We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, great place to stay”
Review of Fonda Cal Blasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fonda Cal Blasi
Ranked #1 of 6 Montblanc B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were two motorcyclists from England and we could not have been made more welcome. Carles (hope I have spelt this correctly) made us feel we were sharing their house rather than being paying guests. Very welcoming and good advice and information about the area. The rooms were comfortable and clean (if a little small), and the food was fabulous. We had dinner and breakfast, all being locally resourced food. Along with this, we had a number of very interesting conversations with Carles - he is quite a character! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our room was dingy, and the bedding was old and not up to standard...the balcony was deaadfulwith no view whatsoever,,,the 1950's bed with controls that lifted one up is so out of date, the hostel wasnot open during the hours stated so had to wait a considerable time for the owner to appear..the price was too high for what we had in this old town of Montblanc...there was no food service and when we asked the owner he said the dinner was at 10 pm..wno ever heard of dinner at 10..upon leaving our room to search for a restaurant for dinner the dining room attached to the hostel was filled with people dining..he simply did not tell us the truth..no place in Montblanc was open ...an experience I hope to forget...terrible!

Room Tip: Donot stop there, stay in Poblet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If a town as pretty as Montblanc was in England, it would be choked with tourists and full of tat. The place is a gem, and this delightful Fonda epitomises regional pride and friendliness. The rooms are charming, the beds incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast (and dinner if you want it - there may not be a choice but that should not be a deterrent) is top quality local produce prepared with care and more than a little instruction as to how to enjoy it. A small range of good wine is also on offer, and very fairly priced. An enjoyable stay, quiet and atmospheric, and with enough in the area to make exploration rewarding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greedymort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is easy to find and public parking is just a minute away. The hotel is small, freindly and totally authentic. The owners are incredibly welcoming and you get a running commentary on food, local history, advice about places to visit and the skills of "golden hands". Our room was very clean and confortable - it's not smart if that's what you want but it is in a great spot - you can walk everywhere in Montblanc and the food at both breakfast and in the evening was super.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlescarme, Propietario at Fonda Cal Blasi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

For us to make available to others of your information is an act of solidarity. On behalf of the other guests, we thank you that you put ​​the comment. For us the best compensation for our work is to see the smile on the face of customers, especially, specially, specially women

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Let's start out by saying: "This is a 5 star experience!" The rooms are spotless, the owners are kind, welcoming and interesting. You will learn about history, food and politics; an experience you will not find at any other hotel. They are the best! Be sure to enjoy your meals on premise, excellent authentic Catalan food with fantastic wines! You will not be disappointed in your stay at Fonda Cal Blasi and Mont Blanc is a gem of a medieval city not be missed for it's charm and views. How many times can you say that you stayed in town surrounded by walls? Say hello to Carmen and Carlos when you arrive for Tony and Mary.

Room Tip: The loft has a balcony with a great view of the city, fun to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is tucked away down narrow lanes but is easy to find. Suitcases can be dropped off right outside the door and parking is a very short walk away. The hotel is full of real Spanish character and Carlos the owner taught us all about Catalonian cuisine. His wife did the cooking and did it very well. Our room was on the top floor but was easily accessible. If we were to return to Montblanc I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Choosing to stay in a B&B often means sacrifcing luxury & comfort for authenticity and local color, but not at Fonda Cal Blasi. The rooms are tastefully decorated with amenities such as adjustable beds, power showers, and balconies, and wandering the streets of the medieval village is a pleasant way to walk off some of the calories from the meals. Don't miss reserving dinner and breakfast with Carlos and Carmen. (I can't believe that one reviewer called it a rip-off!) These were our best meals of a 3-week trip, and we left with a better understanding of Catalan food, history, and politics. We truly felt that we were guests in our hosts' home, not paying customers. Thanks, Carlos and Carmen!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montblanc
8.8 mi away
Felix Hotel
Felix Hotel
#1 of 2 in Valls
322 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments
Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Ho...
#1 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
136 reviews
7.4 mi away
Class Valls
Class Valls
#2 of 2 in Valls
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hostal del Senglar
Hostal del Senglar
#5 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
48 reviews
3.4 mi away
El Ocell Francoli Hotel Rural
El Ocell Francoli Hotel Rural
#3 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fonda Bohemia
Fonda Bohemia
#4 of 6 in Montblanc
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonda Cal Blasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonda Cal Blasi

Address: Alenya, 11 | In the Historic Center, 43400 Montblanc, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Montblanc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montblanc
Price Range: £75 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fonda Cal Blasi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel of the simple pleasures. A hotel with spirit as it is the fruit of the faith, illusion, hope, effort, perseverance, sacrifice of Carme & Carles. This is why the Hotel Fonda Cal Blasi is different, unique. Get ready to be served and spoiled by Charles and Carme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fonda Cal Blasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Cal Blasi Montblanc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing