surrounded by the Queulat National Park, one of the most beautiful and iconic places in the Chilean Patagonia, known for it’s unspoiled beauty and magnificent scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Pangue Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing