We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Milk House

The Milk House & parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Milk House & parking area
The sitting room Downstair bedroom with wheelchair access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Milk House & parking area
The sitting room
Downstair bedroom with wheelchair access
The kitchen
Ensuite bathroom downstairs
Upstairs bedroom twin
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs double
The view in winter
The sitting room
The sitting room
The kitchen from the other end
The boot and utility room
Bluebells in Erlestoke Woods
Reared deer beside Erlestoke Wood
The front of the Milk House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Erlestoke, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jane P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in the milk house in January, 3 adults and 2 toddlers, it was everything we were hoping for, very comfy, modern with a fantastic kitchen, equipped with everything you could wish for, it was toddler friendly with plenty off room to play, both inside and out, the most important thing for me as I am disabled was the roomy walk in shower room next to the large double bedroom which had underfloor heating, both on the ground floor, perfect. We hope to return in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our perfect Xmas Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have had the most wonderful Christmas, staying at The Mil House. I have to give all the credit to my daughter and son in law for finding and booking The Milk House, and what a great choice they made. It was a perfect cottage for our family Christmas. It has been beautifully furnished and has bags of character. The living room is a lovely cosy space and we enjoyed many hours relaxing in front of the log burner. The kitchen with its big country table was great for our many family, festive meals. Becca and her daughter had kindly decorated a tree and put up fairy lights ready for our festive stay. I would highly recommend a stay in The Milk House, we were 6 for most of the time and found it a great space. Would definitely recommend a trip to the Three Daggers pub in the next village and the farm shop is very well stocked too. We were sorry to leave The Milk House and hope to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall character and ambience of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gh1232014
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure perfection”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

stay from 28th aug-4th september

This was a combined holiday and surprise birthday for hubby.
To celebrate his 60th, I arranged for family and friends to stay with us as a surprise.
The Milk House was perfect. Four bedrooms, two bathrooms one being a walk in wet room and an additional toilet, huge modern country kitchen and long kitchen table to seat ten.
separate utility and adjoining study/ bedroom.the cottage has everything you need.it is beautifully decorated and spotless.
The lounge was spacious with a wonderful modern log burner.
we sat outside saturday afternoon drinking and chatting looking out on their very own orchard of plum and apple trees.
the cottage is next to the owners own house which is stunning.it looks out over their farm and small allotment which we were encouraged to help ourselves to all sorts of fruit and veg and beautiful flowers. the owners rent out the land to Tony a local farmer who is a wealth of local information. you would think you were on a country estate and not a farm
it is so clean and tidy with beautiful gardens.

Rebecca the owner gave us such a warm and friendly welcome.
This place is truly perfection.
we will return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVolpe
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best holiday let I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A very comfortable, well equipped house which felt spacious even with 7 adults gathered for a family wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Found using the shower in upstairs bathroom tricky so had to go downstairs to shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmob93
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Milk House is a wonderful getaway destination and everyone involved in its day to day running make it truly amazing.”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodating from start to finish; excellent bedrooms, bathrooms, utilities, flexibility, history to the house.... Everything about The Milk House was nothing short of excellent from start to end.

Would love to return if time ever allows!

Rebecca and Rachel will look after you and make it feel like a home from home. 5 stars.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primlea
Corbridge
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“well equipped kitchen”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

stayed a week with family including grandchildren.They were made very welcome by owners teenage children..Comfortable accomodation and the best equipped kitchen of any place we have stayed A full range of comestibles so no need to eat out just enjoy the comfortable kitchen We agree with the comments on storage and there is an issue with sound insulation between floors but overall a great place to stay

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind review, lovely to meet you all. Just to say that after the last few reviews we have out some attractive (as not many are), hanging rails and an extra set of drawers in the red bedroom, I hope that helps. We will put up some more hooks on bad of the bathroom doors, we have just put one on the kitchen door. All really helpful comments. Best wishes Becca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBRA W
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely suprise when we walked into the Milk House, it was like the Tardis only better! our 2 scotties could run freely and safely in the garden, Rebecca was a wonderful host and Rachel had left everything spick and span for our arrival. Weather was fabulous, if your a fisherman there is a lovely lake nearby across the road to the Railway Tavern in the nearby village. We would definately stay there again if we were in the area, only wishes would have been somewhere to hang clothes in the bedrooms, for a week living out of a suitcase was not ideal and made the room look messy, there are a few hooks but not that practical, a hanging rail and a few drawers would be welcome especially in the main bedroom, a hook on the back of the bathroom doors would be useful and a bread knife in the kitchen or electric knife, otherwise it is so well equipped you want for nothing. A very special treat to have stayed there. We tried to support the local pub that had only just opened but sadly they never did food on the nights we tried to eat so cannot comment on the experience there but the Three Daggers is a great option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and ease of getting around
Liked least: Nothing it was the perfect stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing