We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King William IV

King William IV
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sedgeford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We visited with friends on a sunday evening. Pub looks good with a fair selection of ales. Ambience is good in the eating areas with a flagged stone floor and the evitable wonky tables which is not a problem. Service is fantastic and cannot be faulted. The food is ok but i have tasted better. In my veiw the vegetables were under cooked and even so there should have been more if them. Meal in general was well cooked but OH! the prices. £13.50 for a pork belly?????. Would i return? Yes with guests to show them how a pub should be run.

Helpful?
Thank rutlandwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and compliments of our Country Inn. I have noted your comments on the food side and our prices to be taken into consideration. Please note that we offer extra vegetables without charge upon request and have special offers for the restaurant throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you back and receiving your feedback.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    66
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

While staying in Sedgeford, walking the Peddars Way, we drank and dined in the King William IV country pub. The meals and service were first class and we were made to feel very welcome.

This was a throw back to the days of the great English pub, which are sadly fast disappearing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capricornnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your break at our Inn while walking the Peddars Way. I hope you successfully completed your walk.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Took my Husband here for his 60th birthday lunch as a treat.The place looks stunning from outside,shame about the staff and quality of food.We arrived in bar area,no staff around,after about 5 minutes a girl came thru to the bar,no smile.good afternoon,nothing,just nodded,we ordered drinks and she really couldn't be bothered just looked out of window,we asked for menu,I asked if they had any Scampi,NO was her reply.not no sorry but perhaps you would like such and such etc,etc.We ordred the food,and another slightly more pleasant girl showed us to our table.We waited three quarters of an our for our food despite it being only a Thursday lunchtime and only about another dozen diners in far to slow!food was ok but not good,asparagus overcooked,and extra veg with the pork dish but no potatoes of any sort !!!???perhaps you had to order them as "extra"I had cod and chips,but batter hard and overcooked and fish was watery and tasteless.On the whole due to bad service and average food VERY DISAPOINTED!I did email them twice to complain but they NEVER di bother to reply!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am sorry you had a bad overall experience and found no initial reply to your feedback on this tripadvisor
platform. We do take all feedback seriously and aim to respond to all comments that reach us through the various media.
Following your email pointing this out I did some research and found out that sadly there are
two Tripadvisor review platforms running for our business. Unfortunately we were not notified of your review.
This is now resolved with Tripadvisor. From now on we have access to both platforms and will be alerted of
any new reviews on both platforms. My apologies that this is too late for your review and I'm sad that in the belated
correspondence we have not been able to resolve your disappointment.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always enjoy eating here”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been here a few times now, when in the area. The meal was excellent as always, service good. Will keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Dined at this Pub/Restaurant twice last week. The food, service and ales on both occasions were first class. Would recommend the King William IV to anybody for any occasion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank T0ny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King William IV also viewed

 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing