We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fastastic Experience”

Kibale National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$743.00*
and up
Uganda Kibale Forest National Park: Guided Hiking Day Tour from Kampala
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Kasese
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park features one of the most diverse primate populations found anywhere.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Fastastic Experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We did the Chimpanzee Habituation Experience, which is an all-day trek Kibale National Forest tracking the chimps. A driver picked us up at 5:00AM and dropped us off at the park around 6:30AM (and this included time trying to figure out how to get past a fallen tree in the road!). We trekked from 7:00AM all the way until nearly 3:00PM. It was tiring toward the end, but worth it. We saw approximately 30 chimps or more that day. Sometimes they were way up in the trees; and other times either relaxing on the ground or frantically running/screaming through the forest!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    32
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very memorable day”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a fantastic time on our chimpanzee trek. Our guide, Jessica was knowledgeable and humorous and we spent about 4 hours in total within the forest. We came across a chimp fairly early into our hike and it was like he lead us to his family. They put on a show both on and above ground. Be wary of where you stand as their toilet habits are not restricted to the ground! It is amazing at how close you can get to them, and there were plenty of great photo opportunities. Make sure you do your research and wear the appropriate clothing and take plenty of water with you. Definitely one the highlights of our Ugandan experience, and well worth doing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NinAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WONDERFULL”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

the way animals are inhabiting this park is really a wonder of God. the park is full of many spacies of animals and the organization and management of the park is well customized to suit customer needs

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GORETTITOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We saw Chimps with guides good help..they put on a real performance for us which we all loved..”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We liked the forrest and the fact that all ages and abilities could enjoy the easy walk and also see the Chimps..Red ants make it necessary to wear appropriate sox, shoes and pants..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 2mzungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The beauty of Kibale National Park”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Kibale National park has one of the greatest concentration of primates with over 13 species. This cannot be found anywhere in East Africa apart from Kibale.
You will also be blessed with various bird species in the forests for those who are interested in bird watching and nature walks.
Some of the primates include; L'Hoest's, the colobus monkey, Pottos, red colobus, olive baboon and several others.

The locals do run most of these tours and are responsible for the animals and they do understand the protection of these endangered primate species, therefore the revenue collected is mainly for these people.

A perfect place for a holiday and nature walks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sseggembe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kibale National Park also viewed

 
Kibale National Park, Western Region
 

Been to Kibale National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing