We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
88
126
39
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
126
39
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tableswimming poollunch and dinnerlake viewthird floorgames roomlast weekendindoor gamesstayed here for nightshotel managementplay arearooms are spaciousgreat hospitalitytea coffee makerdeluxe roomtt tableroom service and housekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First of all, let me say this: This is probably one of the better places to stay in Saputara. That would probably explain some of the better ratings this place has received.

However, that does not take away the fact that this place still needs to improve by leaps and bound.

rather than doing a detailed review, I will only highlight some of the glaring minuses:
1) The rooms while large need better cleaning services. The daily cleaning is not upto the mark. After cleaning had taken place, you could still see dust on some of the surfaces in the room.

2) The view from some of the rooms is also pretty poor. while some of the rooms face the lake, the more expensive rooms do not have lake views, which is strange. And the view to the lake is pretty ordinary. This hotel is not on an incline or on a hill even though Saputara is supposed to be a hill station and hence the views are not breath taking or spectacular

3) The rates mentioned on the website are not firm. While we were there, we saw a lot of people haggling on the spot and get better rates as compared to what we paid even though we had booked in advance through the website. This is quite unprofessional on the part of a hotel, which claims to be Saputara's best. So please negotiate hard with them while booking the rooms and it would be a mistake to pay the rates mentioned on the websites, especially during the non rainy season.

4) And finally the biggest negative - the food. The breakfast spread leaves a lot to be desired, The choices are extremely limited and food taste is pretty ordinary. it is probably one of the worst breakfast spreads that I have seen. The lunch and dinner options are mainly restricted to Indian food and any non Indian dish including chinese is close to a disaster. Dishes repeat themselves on every second or third meal and that speaks volumes about the chef's versatility!! really disappointing to say the least. You would get fatigued eating the same things if you stay for two days or more. Special meals for small kids are out of the question.

5) The service during lunch and dinner is pretty poor and you might have to wait upto fifteen minutes for something that you ask for.

6) There are zero activities for kids and for adults. There is a small pool, the size of a large bath tub. In the evenings and night, there is nothing to do but retire early to bed!!

The fact that the food is really poor and the prices are non standard really put me off on this holiday. I would not recommend Saputara in general (highly overrated) and this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiraath_desai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

enjoy the misty monsoons from the wonderful lake facing rooms of this lovely paradise.Monsoon and winters the best season to visit this place and staying with this property is sure a great experience-----good food,good rooms and very courteous staff--especially the warm hospitality of the restaurant staff-- a must visit place when in Saputara

Room Tip: choose the lake facing rooms on the thirds floor to enjoy your stay at the optimum
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikhilVadodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

On my third visit to Saputara,I opted to stay at This Hotel . No doubt it was a building structure, yet because of the monsoon and heavy rains this was the best option. comparatively the rates were the highest but it gave me value for money. Nice clean rooms, very spacious and all with a commanding view of the Lake.
Food was good too, with a very good spread and variety, and yes all veg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarchheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Last year in 2012 August we visited saputara,,we had a good stay over here ,
Beautiful view of the lake from our hotel, surrounding mountains.Good food
Monsoon is the best season to visit this beautiful location.
And a must visit to saptashrungi temple is must-its beautiful scenary,waterfalls will move u,just reminding of kerala.:)
just one problem at the restaurant - and one advice to hotel management,please give a deo to each and every person servicing in the restaurant,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namrata_Ashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel in general was nice. Good location. Good food- the spread was good BUT WE HAD A COCKROACH IN OUR NOODLES ONE DAY- BUT I WOULD GIVE IT BENEFIT OF DOUBT AS A HUMAN ERROR. Certain things were really bad... towel stinks.
Its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Please check if the elevator is working before you choose a room on higher floors... we suffered... but you dont!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handy_id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMALIS_11, General Manager at Aakar Lords Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sir

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Saputara.

At Aakar Lords Inn, Saputara, it is our constant Endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and facilities. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

All your suggestions, we have incorporated and assure you best of our services.

We do hope you will recommend us to your other family members, friends & associates and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Nagendra Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews