We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Lisbon - House & School
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“best choice”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very best choice of destination and experience. The house has a great atmosphere from the very beginning as you enter, tasteful decoration, good vibe. In the morning, together with the view it gives you the best mood. Great surf instructors, friendly and passionate about teaching you, according to your style! And they have good tips for very good local restaurants!

Room Tip: double room (ocean side) is really good, has the great view, is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabella_Orosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
25
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From the welcoming smile of the owner to the personal touches of the interior LSH is certainly a well thought about and well loved hostel. I would recommend this place to anyone. A very relaxed atmosphere where you feel instantly at home, friendly staff, very clean, beautiful decor. Fab! A little gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was probably the best holidays we ever had, the guys are super friendly and their smiles really come from deep within their hearts. The location is stunning, the house's interior is very tastefully decorated. The whole place breathes an intensely contagious passion for surfing.

Room Tip: The rooms of the first floor have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgiliu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great house, great surf instructors, great waves, nice village, nice atmosphere with the other surfers in the house. Great breakfast as well! The only minus was the noise of the trains nearby during the night, so bring earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonSurfHouse, Manager at Surf Lisbon - House & School, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Annika, thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback. Soon we´ll have some ear plugs available for those who even after surfing the whole day can´t sleep.

Thank you so much and hope to welcome you again soon at Lisbon Surf House!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping County, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I just love this house because of its cosy style. It is really neat and the owners make their best to make you feel home. Great start of the day in the garden (sometimes with a cat without tail), sipping a caffe or freshly squeezed orange juice from the breakfast table..and waiting for the surf-van to pick you up for the surf session. You can reach the center easily by train which function almost like a subway...for urban transportation.
I have been here 3 times so far and I will continue with this habit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonSurfHouse, General Manager at Surf Lisbon - House & School, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Timi,

thank you so much for your positive feedback. As we´ve told before you are now almost part of the furniture so anytime you´re always welcome back for more surfing days in our Lisbon´s good waves.

Hope to see you soon again at Lisbon Surf House and al the best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

From the minute Susanna met me at the airport I knew I was going to have a great trip. I really felt that Susanna, Nuno and David really care about their guests having a great experience at the Surf House.
The traditional house and stylish decor are really well presented, clean and cosy. Perfect for relaxing after a long day surfing. Even the train basically running through the garden has its own charm! Stayed in the lovely attic room with a sea view, sharing room and bathroom with other guests, but this was no problem as its all laid out so well. Lovely breakfast! It was a like a homely hotel, nothing like a hostel and great value for money.
There is a welcoming atmosphere created by the owners, and it helped that there was a great group of people staying there too. Some great nights of wine and food in the garden getting to know some interesting and amazing people from all over the world.
Surf teachers were really dedicated and really want you to succeed, even when you feel like you can't swallow any more sea. Kept encouraging me and analysing my technique to help me improve. Great beach, time to chill between lessons and fantastic bar next to surf school.
This was a great experience as I was travelling alone and had no idea what to expect. I returned home happier, relaxed, more confident and with a few more friends! So glad I found Surf House, hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: Double rooms at front escape train noise. Attic room is the best shared room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imogen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSurfHouse, Manager at Surf Lisbon - House & School, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Emma, thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback.
Hope to see you soon and... keep surfing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lisbon Surf House is the place to be if you looking for nice accommodation and really friendly and professional instructors for your trip. We have surfed few times in other places, but never improved as much in short time as with LSH/Puro Surf lessons. The beach where we surfed in Caparica has nice sandy bottom and the waves suited well for first timers as well as little more experienced. And what really makes the difference, David, Nuno and the other guys really wanted us to learn to read the sea, get the waves and ride them properly, giving tips and feedback all the time.

The location of the house is convenient also when you want to experience other things than waves. The Caxias train station is just few steps away and by train it is about 15 mins to Lisbon or 20 to Cascais in the other direction.

Room Tip: both private double rooms in upstairs were great. Shared bathrooms (3) worked smoothly even when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSurfHouse, Manager at Surf Lisbon - House & School, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Timo & Marjo, it was such a pleasure to welcome you at Lisbon Surf House. Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we´ll be waiting for your next surftrip to... Surf Lisbon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oeiras
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
1.2 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
95 reviews
8.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real Oeiras
Hotel Real Oeiras
#1 of 1 in Oeiras
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Lisbon - House & School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Lisbon - House & School

Property: Surf Lisbon - House & School
Address: Estrada Marginal, Rua Direita de Caxias, 38 | Caxias, Oeiras 2780, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Surf House)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Oeiras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Oeiras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other European city matches so well the word Surf as Lisbon does. It was around its beaches that Surfing was born in Portugal, with different waves for all ages and levels along with a climate that allows people to enjoy the beach all year round. Adding to this, Lisbon itself, is full of history, culture, sports, gastronomy, nightlife and a great heritage of endless virtues waiting to welcome you. Surf Lisbon - House & School states as the reference in Surf Schools market in Lisbon area, so named by the thousands of people that over the past 5 years, under the former name Puro Surf, with which we shared the values of this sport, who are keen to give us feedback and come back to Surf Lisbon. Besides being a Surf School with certified instructors, the best and adequate equipment, transport to drive you to the beach, we also manage a design Surf House to accomodate you comfortably during your stay in Lisbon. The XIX century house, beach front, with private and shared rooms, fresh breakfast served combined with a surfing environment and high standard of quality service makes your vacation unique in Surf Lisbon - House & School. Surf Lisbon - House and School is owned by a family runned company named Surf is On, Lda. It is certified as a Maritime Touristic Operator by Turismo de Portugal, I.P., (n. 333 /2014), it is licensed by the Portuguese Federation for Surf (n. 180) and also by the Captaincy of the Port of Lisbon Authority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Surf Lisbon - House & School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing