We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly inviting pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of George and Dragon

George and Dragon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erlestoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Erlestoke B&B and Inns
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly inviting pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

A really lovely country pub. Fires lit, cozy and warm. The food is amazing too. Locally sourced and freshly cooked. The burgers are delicious as is the fish and chips. Really worth a visit. good beer and wine selection and they do homemade bar snacks too, fabulous chef who knows how to cook!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Booked for 6 for Sunday lunch, very good service, price for food acceptable, the beef roast and vegetables we're very well cooked and delicious! couldn't find any faults at all! Would highly recommend this wonderful warm and welcoming pub to anyone! Definitely will be back again! :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyg0luckyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Called in here for a drink after walking dogs (dog friendly) - very friendly welcome from the Landlady who took over the pub in September, did some renovation then re-opened in November.

Whilst renovated, pub has retained a cosy country pub feel. There is a skittle alley, snug and area to play darts as well as the bar and dining room (a good size for private parties). We decided to return with our group of 7 staying nearby for a meal the following evening.

Menu is not vast (4 starters, about 6 mains and 4 desserts plus ice cream). Mains are mostly around the £10 mark with steak more expensive at £16.

No childrens menu but they did offer to do smaller portions of some of the mains e.g. ham, egg and chips.

Friendly welcome when we arrived for our meal and no problem with our request for separate tabs.

Slight mix up with starters (one was not available) as there were 2 versions of the menu. Waitress and chef could not have been more apologetic though explaining that as they've recently opened they've been trying different things out.

Main courses were well cooked (lovely chips) and the burgers were enormous. Lovely home made burger buns too (chef cooks bread himself). Could have done with a steak knife for one of our party who had the streak.

It was a shame that the dining room wasn't a bit busier as the ambiance was a bit lacking but hopefully this will come as news gets out that this pub is re-opened after having been closed for a year.

We would return if we were in the area, notice they do nice bar snacks too like scotch egg with pickle and ciabatta with salad and chips. It's nice to see a pub that has not tried to go 'gastro' and is looking to be a place that welcomes the local community and people for a drink.

Lovely staff, good service and dog friendly with great walks in the area up through Erlestoke woods onto Salisbury Plain. They also have 5 B&B rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stopped in here and had a drink on Sunday, what a lovley pub! very warm, welcoming and charming, will definitely be returning, the food looked lovely and the sofa's very comfy. The dining area's looked spacious and there seemed to be alot planned for the festive period, so lovely to see in a village pub.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Property: George and Dragon
Address: 11 High Street, Erlestoke SN10 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Erlestoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Erlestoke
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country pub serving excellent freshly prepared, locally sourced food, local ales & a selection of wines. We have 4 en-suite letting rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Erlestoke, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing