We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer holiday at a Twin Waters Apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Twin Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sebel Twin Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Summer holiday at a Twin Waters Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We made a last minute booking to go to an apartment at Grand Mercure Twin Waters Apartments so were pleasantly surprised with our apartment when we actually got into it.

Unfortunately we received the worst check in service we have ever experienced. On arrival just after 2.00pm, which was the time we had advised on booking we were told our apartment wasn't ready. We were told to come back in half an hour so we went away and got a few provisions. On return we were again told it wasn't ready and to come back again so had to request our cold grocery items were put in the refrigerator. It was close to 4.00pm when we finally got in so I would be wary of this when booking again. When this is the only experience you tend to have with the management it's very disappointing when it is so pathetic.

When we finally got into our apartment we were pleased to find it very spacious and well appointed. We are a family with 2 sons 16 and 13 and found the apartment to be perfect. Although a fair walk from the Resort we still enjoyed the flexibility of being able to use the resort facilities as well as our own private pool outside the building. Our apartment was well equipped with everything needed kitchen wise and also included about 20 dvd's as a bonus. Our apartment didn't have a view but had a nice outlook into the gardens and so was very private. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you were happy with the apartment and the resort in general. It was unfortunate that your check in was delayed on the day of arrival. We do try very hard to ensure that the product we provide to our guests is of the highest standard which was apparent in you kind review. We like many family resorts are challenged over peak periods with the shear volume and extra cleaning required to present to the standard we want to present to our valued guests. From time to time we are delayed in returning the room back for entry. This is not the norm for our resort.

We do normally advise all guests waiting for their apartment that they can use the facilities at the Resort & offer to have any items that need storing of refrigeration that we will happily take care of them.

again I am very sorry we did not have the room ready on your arrival but we do want to ensure we provide a quality product in terms of cleanliness where ever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    136
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
250
63
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great stay.beautiful beaches and lagoon for swimming.Pools thought the resort.There were 5of us and we had a three bedroom. So spacious it would be bigger than most European homes. We were not crowded. Very well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for Lagoon View. But every apartment has a great view.I have stayed there quite a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurnoel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
thankyou for you kind review on Trip Advisor I was pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay with us over the Festive Season, we are very fortunate to be able to provide a quality product to our valued guests, we do hope that we have the opportunity to invite you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

There are probably others you should avoid also - the main problem with ours was that for part of our stay we had a barking and wandering dog next door. Obviously owners of apartments and beach houses do not need to adhere to the same no pets policy of those renting through Grand Mercure - so my advice would be to ask for an apartment that was next door to one that is in the rental pool - at least then you would expect them to be pet free. As far as the resort goes it has seen better days - we have been here a few times and it just does not look like it is up to scratch in terms of the buildings and management - not sure adults wandering around the resort with stubbies of beer is a good look for this place. Found it odd that the lagoon activity centre packs up at 5pm - it's summer - still plenty of light left. Oh and make sure you have your wrist band on or you'll get harrassed by activity staff - we're guests not villains - how about you learn some manners? Overall it seems to be a shadow of its former self and needs a kick start or clean out to get back to where it was - in terms of pricing it isn't competitive with other places up the coast anyway - look around and you'll find heaps of better options than here. I'm sure there'll be a response from management about the resort and blah blah blah but if you have read their responses to other criticisms by other posters you'll see that it is all a bit formulaic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post you review on Trip advisor. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. We do share the Resort with Owner Occupiers that can get permission from the relevant authorities to keep pets as they reside here. In saying this we do need to consider the peace and enjoyment of all guests and residents so if there is a noise complaint made to our office we do act on this immediately.
We do try very hard to ensure that the cleanliness quality and presentation of our apartments are kept to a high standard where ever possible. We do ensure that we look at every comment made as constructive feed back and try to act on problem incidences that are in our control. I do hope that we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I joined my son's family, a party including an 18 year old, 15 year old, 10 and 4 year old and there was something to interest all ages in conjunction with the adjoining Twin Waters Resort. Located about 5 kms by road to Maroochydore, and a lesser distance to Maroochydore airport, the property is beautifully located on the Maroochy River, across the road from an ocean beach and overlooks the large lake of the Twin Waters Resort.
Although all facilities of the Resort are available free to Grand Mercure Guests, trapeze school, a lake with kayaks, hobie cats, paddle boards and surf boards(for hire0 for use across the road, the bar and restaurant are very expensive for a family and a 4 star resort. Unfortunately we heard that they were considering charging for the use of some marine equipment, in particular the stand up paddle boards. I see this as greed and a backward step, as most resorts in Australia, and overseas, supply non motorised equipment to guests as part of their
"package"

Fortunately the spacious Grand Mercure Apartments have full kitchen facilities, microwave, oven, large fridge and Webber Barbeques and there is a good shopping precinct with a large supermarket, bakery and pub at nearby Mudjimba. I would recommend this or home deliveries over dining and regularly drinking at the Resort.
There are also several pools scattered around the Grand Mercure as well as the lake, beach, river and Twin Waters' large pool.
Beware, Twin Waters Resort can be very busy and noisy if there is a conference on and rooms there are now quite tired and need a refurb.
Grand Mercure Apartments are highly recommended, a very pleasant place to stayt, especially for families and groups of friends, with a few kangaroos are a bonus.

Room Tip: Request an apartment overlooking the lake, preferably on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to post your kind review on Trip advisor. I was please to read that you enjoyed you stay with us at Grand Mercure Twin Waters. I will ensure that I pass on you feed back to my colleague at the Novotel so he can review their procedures. I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a lovely 4 days in a 2 bed apartment here. the grounds of the novotel resort are lovely for a walk to watch the jumping fish, water dragons and abundant wilddlife, the facilities on hand are excellent(if a little dated) Was sad that the water trampoline was not in use during our stay as this was one of the reasons I had chosen the accommodation. However our kids were fine with the separate pool in the apartments. Our apartment was great, only the twin beds were a little hard and could do with a pillow top as it was warm the kids slept on top of the duvet and were ok. The food at the resort bar was ok,(pizza and chips typical bar food) but a huge fridge freezer and BBQ at the apartment, Coles nearby made this a good value holiday. The complex was extremely quiet during weekdays and tolerably busy at the weekend. There was noise from kids in the apartment above us early in the morning but hey with Queensland not participating in daylight saving you want to get up early anyway!
Had a little problem locking the entrance door but this was quickly resolved by the resort management who were friendly and efficient.
NB One point to note if you have young kids is that the doors to the apartment cannot be locked from the inside so if you have a little runaway or a sleepwalker (my kids used to) then it could be a bit tricky!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
It was a pleasure to read you very kind comments on Trip Advisor. Its always great to see that the work we do for our valued guests is received in the spirit it is intended. We do hope to welcome you back to Grand Mercure Twin Waters in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in a 3 bed villa (117) starting on a Tuesday.

The villa was fantastic, much more than we expected to be honest, pretty much everything we needed and expected from a self contained apartment, lots of space for the kids, outdoor balcony to relax once the little ones were off to bed and two bathrooms!

The resort itself was great for us as a family (2yr old and 4yr old) as you didn't really have to leave if you didn't want to. The first few days were great because it wasn't busy, just walk up and take a catamaran or kayak and off you go (no extra charges for those), getting onto the water trampoline was also good fun and again, no hassle with the amount of people at the beginning. On Saturday it got much busier so the trampoline with its 10 person limit was overrun and there were waits for kayaks and catamarans. Maybe we were spoilt by the first few days - no biggie though, we just enjoyed the pools. The pool near the villa was empty and the one in the resort was fine too.

Lots of wildlife around (wallabies for the little ones, lizards and things).

Great location sandwiched between the surf on the east and the river on the west with easy access to both.

We did not eat at the resort, the restaurant was a little pricey, we were self catered so it was fine.

We did make use of the on site kids care where we booked the little ones in for 3 hours so we had a nice break - the girls at the club were great and the kids enjoyed a break from us too :)

Overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay, would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thankyou for you kind review, we are very fortunate to be able to have the use of our sister properties facilities as it does add to the overall experience of our resort. The reciprocal arrangement does have its advantages over similar products on the coast. We do hope that we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudjimba
1.8 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
17.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
16.1 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Twin Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Twin Waters

Property: The Sebel Twin Waters
Address: 80 North Shore Rd | Sunshine Coast, Mudjimba, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mudjimba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mudjimba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Twin Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Twin Waters is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained Apartments and Beach Houses, situated in an exclusive gated precinct, bordered by the Mudjimba patrolled surf beach, the Maroochy River and a private man-made lagoon full of activities like paddle skis, catamarans water trampoline & a inflatable water park charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sebel Twin Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments Hotel Mudjimba
The Sebel Twin Waters Mudjimba, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing