We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real Monterrey
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights at the Camino Real for work. It's in a safe area, and has many restaurant options at the mall next door. If you'd rather not venture out, room service is good as well. I also liked the fact that the taxi back to the airport can be billed to your room in advance. Overall, if you find yourself in Monterrey, this is a solid choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NLG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    153
    68
    27
    29
See reviews for
32
35
14
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I found the Camino Real to be a wonderful hotel!

The room was spacious enough for me to do my daily exercise routine. I had a king size bed with a very comfortable mattress, however- there are 9 pillows on the bed and a TON of blankets. Now I'm from up north, Chicago- and I'm typically always hot. So I found all the blankets to be overkill. I generally crank the air conditioning down as low as it can go and sleep with just a single sheet. So it was a pain to pull all those blankets off every night, but that's my issue- not the hotel's.

The windows are covered with two roller shades on chains. The outer most shade sits in a groove cut into the window frame and is totally opaque so it can block out all the light. Sadly, one of my windows, the shade would not stay in the groove and as the sun came up it lit up the room. However- i usually plan ahead and bring a sleeping mask- and this trip was no exception.

Bathroom is quite large but for some reason there weren't any locks on either of the bathroom or toilet stall door. i thought it odd, but i was alone so- whatever. The shower head could use some CLR as it seemed to have a bit of mineral build up.

TV- i didn't watch any. I have a Slingbox back home which i connected to over the hotel WiFi and it worked quite well. WiFi is strong and allowed me to stream TV shows from my home back in Chicago. The desk area has a Herman Miller chair- I was quite impressed by it and wanted to take it home.

I had a chance to dine at both restaurants. The Italian restaurant was very good and laid back. The pan-Asian Kyo Grill was excellent and would be perfect for a date night. It is a bit dark in the Kyo Grill so you may have trouble reading the menu. The decor is quite wonderful and there's like a 50 foot Buddha statue in the room. It's really something to see. Prices are on par with other mid to high end hotel restaurants, read- expect to spend about 40 dollars US per person before tax, tip, and drinks.

I didn't wander out past the hotel much as i was spending most my time at my company's factory. However, there is a huge mall a half block away and a Starbucks is there as well if you just can't seem to live without your grande triple shot, no whip, caramel, and whatever else you can think of mocha.

I can recommend this hotel and put it on par with the other fine hotels in Monterrey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatatjoes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel had very nice decor and amenities that included a nice gym with free weights and a loooong lap pool with comfortable chairs to lay on. I also liked the location as it was next to a mall with restaurants and a Starbucks. The also have a nice all-around restaurant called BiCe for all meals and an outstanding asian restaurant called Kyo with decor liked I've not seen before...very authentic.

Some of the downsides were you had to pay for internet, the "guest" lounge offered continental breakfast but you had to pay, the shower head could not be adjusted and pointed straight down with a low flow head, and (this may sound weird), but there were too many light switches...I could not figure out sometimes how to turn a specific light off : )

Overall, I was pleased with the hotel and I would stay there again on my trip down.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Wm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Ok ok ok I know it's more like a business class hotel in Monterrey than a family one, but let's put it like that. It's located in one of the best areas of the city, it has a straight pass I one of the biggest malls in town, great architecture, awesome mattresses, a Starbucks right nest to it!!! Clean, and affordable. I just love to stay here!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Camino Real in Monterrey is just OK for an almost-old Hotel.
It serves well the business traveler; rooms are spacious and well furnished, although some items really need an upgrade: TV is TERRIBLE (very few channels and the worst image quality), shower heads need to be de-clogged.
For some reason, check-in and check-out is always full and somehow slow.
A little expensive for what it offers, but Hotel Location is really good: right next door to a new, upscale mall with many, many dining/bar options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in Camino real monterrey in a business trip. A colleague older than me also got a room in the same hotel. We both liked very much the location, by its side you can grab Starbucks coffee and the shopping mall is just in its right, 1 minute walk. There are amazing bars and restaurants in the 2nd floor and 3 food courts for fast food.
I requested breaskfast and internet to be included in the charge and I found it less expensive than having the individual services there.
They have swimming pool which i did not use, they have a gym center, very simple, but enough for working out and very clean, free bottle of water available. Open up till late.
The breakfast restaurant (mezanino) is formal , so wait to be seated. Food is amazing ...
Some evenings there were people knocking my door to ofdfer complimentary bottle of water, I liked that.
I would recommend this hotel and if have the chance to come back to Monterrey that´s the place I would choose.

Room Tip: The shopping mall view is better because you will have more privacy...the one to the street is not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had to go to Monterrey for work and I was not happy that I couldn't stay at a Hilton or Starwood property. But, once I checked in, I was quite pleased. The bathroom is 'to die' with a beautiful lighting arrangement that makes anyone look glamorous. The rainfall shower was high pressured and comforting every morning. The closet and drawers being in the bathroom made getting ready for work every morning a breeze (I wonder why more hotels don't adopt this approach). The next best part of my stay was the Bistro restaurant, which had a fantastic breakfast buffet with an omelet bar, that also was opened for entree orders when finished my workday at 10pm. Hotel service, in general, was endearing and warm, and housekeeping did a great job. Finally the KYO restaurant is a treat to be experienced, if you get the chance. The floating Buddha was jaw dropping. I highly recommend this hotel/

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Garza Garcia hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Monterrey
Quinta Real Monterrey
#6 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Monterrey
NH Collection Monterrey
#2 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ms Milenium
Ms Milenium
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#3 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
#13 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Monterrey

Property: Camino Real Monterrey
Address: Avenida Diego Rivera 2492, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 66200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Monterrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Camino Real account with Business Center, Droug Store, Pool, Gym , Spa , Bar , Meeting Rooms, Helipad, access Camino Real Club and Restaurants Bice Bistro and Kyo Grill. Our Schedule: Business Center and Droug Store Monday to Friday7:00 am - 10: 00 pm, Saturday and Sunday 09:00am to 17:00pm Bice Bisto Monday to Sunday 06:00 am - 1:00 am Kyo Grill Monday to Saturday 7:00 pm - 2:00 am Spa 8:30 am to 8:00 pm Pool 8:00 am to 8:00 pm Gym 6:00 am -11:00 pm The Hotel Camino Real is located in Valle Oriente , the most exclusive area of Monterrey where can perform tourist activities or business close to major attractions , for example by located steps from the Mall Plaza Fiesta San Agustin and Main Entrance a spacious outdoor area and terraces of restaurants Premium and Gourmet. Located just 20 minutes from Paseo Santa Lucia, 2.5 Km artificial lake . Also 12km south of Monterrey, is Chipinque , nature reserve, for walking , cycling practice , climbing, Free Flight , with a spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Monterrey Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
Camino Real Monterrey San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico - Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing