We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous relaxing spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magazine Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magazine Wood
Ranked #1 of 4 Sedgeford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous relaxing spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked a two night break as a treat for my boyfriend after a recommendation by a friend. we were not disappointed!
The owners were nothing but helpful, supplying us with plates and cutlery so we could have a take out on our first night, cooking a sumptuous breakfasts delivered to our room when requested, absolutely amazing. we were slightly hampered in our explorations due to the weather, but we are returning in a few weeks time to properly explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyb_0979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks you very much for your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Magazine Wood in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
155
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
epsom, surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Looking to get out of London for a stress free weekend with my boyfriend. Certainly found it, this is the most beautiful, peaceful location ever. Accommodation is great, owners friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble, we were even offered a lift to the local pub one evening. This is the place I want to retire to, can't recommend it enough if peace and quiet is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabs1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Magazine Wood is a really lovely little gem , great comfy room welcoming hosts
And a tranquill location love the little touches and breakfast in your room ,we will return.
Carl and Madeleine stayed May 2014

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Manager at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Madeline and Carl

Many thanks for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Coast. These rooms were refreshed over the spring and also had some little extras added so it's great to receive such positive feedback.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose Magazine Wood particularly because of it's location and the fact that breakfast is provided within the room, ensuring a leisurely start to the day. These two aspects were indeed as good as we expected, but everything else about this B&B is highly recommended as well. The quality of the furnishings and facilities is excellent, the location is perfect and any request we made was dealt with promptly. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Walkers" and did not see the interiors of the other rooms, but I understand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Muriel It was a pleasure looking after you and quite a long visit. We really got used to you being at Magazine Wood. I am very pleased that you will be returning.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having just got married, my wife and I wanted a few days away for some peace and relaxation, we don't like going to large hotels or B&Bs and Magazine Wood looked to tick those boxes when we booked, it is also fantastic value for money. We stayed in the Garden Room and were very impressed by the decor and styling, beautifully laid out, possibly the most comfortable bed in the world and an amazing bathroom... the bath and shower are really powerful, was bliss. For £6 you can opt to have a cooked breakfast including a full English, kippers or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. This is delivered to your room at your chosen time, we had this on one day and it was very nice. The location itself is very secluded which alongside the non-intrusive approach of the owners makes for a relaxing environment. In terms of getting out and about Magazine Wood is nicely positioned to be in easy drive of local towns such as Holt and Sheringham and surrounded by some excellent eateries, I would recommend the White Horse in Brancaster for dinner on at least one of your evenings! You are also located on the 'Pedders Way', A footpath that tracks through Norfolk up to Holme on the coast, use this path to get out and explore the lovely surrounding countryside which is very much unspoiled and full of wild flowers and animals. The owners were helpful and amenable and also made a nice gesture when we were leaving. Be aware that you can pay your deposit online but must have cash with you to settle the bill as they cannot conduct card payments on site. Overall I had a lovely few days relaxing here, its not often I return to the same places as I like to explore, but I think for Magazine Wood i'd make an exception.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but the Garden Room is beautiful, would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have stayed here twice no, Lovely location, quiet, peaceful, and welcoming hosts.
The breakfast was wonderful, and the local area books were up to date, and helpful.
Looking forward to my next trip back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snappysauruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
It was lovely to see you again and I am so pleased you are already thinking of another visit.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, the views are stunning, the accommodation is excellent and the staff very helpful. This is one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we have ever visited with every little detail thought of. It looks amazing on the internet but even better in real life. The room exceeded all expectations and the breakfasts were out of this world. Thank you very much Pip for a wonderful stay and we loved the dogs Marmite and Maggie paying us a visit. Don't really want to say much more as we would like to keep this place as our secret as our special woodland retreat!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Manager at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It was great hosting you after such a busy time and I am glad we made your honeymoon special.

Kind regards

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgeford
2.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
4.8 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magazine Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magazine Wood

Property: Magazine Wood
Address: Magazine Wood Peddars Way | Sedgeford, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed and breakfast on the North Norfolk coast fitted to the highest standards with all modern conveniences in a stunning rural setting of park and woodlands. Named as one of the "Ultimate 100 Places to stay in Britain 2015 & 2016" by the Sunday Times. Michellin Guide 2016. Alastair Sawdays Great Hotels 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magazine Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magazine Wood Luxury Hotel Sedgeford
Magazine Wood Luxury Bed And Breakfast
Magazine Wood Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing