We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historical bunglow with a nostalgic feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor
Ranked #1 of 12 Jorhat B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice historical bunglow with a nostalgic feeling”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had been to this place with family.Its a nice old age charme bunglow.The staff is helpful.The small water body in the garden is a nice romantic place.The rooms are real big and comfortable!Food could have been better....however overall it is a good place for a relaxing , silent vaccation specially for luxury & nature lovers!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babautraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
369 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Well there's certainly quite some wealth in the history of this place, right close to some of the immense tea plantations. We were warmly welcomed (but we were the only guests...) and service was excellent. Room enormous, clean and well equipped. The staff was very helpful and all our questions were taken seriously and care was made that we got all the answers.
The evening dinner was superb, and the morning breakfast also.
Immense gardens, well looked after and fenced in by 2.5m high walls...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Previous reviewers have described the quiet, sumptuous house built in 1929 by a wealthy tea family, still retaining all the interesting period furnishings and pictures. The garden is equally splendid but partly marred by a swimming pool on the front lawn with its uninviting water. There's a small, quiet shrine in the back garden. We stayed just 24 hours, but long enough to have lunch, supper and breakfast which were very good and served in the grand dining room. There were plenty of staff for our stay; the head man spoke adequate English and the others had just enough to get by. Our bedroom was huge and comfortable. The bathroom’s shower and washbasin were inadequate by modern standards and it wouldn’t spoil the house to upgrade these, indeed it would enhance the place significantly. We were well looked after in an otherwise lovely house, although I don’t think more than a two night stay could be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

in december we stayed at Thengal Manor for three nights.
It was far too short a stay.
The property is superbly maintained, the rooms are gracious and comfortable, the food is delightful and the staff provide absolutely first class service.
The Manor grounds spread over several acres and are meticulously maintained.
We could not recommend this establishment more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely first class!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThakurSahibMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This facility is lovely. It is undergoing renovations. The shower didnt work properly. There were no signs at all of any management. This could have been because we were the only guests present. The dinner and Breakfast which came with our stay was very good. Apparently there are several interesting things to do near Jorhat but our non English speaking guide wasnt able to communicate with us about these attractions so we just hung around this remarkable historic tea estate. Strange.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SigneEastfordCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Packwood, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I spent four nights at Thengal Manor recently while photographing primates at nearby Hoollangapar Gibbon Sanctuary. My room was amazing, qute large and more than comfortable, and the historic charm and atmosphere of the place was great. I enjoyed wandering around the extensive and well-manicured grounds. On the down side, the shower didn't work properly and just dribbled water, the food was good but not great, and the recently constructed swimming pool in front was a really bad idea and had turned into an algal soup. The staff was helpful and cooperative in adjusting meal times to coincide with my photography schedule, although it was never quite clear who exactly was in charge. Overall, I really enjoyed the place and would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigertomPackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Fine colonial heritage accommodation set in nice grounds - very spacious.
Staff extremely attentive.
Good atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FullTime_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jorhat
7.0 mi away
Kaziranga Golf Resort
Kaziranga Golf Resort
#2 of 7 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Jora Palace
Hotel Jora Palace
#1 of 7 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jironi
Hotel Jironi
#3 of 7 in Jorhat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welcome Heritage Banyan Grove
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#3 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor

Property: WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor
Address: P.O Jalukonibari, Jorhat 785630, India
Region: India > Assam > Jorhat District > Jorhat
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Jorhat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the typically Assamese village of Jalukonibari, stands the 72 year old Thengal Manor in Jorhat. Thengal offers you the unique pleasure of gracious living in the lap of nature. Plush suites of single and double bedrooms with baths and dressing rooms attached. In addition there is a sitting room, dining room, lounge. kitchen and pantry. Feel the ambiance of colonial days as you relax in the period furniture and decor. A sense of dejavu pervades when you realize that this was the lifestyle of pioneering Assam planters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing