We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Little House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Lisbon - House & School
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Found the Lisbon Surf House online via surf holidays.com and I have to say I loved my stay here. Nuno & Susannah were very welcoming and I had an amazing break!

The house is easy to get to via public transport typically taking 90 minutes from airport to front door (but Nuno can pick you up for around €40). The metro and train costs around €5.

We had a private double room at the front of the house overlooking the road. The windows closed so it wasn't noisy and we could sleep. Some of the rooms at the back were noisier though as the train track was at the bottom of the garden and trains run 0400-0200!

Our room was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast was served daily and consisted of bread, cheese, ham & jams plus yoghurt & cornflakes. The bonus was freshly squeezed orange juice every morning.

Surf lessons were great - the instructors passionate and helped give tips.

There were only a few restaurants in the LSH area but we easily got the train to Alcantara as there were an abundance of restaurants underneath the big red bridge!

Would definitely return in the future as we had an amazing time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I wanted to mix a life goal (learning how to surf) with a nice a nice short vacation in a place where is hot weather and photographic sights. And the Lisbon Surf House full package didn't disappoint! Shared room travelling by myself.

On my arrival I was met by the friendly owner, who drove me straight to the house, showed me around and I instantly started making friends with the other groups, singles and couples who were pretty much just like me (beginners to surfing). Over the week, I learnt how to surf and even got to catch several waves on my own. The trainers help you every step of the way as you spend most of the day down the beach. Very nice breakfast every morning as part of your stay, and in the evenings, you have the choice of eating at home or going out into Lisbon or visiting the local restaurants for awesome food and parties. As long as you're a sociable person, you will have a lovely experience in the gorgeous house and on your days off go on the train and metro and experience Lisbon. I'm a photographer and I love every minute of my time around the city, as it's a very pretty place.

Can't approve the whole experience enough if you're looking for a low cost active vacation especially if you're a beginner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nuno the owner is an incredible host. He took me to a load of surf spots and gave me good advice on others. The staff are great and the location near the train station is convenient. Will definitely try and go back asap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Surf house I know it was going to be a brilliant weekend. The guest house was big, clean and well looked after. Nuno and the team gave us all the information we needed about local shops and restaurants. We had two surf lessons over the weekend, both ran on for a little longer than we'd actually paid for because the guys could see how much fun we were having. They are great instructors. Nuno also recommended a great restaurant and then made a couple of calls to get us on the guest list for a club.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Clean, Safe, with a great social environment. Staff is really cool and lots of fun! Surf camp is a GREAT workout. Surf house is right near the train so you can get to Downtown easily. There are also some great bars that are walkable from the surf house if you want a low key beer after a long day of surfing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The guest house has a very friendly atmosphere with plenty of room to hang out with like minded people. The instructors are helpful and easy going as are Nuno and Susana. Perfect for beginners, We were standing on the boards within the first day

Stayed: July 2014
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I arrived Lisbon on Christmas Day. Nuno and his wife picked us at the airport and drove us to the house before they showed us around. The rooms were decorated nicely, and the bathrooms were large and clean. A good looking breakfast buffet was included. The kitchen was functional and clean.

The house was nice, but the service by Nuno and his wife made the stay perfect. She dropped by with cakes and surprises for everyone. Nuno was very positive, supportive, eager and helpful.

We also ordered surf lessons for a week. 5 two-a-day sessions with enthusiastic surf instructors. They drove us around to different beaches to find the best surf of the day.

We've been in Portugal to surf three times, and the stay here was as perfect as they come!!

Highly recommended!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank BrentHackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oeiras hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real Oeiras
Hotel Real Oeiras
#1 of 1 in Oeiras
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inatel Oeiras
Inatel Oeiras
#2 of 2 in Oeiras
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Oeiras Beach
#3 of 5 in Oeiras
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Lisbon - House & School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Lisbon - House & School

Address: Estrada Marginal, Rua Direita de Caxias, 38 | Caxias, Oeiras 2780, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Surf House)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Oeiras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Oeiras
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other European city matches so well the word Surf as Lisbon does. It was around its beaches that Surfing was born in Portugal, with different waves for all ages and levels along with a climate that allows people to enjoy the beach all year round. Adding to this, Lisbon itself, is full of history, culture, sports, gastronomy, nightlife and a great heritage of endless virtues waiting to welcome you. Surf Lisbon - House & School states as the reference in Surf Schools market in Lisbon area, so named by the thousands of people that over the past 5 years, under the former name Puro Surf, with which we shared the values of this sport, who are keen to give us feedback and come back to Surf Lisbon. Besides being a Surf School with certified instructors, the best and adequate equipment, transport to drive you to the beach, we also manage a design Surf House to accomodate you comfortably during your stay in Lisbon. The XIX century house, beach front, with private and shared rooms, fresh breakfast served combined with a surfing environment and high standard of quality service makes your vacation unique in Surf Lisbon - House & School. Surf Lisbon - House and School is owned by a family runned company named Surf is On, Lda. It is certified as a Maritime Touristic Operator by Turismo de Portugal, I.P., (n. 333 /2014), it is licensed by the Portuguese Federation for Surf (n. 180) and also by the Captaincy of the Port of Lisbon Authority. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing