We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Retro place!!”
Review of Hotel Paradise

Hotel Paradise
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jorhat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Paradise
Chennai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Retro place!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was passing by Jorhat en route to Kaziranga and stayed at the Paradise hotel in Jorhat for a night. And what an unforgettable experience it was. This hotel is a true retro hotel from the 1960s, the type you would have seen in the Shammi Kappor films. The room had a big scenery on the wall behind the bed (not a wall paper, an actual painting), coloured tables, etc. The restaurant had chandeliers and curtains, all retro. Despite being such an old hotel, the place was spotlessly clean, the bathrooms were very clean and the room service was excellent. The staff, though elderly, were friendly. Thank you Paradise Hotel for retaining the retro look.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Considered to the best a decade ago but not any longer, towels, bedcover, rooms, commode everything needs improvement. No doubt the tariff is low(660 non A.C) but that doesnot explain the utter neglect of the rooms. I would have rated it terrible but for the staff and the food which is still up to the mark. I returned after attending a party at 12 midnight and have to scale windows to wake up the management stuff. The rooms are spacious; the water used in the bathrooms is very very dirty dirty muddy water. I am not at all impressed with the facilities.

Room Tip: AC during september otherwise you might die of suffocation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javedzaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jorhat hotels

Earth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Whoever built the hotel, took lot of pains.. however the maintenance is not upto the mark. Ofcourse the alternate in this town may be worse..The service was good. Place is peaceful and quiet. Linen was not too clean.

Wish they would maintain it better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

stayed one night at this hotel during a short trip to the town for a colleague's wedding. is one of the best hotels in this nice and sleepy little town in assam. the rooms are large and since i went in winter they had a heater on. the breakfast is decent and so is the facilities. the price is ok for a town of Jorhat's size. had a nice lunch in the restaurant and the service is prompt. it is the old world feel which makes you feel nice and look over anything amiss.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian
Level Contributor
189 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After my bad experience at Hotel MD's Continental, I was directed to Hotel Paradise by my local associates. The charges were far lower than the rates charged by Hotel MD's Continental and the room as well as the food was a lot better.
I will recommend this hotel to business travellers travelling to Jorhat. In case you find this hotel full, there are several other options available on Solicitor Road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bank of the Brahmaputra
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Three nights in Paradise Hotel, Jorhat gave me a warm feeling. The place is clean, cosy and quite homely, Since I was a woman travelling alone, safety was a priority. This the Paradise Hotel has.

My single room on the first floor was spacious. Wish the bed was a little wider though - I did feel I might fall off, or maybe thinner people would be ok. Room service was friendly and efficient. THe place has a charming old world look, without sacrificing modern amenities. The bathroom, though small, was clean, with enough hot water. One grouse though...there was no hot water in the shower. However, one could have a fine hot water bucket bath. Shower aficionados though would be disappointed.

The place was real value for money. A spacious room, with attached balcony and bath, for Rs 600 per night! And a complimentary breakfast thrown in! WHat more could one ask for?

Room Tip: Go for the aloo paratha on the complimentary breakfast menu. It's really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchirps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jorhat hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jora Palace
Hotel Jora Palace
#1 of 7 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kaziranga Golf Resort
Kaziranga Golf Resort
#2 of 7 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jironi
Hotel Jironi
#3 of 7 in Jorhat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Thengal Manor
10.0 mi away
Gibbon Eco Camp
Gibbon Eco Camp
#4 of 10 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise

Property: Hotel Paradise
Address: Solicitor's Road, Jorhat 785 001, India
Region: India > Assam > Jorhat District > Jorhat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Jorhat
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing